We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #67 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice & Comfort”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Conveniently located near the Zurich main train station (5min walk) with friendly service at the reception. Although booked a single budget room but still spacious enough for my stay. Would prefer to have a water boiler (tea/coffee making). Need to improve the window insulation as the noise from the opposite bars can be quite disturbing at night (i.e. till 2-3am). The breakfast at Euro 20 is quite decent and looking out on the tramway.

Room Tip: try obtain higher floors and facing the main road (the other side has lots of bars/restuarants that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChungieHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions. Your lovely feedback made us happy and it is nice to hear that we could offer you a pleasant stay.

Since we are centrally located it is true that we cannot offer complete silence however our windows are equipped with triple glass and we also have now in all our rooms ear plugs for our guests in case you want to sleep with an open window.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    258
    109
    20
    9
See reviews for
45
205
67
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Fantastic location, 5 mins walk from main station and Bahnhofstrasse main shopping street, room spotlessly clean and well furnished with all necessary facilities, albeit rather small but to be fair it was an economy room and was very reasonable considering it's location. An excellent breakfast with ample choice served on 1st fllor and too too expensive @ Sfrs. 20.00. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room if important for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Tony

Thank you for having taken time to write a nice comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel furthermore we appreciate to hear that you consider coming back anytime.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon at the hotel du Theatre.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I booked the hotel through their website and had to change my bookings last minute due to the change in our travel schedule. They were prompt in their response and allowed me to change my reservation with minimum hassle.

The hotel was located in a convenient and central location though the people at the train station were not that familiar with the hotel. I suggest that you find the location first via your map in order to prevent going to the wrong direction.

The room was cozy and clean and the reception was very helpful and patient in terms of providing information and recommendations to good eating places. All in all, we would stay here if we visit Zurich again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoraTheExplorerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us.

We hope that you will find your way back to Zurich one day, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Chosen for 2 nights within an independent tour package for its proximity to the station due to much railway action in our itineraries. Certainly it is fairly close to the main station and it is also well placed for the sights, restaurants and even an arthouse cinema nearby. Reception was pleasant and helpful. The included breakfast was good and included real espresso coffee rather than that pallid capsule stuff - it was also fun to watch the nearby funicular go back and forth while you dine.

But it must be said that the rooms really are very tiny and tight, with few frills. Our 2 rooms were also quite stuffy despite the air circulation system and they were fairly noisy too - we did not know about the claimed difference between the sides of the building.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the main street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is vitally important to us, to receive honest feedbacks like yours.

Furthermore, we think it is very helpful for future guests to choose a hotel in the center of Zurich.

Regarding the room size it is true that some room categories are rater small since our building is more than 100 years old and we have to work with the existing infrastructure.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you back at the occasion of your next trip to Zurich.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Took my sister to Zurich for her 70th birthday to celebrate with some relations who live there. The hotel is situated close to the Central bus/tram stop and you can get to it from the airport by tram 10 - 30 mins. You can walk to most things from here but if you are feeling lazy there are loads of buses and trams available from the Central stop that go almost everywhere.

The hotel is about 100m from the bus/tram stop and consequently some people might consider it a bit noisy at night. I had a single room looking towards the bus stop and found it OK even though I had the window open all night as I like to be cool. You get a reasonable selection of bath toiletries so that was fine. The rooms were clean and mine had a fridge so put my bottled water in there.

You can get breakfast at the hotel or go down one street and along about 300m to Migros (also McDonalds next door) where you can get a cheaper breakfast and buy foods from the attached supermarket in the basement.

All the staff were really helpful and friendly but special thanks to Larissa who sorted out all our queries. The hotel even gave my sister a little present for her birthday. As a result, my sister had a really great 3 days in Zurich.

Suggestion
Before you rush off and buy a Zurich card (remember museums are closed on Mondays) go to the Tourist Information at the station. There are a large variety of travel options which are a lot cheaper and unless you intend to go to a lot of museums, you may find it cheaper to take another option. If the weather is good, it is fun to walk around the city and you will see many of the sites along the way. We didn't buy any Zurich cards and actually found it far cheaper.

Room Tip: We had single rooms which are few and far between and are quite small but have everything you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerringFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear you have had a good stay with us and I am sure your comment will help future clients a lot.

It is true that our location is perfect if you arrive by train or by plane furthermore you find many sightseeing places within walking distance.

We hope that you will come back to Zurich one day, it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at our hotel.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small boutique hotel in the old town which seems to have been recently refurbished; good value for money, nice rooms, and friendly staff. Good to have free wifi. Recommended if you are on budget or for a short stay; would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms away from the main road as the traffic can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your personal feedback, we appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would consider to stay with us again. Especially since we have now in all our rooms ear plugs for our guests in case you want to sleep with an open window.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back at the hotel du Théâtre.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotel I have visited in Zurich. The value for money is excellent for the city of Zurich. Free wifi and very good price for rooms. Very nice location in the center of the city. Hotel du Théatre is the hotel I choose whenever I have to go to Zurich. The staff is very friendly which is even better.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Thierry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for having taken the time to share your personal impressions. We are very pleased to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel and especially with our staff.
Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
518 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#54 of 139 in Zurich
380 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 139 in Zurich
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Property: Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing