We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location and price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
Ranked #63 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very close to Central, Polybahn, Main train station and the river. A lot of restaurants are just nearby within walk distance. Price is acceptable as it is in Zurich. However, the room is very small and there is no air conditioning. When I was there, it was 34C and I couldn't get in sleep very well. Breakfast costs CHF 20.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YaleYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TA, it is true that most of our rooms do not provide AC. We simply have an air cooling system which allows us to cool the temperatures down compared to the outside temperature furthermore we provide fans on request.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back at your next trip to Zurich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    246
    102
    17
    9
See reviews for
42
193
64
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in May. Location is very central and you can walk to the hotel from the railway station easily.

Downsides:
The room was small, hot and the bathroom was tiny. The bed did not have a duvet. Phoning for a wake up call, got crossed lines.

Upsides:
The room was very clean and the bathroom whilst tiny, was functional. The bed mattress was comfortable. Location is very central and if you have a car there is a parking garage opposite - inside some sort of old shelter or storage facility - huge doors! Staff were friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to get a bit further from the street - both sides have noise, I was 4 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seven22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback.

You mentioned that you missed a duvet on the bed which is really surprising for us to hear since we prepare our beds with duvets, if this happens again please feel free to contact the Front Office 24/7 they will gladly organize you one.

Last but not least we are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with friendliness of our staff and cleanliness of our rooms!

We hope to be able to welcome you back at the occasion of your next trip to Zürich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was in Zurich for a business visit and this hotel was booked by my principal's. Although i found this a bit too expensive as price was CHF 200 + per night but then the attitude of the staff particularly Larissa, Stephanie, Sandra, front desk gentleman made up for everything.

At the breakast room, Sandra and Miss Turkey were very helpful and very courteous.

They offerred free internet so i could look into my business, talk to my family. Stephanie also bent backwards to help for phone recharge etc - honestly I did not expect this.

Location is also great. It was in the centre of the best restaurants, lake, shopping (Coop), Railway Station. If i have to stay in Zurich I would come here again.

Room Tip: I found all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtmasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great feedback and that you took the time to share it on Tripadvisor.

We are overly happy to read that you were satisfied by the effort of all our staff members – I can assure you it is a big boost of motivation for all of us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon in Zurich at your home away from home.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hotel du Theatre has a good location. It is close to the train station and to the river walks which are a good way to get a sense of the city if you don't have too much time. We also found the front desk staff to be very helpful.

It is expensive--and breakfast is not included--but Zurich is the priciest place we visited on our recent trip. It is clean and up-to-date, and the rooms are quiet, even those fronting on a busy thoroughfare. On the other hand, the rooms are very small--our's had only a double bed and it was still a tight fit. One nice touch is that the bathroom included wash rags, which one does not usually see in European hotels. On the downside, placement of the bathroom mirror made close work, such as shaving, very difficult. We found this place o.k. for a night, but I wouldn't want to spend much more time than that there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plainsrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guests

It is a pleasure to read that you had positive experiences with our staff and that you were happy with our central location.

Regarding the size of the room I would strongly recommend a Superior double room next time instead of a Economy rooms, it is true that if you have big suitcases the Economy rooms are a very tight fit.

Furthermore we really appreciate your input regarding an additional mirror in the bathroom we will gladly look into it with our Housekeeping Manager.

Nevertheless I hope you will give us a second chance coming back to Zurich and wish you all the best in meantime.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyana NSW Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good central location only a few minutes from the main station.Very helpful staff - we advised day before arrival that we were booked on a tour mid morning - the room was ready for us to leave our luggage & tidy up before the tour. Good clean facilities & ample breakfast. Cons are room was a tad small & is in a noisey traffic location -although the double glazed windows kept that down, the curtains did not make the room dark enough for us & the room was way to hot but friendly reception staff made up for the inconvenience!

Room Tip: A room on the station side of the hotel would be quieter as that side doesn't appear to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimT967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jim and Rosey

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write down your personal impressions, your comments are very valuable to us.

Regarding the darkness of the room we would like to inform you and future guests that we also have automatic shutters in all rooms, the switch is located right to the window slightly hidden by the curtains; this allows you to completely darken the room.

Last but not least we would like to thank you for your compliments regarding the staff and cleanliness.

We hope to welcome you again at the hotel du Theatre.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Loved our welcome by friendly staff! Hotel clean and comfortable,central to easy walking,site seeing,plus easy walk from train station.Modern and interesting decor,quirky!Great full breakfast!Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaSJ-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us. It makes us very happy when our guests are!

Furthermore we are delighted to read that you recommend our breakfast this proves us that the changes we made were in the right direction.

We hope that you will find your way back to Zurich one day, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice quaint building beside a modern theatre, a street away from the main river. Short 5 min stroll from the main train station. Quick check-in and prompt service.
Rooms were small but sufficient, with a good shower and good wifi reception. Did not bother with breakfast as there were plenty of cafes nearby. No coffee-making facilities but they lent us a kettle to boil water, so that was OK.
Near major attractions and close to good food too.
Price was also reasonable.
Overall worth a stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for rooms not facing the main road, although the windows are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your impressions of your stay on this platform.

It is true that our central location is highly appreciated by our guests as well as our free wifi access. We hope you get a second chance to explore Zurich and if you do so we would be happy to accommodate you again.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#37 of 134 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#45 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexander
#41 of 134 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 134 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#83 of 134 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Property: Hotel du Theatre
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#59 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing