We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zurich Youth Hostel
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rip off”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Not only is Zurich accommodation expensive. But this hostel kindly requested an extra 6CHF per person per night when we arrived. The sheets smell like cigarettes. You need exact change for a deposit to use lockers in the room. There is no kitchen. The only "cooking" facility is a kettle not even a microwave. They reluctantly lent us plates and cutlery for our own dinner and we really pushed it when we tried to get sugar and creamer capsules as we didn't pay for tea or coffee. They definitely should not be called a youth hostel. We paid almost $50AUD per night to get a bed and a set of rules.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judyyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    108
    58
    14
    7
See reviews for
28
25
116
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed two nights in this comfortable hostel . Since I was a solo traveller, I boooked a bed in a 4 bed dorm. The room has two bunk beds with a table and a chair. There is a seperated area with a sink and clothes hanger. It is nice as you can minimize the sound like brushing teeth,etc if you come back late and the others are already sleeping. The room is quite spacious with big windows for ventilation. The bed are nice with small shelves and personal electrical socket. When I stayed there,the weather was quite cold so no air conditioner was ok for me.

There are elevators so we carry luggages easily. Bikers even bring their bikes into the elevators. The toilets and the showers are just steps from the room. They are very clean. They used sensors everywhere to light up the light. They planned many things for the tourists' convenience. They have a very big guest area where you can simply ordering food, sitting and talking to other travellers or browsing internet with free wifi connection.

The price is a bit pricey,but since everything is expensive in Zurich, I think it is worth it. We can eat nice breakfast with various kinds of bread,cheese,ham,jam,chocolate spread,fruit cocktail,coffee,capucino,etc.

From the station,just walk a bit to a tram stop,buy ticket from the machine,take tram 7 with the direction to Wollishofen and stop in Morgental. Then walk up hill. It is about 15 minutes walk ,but the environment are nice.

Tip: The hostel also sell public transportation ticket, one-way or a daypass ticket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Strawberry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hostel is in average. That was very expensive for an hostel. Moreover, it was not central, you have to take the tram. The beds are in metal, noisy and not confortable. The rooms are too small and there is no A/C. The service at the reception is slow.
However, the breakfast was excellent, with a lot of choice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank san15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here in August while interrailing around Europe
Very cheap compared with other establishments in Zurich
12 CHF for a Beer and Sandwich
Bed comfortable / Clean
Service good and free WIFI in The lounge
5 mins from the train station, staff speak good English
This hostel is at the top of a big hill so be prepared it is well signposted from the station
Breakfast is included and is good quality

Room Tip: Book online beforehand its much cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Leaving Basel, our discussion in the car should we stop and stay in Zurich or should we carry on south because reasonable accommodation was so very expensive. Eventually, we decided to pop-in the Zurich Youth Hostel at £98 per night; £40 would have been more appropriate. In reality, it was like a red brick university – refectory, sitting areas and rooms and really not worth the price. The girls on reception were helpful and parking was free and easy. The room had no TV, telephone or refreshment try and the lighting was not good, wifi broke down early evening and was still down when we left at 9am the next morning; basic is the best description. That said, we had a really enjoyable day in Zurich and fun rides on the Number 7 tram. ‘Beggars can not be choosers’ unless you want to pay much more than £100 the Youth Hostel will have to suffice. Coffee – 3 francs, Washing and Drying 5 francs each but sadly the dryer did not get the clothes dry! Thankfully the radiators did!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good Quality breakfast in Zurich, Open space.. Try to shell few Euros for international membership and it's worth. The lockers are Gr8 but works only with Coins.. inform the Receptionist about the overnight stay luggage, because lockers are been cleared every night at 11pm... Staff are very friendly and speak several languages. Watch out for front board for well planned information and discounts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitJoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I and our 21 year old daughter and 16 year old son stayed at the hostel for two nights and it worked very well for us. We had a very large room with two very comfortable twin beds (worked well as a double but with two individual duvets) and bunk beds and our own private toilet and shower rooms. Breakfast was very good/plentiful and staff were helpful and friendly...the young man on the bar particularly so. We were able to chill out and relax in the huge common both evenings and we had dinner on one of those. Yes, it is all quite expensive but Switzerland is expensive and so relatively speaking the costs at the hostel were reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triciatyclaear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#93 of 139 in Zurich
89 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#54 of 139 in Zurich
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
ibis Zurich Adliswil
#1 of 1 in Adliswil
569 reviews
St. Georges
#77 of 139 in Zurich
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zurich Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zurich Youth Hostel

Property: Zurich Youth Hostel
Address: Mutschellenstrasse 114 | 8038 Zurich, Zurich 8038, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zurich Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zurich Youth Hostel became one of the most modern of the world- open round the clock, so you can really get to know Zurich, the little city on a global scale. The hostel has a roomy entrance hall and a spacious inner courtyard for the international globe-trotting community to meet good cuisine, comfortable rooms in a quiet city location close to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Zurich Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Zurich Hotel
Youth Hostel Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing