We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Nearby Hotels
$327
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
$277
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$241
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$622
$445
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$494
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
113
281
120
22
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
281
120
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towntrain stationbusy roadnice hotelbreakfast roomrooms are smallmain stationshort stayfree wificentral locationfew minutes walkbars and restaurantsstayed for one nighttop floorfantastic locationdouble bedbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 548 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was in Zurich for a business visit and this hotel was booked by my principal's. Although i found this a bit too expensive as price was CHF 200 + per night but then the attitude of the staff particularly Larissa, Stephanie, Sandra, front desk gentleman made up for everything.

At the breakast room, Sandra and Miss Turkey were very helpful and very courteous.

They offerred free internet so i could look into my business, talk to my family. Stephanie also bent backwards to help for phone recharge etc - honestly I did not expect this.

Location is also great. It was in the centre of the best restaurants, lake, shopping (Coop), Railway Station. If i have to stay in Zurich I would come here again.

Room Tip: I found all rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtmasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great feedback and that you took the time to share it on Tripadvisor.

We are overly happy to read that you were satisfied by the effort of all our staff members – I can assure you it is a big boost of motivation for all of us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon in Zurich at your home away from home.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hotel du Theatre has a good location. It is close to the train station and to the river walks which are a good way to get a sense of the city if you don't have too much time. We also found the front desk staff to be very helpful.

It is expensive--and breakfast is not included--but Zurich is the priciest place we visited on our recent trip. It is clean and up-to-date, and the rooms are quiet, even those fronting on a busy thoroughfare. On the other hand, the rooms are very small--our's had only a double bed and it was still a tight fit. One nice touch is that the bathroom included wash rags, which one does not usually see in European hotels. On the downside, placement of the bathroom mirror made close work, such as shaving, very difficult. We found this place o.k. for a night, but I wouldn't want to spend much more time than that there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plainsrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guests

It is a pleasure to read that you had positive experiences with our staff and that you were happy with our central location.

Regarding the size of the room I would strongly recommend a Superior double room next time instead of a Economy rooms, it is true that if you have big suitcases the Economy rooms are a very tight fit.

Furthermore we really appreciate your input regarding an additional mirror in the bathroom we will gladly look into it with our Housekeeping Manager.

Nevertheless I hope you will give us a second chance coming back to Zurich and wish you all the best in meantime.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good central location only a few minutes from the main station.Very helpful staff - we advised day before arrival that we were booked on a tour mid morning - the room was ready for us to leave our luggage & tidy up before the tour. Good clean facilities & ample breakfast. Cons are room was a tad small & is in a noisey traffic location -although the double glazed windows kept that down, the curtains did not make the room dark enough for us & the room was way to hot but friendly reception staff made up for the inconvenience!

Room Tip: A room on the station side of the hotel would be quieter as that side doesn't appear to have the traffic that the other side has.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimT967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Jim and Rosey

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write down your personal impressions, your comments are very valuable to us.

Regarding the darkness of the room we would like to inform you and future guests that we also have automatic shutters in all rooms, the switch is located right to the window slightly hidden by the curtains; this allows you to completely darken the room.

Last but not least we would like to thank you for your compliments regarding the staff and cleanliness.

We hope to welcome you again at the hotel du Theatre.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Loved our welcome by friendly staff! Hotel clean and comfortable,central to easy walking,site seeing,plus easy walk from train station.Modern and interesting decor,quirky!Great full breakfast!Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhondaSJ-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us. It makes us very happy when our guests are!

Furthermore we are delighted to read that you recommend our breakfast this proves us that the changes we made were in the right direction.

We hope that you will find your way back to Zurich one day, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice quaint building beside a modern theatre, a street away from the main river. Short 5 min stroll from the main train station. Quick check-in and prompt service.
Rooms were small but sufficient, with a good shower and good wifi reception. Did not bother with breakfast as there were plenty of cafes nearby. No coffee-making facilities but they lent us a kettle to boil water, so that was OK.
Near major attractions and close to good food too.
Price was also reasonable.
Overall worth a stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for rooms not facing the main road, although the windows are pretty adequate to keep noise out if u shut them.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your impressions of your stay on this platform.

It is true that our central location is highly appreciated by our guests as well as our free wifi access. We hope you get a second chance to explore Zurich and if you do so we would be happy to accommodate you again.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews