We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here MANY times”
Review of Eden Au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eden Au Lac
Ranked #38 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Stayed here MANY times”
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We have stayed in this hotel probably 20 times in the last 30 years. A few years ago, the family that owned it sold to a small hotel company so may of the old timer employees are gone and the service isn't what it used to be HOWEVER it is still wonderful!

The location is right on the lake and a little off the beaten path from main Zurich but it is still very close. We were in room 202 and my parents were in 212 (their favorite). The rooms are spacious (try finding that in Zurich) and well appointed. The bathrooms are smallish but adequate with robes and slippers.

Breakfast was included in our rate and it is the typical European buffet. One thing they don’t tell you is that you CAN order al la cart eggs, you just have to ask and it too is included!

The staff if VERY accommodating and even got in on a little practical joke my husband played on me!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Wish the old employees would come back!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sfarmer1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    72
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
40
99
26
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Only here for two nights.
It is fantastic!!! The Dining Room is amazing and the location is great. Close to the Bonhafstrasse and right on the Lake. The two bedroom suite was new and huge!!! Swiss have great service. I would definatly go back again for longer.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorklover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I have stayed at the Eden frequently - between two and ten times a year over more than ten years.

It is very "Swiss": extremely efficient; spotless; and with respectful and polite staff who know to a millimetre how familiar they can be to each visitor, whether a regular or a newcomer.

The rooms are of variable size and layout, but all are comfortable and classically furnished. The basic choice is between those at the back, which are quiet but have no view, or those at the front ,which have superb view of the lake and the Uetliberg opposite but suffer to varying degrees from traffic noise.

Food in the restaurant is superb - at a price. The bar is usually relatively quiet and provides good quality food at a reasonable prices from a more limited menu. The bar tends to be quiet except on Thursday (geriatric jazz) evenings.

What more could one ask for?

  • Liked — Calm Swiss quality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Decent hotel; I had a nice deluxe room 108 overlooking the lake. Service was fine. Breakfast I skipped and didn't think much of what I saw. I stayed here because it was during the European football championships and there wasn't many choices. Location is a bit out of the way; it's either a long walk into town or a cab ride; on the other hand, it's a bit off the beaten track if you like that. I'd be more likely to return to the Widder or try the Baur au Lac due to their more central locations. I do prefer a traditional hotel like Eden au Lac to something like the Dolder Grand which I visited and found really out of the way located and too Uber modern for my taste or budget. I ate dinner there and really was not impressed.

  • Liked — quiet area
  • Disliked — a bit too far away from things in town
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

With limited time to check my schedule, I didn't do my usual TripAdvisor hotel check until too late and so was somewhat wary of what I would find, as too late to cancel and switch to Zum Storchen or Schweizerhof, where I have stayed before. However, I found it not nearly as bad as previous reviews would have it, although the breakfast was a bit underwhelming.

I found reception/bell staff fine and polite, if not massively welcoming, although check-out (at the cashier's desk, giving you an idea of the style and vintage of the hotel ..) was a bit ponderous.

Room (112, on first floor, but on the corner and lake facing) was fine, good size and with quality fittings and a proper terrace/balcony (although snow made it less useful for this trip). I thought bathroom was also well done, with double basins and a big radiator, but no separate shower.

Room service was high quality and prompt - and I was able to order beyond the core menu (which was somewhat limited in the more simple items). However, having been tempted by the classic phrase ".. our magnificent/stunning/incredible breakfast buffet" and having a later start than normal, I broke my habit and went down for b'fast. Although acceptable, I have seen better in much smaller and less grand Swiss hotels - so not really living up to the billing, maybe underlined by the presence of only two other people in the room ...

Overall, I found the experience to be fine - my main problem with the hotel (as a traveller in Zurich for meetings) was the distance from the centre for ease of walking (and I walk pretty fast) and/or taxis (given the traffic on the quai and the convoluted one-way system); don't get me wrong, for leisure etc the location is probably fine, but if you have a tight meeting schedule or need to get to the main station then not quite so convenient (hence the attractions of the Schweizerhof, for example)

  • Liked — Room size, lake views
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doorstomanual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I couldn’t relate to the previous reviews. This is a lovely, old-world hotel of just 50 rooms in a small lake front palace. It’s located in the middle of Zurich, a couple of blocks from the opera house and art museum. It is now owned by the Victoria Jungfrau hotel group, and apparently major improvements have been made. However it also has a pleasant patina and was not inappropriately modernized or decorated. (As was, in my opinion, the Luzerne Palace, owned by the same company.)
My room was spacious and elegantly simple in a traditional Northern European way. There was a roomy desk with both paid Ethernet and wireless offered. A small balcony overlooked the lake and mountains. The “king” bed was actually two twins pushed together. This is annoying, but standard in much of Europe. The feather duvet and pillows were wonderful. Only one English TV station was offered: CNN
The bathroom, positively sparkling, was new with a glass-enclosed shower, a huge tub and a “paperless” toilet. (You push a button and a torrent of well-aimed water does all the work.) It was surprising to find matches and an ash tray in a non-smoking room, however the balcony would have been very handy for a smoker, and I appreciated having the matches as a souvenir. (It’s getting harder and harder to collect them on trips!) Closet space and room for luggage was plentiful.
Room service breakfast arrived promptly, and was beautifully presented. The breakfast buffet was also very nice in the large formal, bright dining room looking out to the lake. There was lots of starched white linen, heavy hotel silver, helpful staff and excellent coffee, always served with hot milk.
Especially enjoyable was the bar/lounge where you can get tea and coffee as well as drinks. A small menu is also available. We ate one night in the formal candlelit dining room. A lovely experience however I felt the chef was trying too hard to be modern with his cuisine. Hotels like Eden au Lac do best with the lightest hand of modernization.
An exercise facility is needed but, overall, this hotel deserves a much higher rating.

  • Liked — Old world, yet up-to-date style.
  • Disliked — Lack of a spiffy gym.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dancingnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This was our second hotel in Zurich for our honeymoon as I felt that it would be nice to have a lake view for a couple of days. Prior to arriving, we hadn't requested for anything in particular but we dropped the 'we're on our honeymoon' line which worked and the reception very kindly accomodated with a room that had lake views!

While many other hotels include breakfast in the rate, the Eden didn't include breakfast - which is quite expensive at CHF40 per person for the buffet breakfast.

Positives: great atmosphere, friendly staff
Negatives: dated decor, small CRT TV which is surprising given plethora of LCDs nowadays, lack of coffee/tea making facilities in the room, slightly out of the way if you want to be close to the centre (i.e. Bahnhoffstrasse)

  • Liked — Lake views
  • Disliked — Dated decor
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Baur au Lac
#3 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#8 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Au Lac

Property: Eden Au Lac
Address: Utoquai 45, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
#31 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Eden Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Au Lac Hotel
Eden Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing