We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and Excellent!”
Review of Eden Au Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Au Lac
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here in June13 and took 3 rooms The service was excellent and very personalized the staff was very warm friendly and went out of their way to please us right from the front desk restaurant and concierge . It is a charming boutique hotel on the promenade with spectacular views of the lake Having stayed at their flagship property The Victoria Hotel many times in Interlaken the Eden surely continues the tradition of warm and attentive service straight from the heart!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Eden Au Lac
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 366 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

This little hotel in the centre of Zurich stands for true Swiss hospitality. It is held in the style of the belle époque and holds all the promises that you may assume with a hotel of its style and category. Especially the friendly and helpful staff has to be mentioned. Everybody is going out of their ways in order to make your stay even more unforgettable and luxurious. The room was impeccable and offered all the luxury you may expect of a Swiss 5* hotel. All in all in two words: luxury pure!

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are unique in Zurich!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Eden is an old fashioned hotel. This is a positive thing in the sense of impeccable service standards. Polite, attentive staff will look after your needs and make you feel like a valued guest. However, the rooms are in need of an update. Style and decor is classic at best and worn out at worst. The modern amenities are there in terms of wifi etc, but bathrooms have just a tub with miserable handheld showers. There is no separate shower unit and the water pressure is pretty low. Also, for a beautiful lakeside location, the busy road outside is a real disappointment and disturbance.

In the end, I slept ok on my one night business stay, but I left feeling like Zurich surely must have something better to offer at CHF400 per night?

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

It is hard to believe that this hotel charges $1000 per night for such substandard rooms. The hotel is located directly on a very busy five lane major street. There are motorcycles, trucks, cars and taxis zooming by all night and day. The noise is deafening. The first night I checked it late. I asked for a quiet room and was given a room on the second floor. It wasn't until I unpacked, exhausted after a a long trip, that I realized how noisy it was. I did not sleep a wink all night. The hotel is also in need of a major renovation. The rugs are thin, worn out and dirty. The curtains look like they were bought at a cheap fabric store and are very old. The nigh tables in the rooms are press board and Formica, like you would find at ikea. The robes are thin and cheap and very small size.
I asked for a room change the next day and was accommodated. I was given a room on the fifth floor. Nicer, still noisy and run down. When I checked out I asked for some sort of compensation for the horrible second floor room I was given explained to the manager that it was so noisy I could not even hear my self think and he responded " why does a room have to be quiet in order for you to sleep? " I was speechless. Just incredible. Awful place, would never return. What a complete rip off...do NOT believe the lovely pictures you see online of charming balconies overlooking the lake with striped awnings...between you and the lake is a heavily used highway...if you sat on the balcony you would be overcome by carbon monoxide poisoning in 5 minutes....

Room Tip: Get ear plugs and three ambien
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is your typical Swiss traditional hotel. There is absolutely nothing to fault. We arrived a bit early, had a quick coffee in the bar and was then shown to our room. Great room, fantastic bathroom and an overall excellent experience. Breakfast was great, service fantastic and we will definitely go back next time we are in Zurich.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allandubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Really traditional, in the best possible way. This hotel makes you realize why Swiss training is the standard for hoteliers. Courteous, super efficient. I had a first floor room with a terrace and a lake view. the road outside is busy but the double glazing works a treat. Lovely bed, loads of space, beautiful bathroom. Breakfast was ample, and delicious. And they have a lovely roof top bar overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gpdLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed in this beautiful located hotel which delivered the total value of money!We had an amazing room and from the room balcony there was a beautiful view of the lake to have fresh and relaxing morning and evening too.My two kids loved going across the lake side.Over all nice location,view and Staff were attentive and friendly,clean room. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Baur au Lac
#2 of 138 in Zurich
688 reviews
Park Hyatt Zurich
#10 of 138 in Zurich
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#3 of 138 in Zurich
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Au Lac

Address: Utoquai 45, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#20 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#21 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $313 - $883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Au Lac 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eden Au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Au Lac Hotel
Eden Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing