We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Theatre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre
Ranked #65 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Loved our welcome by friendly staff! Hotel clean and comfortable,central to easy walking,site seeing,plus easy walk from train station.Modern and interesting decor,quirky!Great full breakfast!Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaSJ-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us. It makes us very happy when our guests are!

Furthermore we are delighted to read that you recommend our breakfast this proves us that the changes we made were in the right direction.

We hope that you will find your way back to Zurich one day, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    234
    98
    16
    9
See reviews for
38
182
63
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice quaint building beside a modern theatre, a street away from the main river. Short 5 min stroll from the main train station. Quick check-in and prompt service.
Rooms were small but sufficient, with a good shower and good wifi reception. Did not bother with breakfast as there were plenty of cafes nearby. No coffee-making facilities but they lent us a kettle to boil water, so that was OK.
Near major attractions and close to good food too.
Price was also reasonable.
Overall worth a stay in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for rooms not facing the main road, although the windows are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for posting your impressions of your stay on this platform.

It is true that our central location is highly appreciated by our guests as well as our free wifi access. We hope you get a second chance to explore Zurich and if you do so we would be happy to accommodate you again.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, only about a 10 minute walk from the main train station. Walking distance to all the major attractions in the city of Zurich. Quiet hotel, extremely clean and very accommodating. I had just arrived after 26 hours of traveling from Australia and they allowed me to check into my room at 10am so I could sleep! The room was perfect size for one person.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SCamp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We are grateful that you have taken the time to share your personal impressions on Tripadvisor.

Not only for us it is important to know how guests experience our hotel but mostly it is a great support for prospective guests to find a hotel to their convenience.

We hope you find your way back to Switzerland and Zurich, we would be happy to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night in May. It is very handy for the station and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Although the room was not large it was comfortable and cosy with good lighting. The bed was comfy and the pillows were just right. The room and the bathroom were well equipped and clean.There was a good selection of food at breakfast which was served in a light and bright room on the first floor. The staff were polite and helpful. Would stay here again if passing through Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacuumcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to leave us such a nice and detailed comment.

Cleanliness, personalized guest service and products of high quality are in the center of our attention thus we are very happy to read that you had a good overall experience with us.

We hope that you will find your way back to Zurich one day, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very convenient location naer the railway station. We were given an upgraded room on our outward trip and found it very nice. However on our return trip we were in a standard room which we found had no tea/coffee making facility. It was a Saturday night but found that the restaurant and bar were closed. The very friendly reception staff did get us tea/coffee making facilities but it did cost us 7 euros

Room Tip: Higher floors are best. be aware that bar and restaurant is closed at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions not only on Tripadviser but also to your travel agency. We appreciate real statements like yours it makes it easier for prospective guests finding a good value hotel in Zurich.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon at hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Conveniently located near the Zurich main train station (5min walk) with friendly service at the reception. Although booked a single budget room but still spacious enough for my stay. Would prefer to have a water boiler (tea/coffee making). Need to improve the window insulation as the noise from the opposite bars can be quite disturbing at night (i.e. till 2-3am). The breakfast at Euro 20 is quite decent and looking out on the tramway.

Room Tip: try obtain higher floors and facing the main road (the other side has lots of bars/restuarants that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChungieHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions. Your lovely feedback made us happy and it is nice to hear that we could offer you a pleasant stay.

Since we are centrally located it is true that we cannot offer complete silence however our windows are equipped with triple glass and we also have now in all our rooms ear plugs for our guests in case you want to sleep with an open window.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fantastic location, 5 mins walk from main station and Bahnhofstrasse main shopping street, room spotlessly clean and well furnished with all necessary facilities, albeit rather small but to be fair it was an economy room and was very reasonable considering it's location. An excellent breakfast with ample choice served on 1st fllor and too too expensive @ Sfrs. 20.00. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if important for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Tony

Thank you for having taken time to write a nice comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel furthermore we appreciate to hear that you consider coming back anytime.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon at the hotel du Theatre.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#42 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#35 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#100 of 133 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Hotel Alexander
#45 of 133 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#84 of 133 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre

Property: Hotel du Theatre
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#59 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Theatre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing