We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Limmathof(Zurich)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alexander(Zurich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
113
278
119
21
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
278
119
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towntrain stationbusy roadnice hotelbreakfast roomrooms are smallmain stationfree wificentral locationshort stayfew minutes walkrestaurants and barsstayed for one nighttop floorfantastic locationdouble bedzurich hb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 543 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The location of this hotel is very good. It is walking distance to the train station and to all of the major sites. I was pretty much able to walk to everything. However there is no AC and the rooms are very very hot. I was given a fan but it was still unbearable. A trade off for being in the good location is that it is noisy. Which would be ok if you could close the window but you can't because it is too hot. I found the staff to be very cold and not helpful. When I asked for directions to a location I was given the wrong train directions. Only after I insisted to have him review these directions again (like I was an idiot) did he realize he was sending me to the wrong place. Whenever i asked for anything it was like the staff was doing me a favor. The only exception was a young woman with brown hair who worked the night shift
Also as other people have written I do question their shower design. I'm not sure how you take a shower without getting the whole floor wet after taking a shower. The cleaning woman was friendly. But otherwise i felt like i was an inconvience to the staff.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Rolling S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Rolling S

Thank you very much for your honest assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.

First of all we would like to apologize that you did not feel welcomed by our staff, it was certainly not our intention to give you wrong directions or to make you feel like an inconvenience.

Regarding the shower we would like to inform you that we are renovating at the moment and that we are installing in the majority of the rooms glass doors in the showers with the aim to stop the leakage of the water.

Dear Rolling S we truly hope that you will give us a second chance in order to prove you that your experience was a single incident and that we take good customer service really serious.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We loved Hotel Du Theatre. The hotel had a great vibe to it and it a great location and a short walk to the main train station and just across the street from the old town which is filled with restaurants, bars and cafes. Getting to the hotel was really easy too - simply cross the Bahnhofbrücke (bridge next to the railway station) and look out for the Starbucks. The hotel is located right behind the Starbucks.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that. The management was very polite and gave us great info on places to see and things to do. We were celebrating our 6th anniversary and the room was beautifully decorated and we were even given a complimentary bottle of chilled champagne in our room. Rooms were not very big in size but comfortable nonetheless.

We had a great time at Hotel du Theatre and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear RMS83

Thank you very much for your positive assessment about your recent stay in our hotel. It is in our matter of concern that the guests of the Hotel du Théâtre are in good hands.

Especially we are happy to hear that you liked our small surprise at the occasion of your anniversary.

We hope you will find the way back to Zürich one time and would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel was wonderful. The staff was great and the location was amazing! We were a little skeptical about the room size because we had read the many reviews about it being small, but once we got our luggage situated, it was just the right size. We didnt spend a lot of time there anyway, so it didnt matter to us. It was a little noisy the first night with the window open, but the next night we had it closed and slept great. We are planning to come back to Zurich, and will most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubamom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Scubamom10

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your recent stay in our hotel. Your comment is very valuable to us.

We are happy to hear that you are planning to return to our hotel and wish you a great journey in meantime.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was a very nice hotel within close proximity to the train station for easy traveling purposes. Nice room with free wifi. Breakfast was included with our package but not sure it was worth the 20 CHF that it is worth. The city overall is extremely expensive. Very satisfied with the hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBLJTiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Todd B

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are happy to hear that we could fulfill your expectations regarding your stay.

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Yours faithfully


Yours faithfully
Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel was exactly what I hoped it would be. It was stylish, comfortable, clean, staff were friendly and helpful, and the wifi was free and reliable. Above all the location is perfect for a visit to Zurich - a short walk to the main train station and across the street from the old town. Some people have commented on the small room sizes, but I booked a room for two found it to be comfortably sized. If I visit Zurich again, I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fridayinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear fridayinla

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

In particular we appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness and our staff!

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Yours faithfully

Isabelle Schiegg
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews