We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$202
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$202
View deal
Booking.com
CheapTickets$202
eDreams$225
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,177)
Filter reviews
1,178 results
Traveler rating
599
458
88
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
599
458
88
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fondue swiss chuchi old town great location train station bars and restaurants junior suite hotel restaurant mini fridge within walking distance breakfast was included minute walk cold cuts small hotel central location noise murals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
841 - 846 of 1,178 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A great start to our 3 week European adventure! We opted for 3 nights in the Junior Suite (a little more $$, but by booking in advance we got a pretty good deal) as this was our 'jet lag recovery room'. To start, Aaron at the front desk was warm and welcoming, helped with our bags, gave us the room tour, fixed the sofa bed that we didn't need. 4th floor with balcony, overlooking the square -- great people watching, but not great if you want a quiet night! Take-out restaurant down the street was open til 5am, so it was pretty noisy. But great location in Old Town (Altstadt).
I'll be writing a separate review on the Swiss Chuchi restaurant, but the included breakfast buffet was great, the staff (especially Gisela) graciously accommodated our requests.
A couple of nice touches (that throughout our trip I came to appreciate):
Post Cards - just gave it to the front desk, without a stamp, and it was posted for us.
Complimentary beverages - new bottles of water every night
Power outlets - plenty to choose from without having to unplug something else!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Fromage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear First Timers in Zurich
It's great to know, that the stay at Adler war a memorable experiance on your Europe Trip.
Thank you so much for writing your posive comments down and make them accessible for the Tripadvisor community.
Sunny regards
Yours Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Although quite pricey we were impressed with the overall hotel and decided to check in for a night with the possibility of spending another night. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. However it was noisy as the window on the second floor was above the restaurants. After our disastrous dinner in the Swiss Chuchi restaurant downstairs we decided to tell the desk clerk that we would like to stay another night. We asked him to check for availability and if the price would be the same. He said it should be fine and that we can notify them in the morning should we wish to stay another night. Maybe he was just too lazy to secure the second night for us. The following morning after breakfast we spoke to another desk clerk who then informed us that the hotel was in fact fully booked that night but he would check for any cancellations and let us know. He later called up to our room to say we could stay another night but instead of paying €205, we now had to pay €235. I was not happy that we got conflicting information from 2 desk clerks and we decided to find another hotel instead.

Room tip: Try to get a room a bit higher or not overlooking the central court where all the restaurants are situated.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry for the troubles and the contradictory informations you have been given at the front office.
While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

A very nice and comfortable hotel. Within walking distance from the train station and city attractions. Best location in the old city, with many restaurants around. The hotel's restaurant is highly recommended. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and modern.

Room tip: Higher floors are less noisy.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Verkaufsleiter at Hotel Adler Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest
Happy to hear that your stay at Adler was an overall nice experiance. Thank you so much for commenting it online!
Best regards
Sincerely, Magdalena Krol, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is nice an comfortable. Unfortunately there was very much noise in the street below during the night from young people having a street party until 5 in the morning. Therefor it was impossible to open the window and get some air. It was the same booth times.
An other bad thing was that the hotel pre-charged the credit card at the first arrival. At the departure they then charged it once again. (By mistake they actually charged tree times).
This had the effect that quit an amount of travel-money was blocked for more than a week.
I have not experienced anything like this in any hotel before.
There was no excuse to get from the hotel staff in this matter. Warning!!!
Perhaps it would be better to chose an other hotel in the nearhood without this habbit.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bengt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is one of my favourite hotels in Zurich. That is why I keep returning here. It is conveniently located at Hirschen Platz in the pedestrianised area. All the rooms that I have stayed in have been modern, comfortable and are well maintained. Quite a good Swiss buffet breakfast selection too.
Looking forwards to my next visit here.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews