We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rutli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Ranked #48 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We enjoyed the two nights we stayed here. Bit of a walk from the train station with large bags and getting over tram tracks and the central tram location was interesting. Our family room was spacious and clean, murials on the walls were different. Even though we were in a busy part of town our room was quiet as we were at the rear of the building not on the street side. Internet available at no charge in the foyer. Breakfast was good but could have a bit more of a selection. Staff were polite and willing to assist and guide us. Great place to stay, walked everywhere, eaters near by and we slept well with surprisingly no noise!!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room at time of reservation not sure if the street side rooms would be quiet??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpyD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Freundliche Grüsse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 568 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel can be found very close to Zentralbahnhof and the old town, so it has a very good central location. The reception staff was good and kind (although nothing special or bad...) They allowed me to check-in more than 1 hour before the published deadline. My room was big enough and well equipped. The bathroom was very clean and modern.
The breakfast was however a bit poor. (no hot things like sausages, egg/omlette, vegetables, fruits, etc.).
Bad thing is that there is no free wifi in the rooms (unless you can receive some weak signals from the reception where it is provided free of charge)
Alltogether this is a good value for money hotel in Zurich. This doesn't mean that this is cheap since nothing is cheap in Switzerland... :-(

Alltogether

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcmails2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

Now we have free wi fi in the hotel rooms.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Freundliche Grüsse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nice hotel comfy to stay in and good accomodation. Good area of Zurich so easy to get to places. However ... the rudest breakfast staff I have every had. When asked for some bread (because none was left) ... reply ... "Yes, yes. I know, I have eyes".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

In our staff meetings we are always try to practice our behavior.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel was on the other side of the river from the train station, quite walkable, although you are crossing busy roads and bus hub. Rooms were large, bathrooms had frosted glass wall which may deter non-couples. Coffee machine in room too. Breakfast was ok. Waitress at breakfast grumpy and curt. Other staff ranged between good to indifferent. No wifi, only free internet on hotels computer

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

Now we have free wi fi in the rooms.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Firstly let's be clear this is a good value choice in Zurich - not cheap - nowhere in Switzerland is. But if you do need to stay in Zurich then this is one of your best bets. Great location near old town and centre. Rooms well equipped and quiet. Best of all excellent staff who will always get my loyalty for returning my glasses which I stupidly left behind.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheadleblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear guest

We would like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Rütli and for you positive and detailed review.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to accommodate you on a future occasion.

Best wishes from the Rütli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great location close to the main train station (Zurich HB) and on the edge of the old town, with plenty of bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. The price you pay for this location is that there is some street noise - particularly on weekends.

A very modern styled hotel, rooms were nicely done and had all the mod cons including mini bar (with baby Perrier Jouet champagne & matching branded champagne glass - too cute!) posh coffee maker (no option to make tea though), personal safe, EU powerpoint (important as Switzerland has a different plug), TV with english channels. I thought the breakfast was good - slightly better than standard.

Wifi is only available at a pretty steep surcharge - but it was reliable, and because it was provided through Swiss.com - rather than being specific to the hotel - I could take my unused credit with me.

Be aware, depending on who you book through, that city tax may not be included in the quote price and may be payable on check out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Now we have free wi fi in the hotel rooms.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel in in the city center, not far from main train station on foot. Rooms are simple, clean and with free italian coffee (nespresso). The position of the hotel is in a nice area but very noisy at night. the hotel staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
868 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 138 in Zurich
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#9 of 138 in Zurich
913 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#28 of 138 in Zurich
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rutli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rutli

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 43, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $171 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rutli 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Zurich, at the entrance to the charming Niederdorf (lower town). Business and leisure guests will be pampered and surprised by our attentive host team. Especially relaxing of course is a stay in one of our Premium rooms. The hotel is surrounded by boutiques, restaurants, bars, museums, cinemas and theatres. Even the lake promenade and Zurich main station are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rutli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing