We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use your safe for everything except your dirty underwear”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #69 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Niceville
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Use your safe for everything except your dirty underwear”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Travelers be warned! The rooms are very small (even by European standards) and air conditioning is not always available. However, worst of all is the fact that the rooms are not secure. We were robbed of a computer tablet and a digital camera while we were out to dinner one evening. A police report was filed and they were able to determine that our room was accessed by a “guest” key during the time we were having dinner. The hotel attendant on duty that night was not only dismissive, she was also rude and condescending. We were not able to recover our missing items and lost over three hundred pictures from the days we spent in Italy just prior to arriving in Zurich.
Walking distance to train station.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicevilleViajeros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear NicevilleViajeros

Thank you for your assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and it is in our matter of concern that the guests of the Hotel du Théâtre are in good hands.

First of all we would like to say that we regret that your ipad and your digital camera disappeared during your stay at our hotel.

However we were really surprised of the comment you left above since we never heard before about a stolen digital camera. When you stayed at the hotel you came back after your diner and told us that your ipad got stolen and our employee immediately called the police and therefore took this matter very seriously.

The next day the police came back to the hotel and we checked together your room lock. As it turned out there was never another key card used to access your room. So there was no one else who went into your room with a key card while you were out of the hotel.

We hope, we could clarify the situation from our point of view and would like to assure to all our future guests that we take this kind of situations very seriously.

Best regards,

Isabelle Schiegg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    263
    114
    20
    10
See reviews for
46
212
67
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We only had one night in Zurich and it was expensive! We got a great deal at Hotel du Theatre and can't complain. The room was clean, although small, and the morning breakfast room was cozy with good offerings. It was a downpour when we arrived by train and the hotel gave us an umbrella to use so we could walk around the town. There were plenty of great restaurants and bars nearby and the local transportation was right out front. A short walk takes you to the river leading to Lake Zurich. The train station is a very convenient walk as well. This hotel is great for a short stay on a budget.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing away from the road and nearby, above ground transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Mrs. Courtney C

Thank you very much for your honest and throughout positive assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and a big motivational boost to the whole staff.

We are very pleased to hear that you liked our breakfast buffet with our local products. Furthermore it goes without saying that we offer on rainy days an umbrella to all our hotel guests.

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Best regards,

Stefanie Salzgeber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here twice while on my recent European trip. I flew into Zurich and spent my first night at the Hotel du Theatre. The stay was pleasant enough and the hotel is perfectly situated. The room I chose was very tiny, which was fine for one night. My second stay was two nights so I upgraded to a larger room. It was well worth it. What wasn't worth the money was the breakfast. I stayed in seven hotels on this trip and had varying breakfasts of the continental kind. Most were in included in the price. du Theatre was an upcharge, which didn't bother me, it was the amount: 20 sf, almmost $22. Just don't bother. There is a Starbucks very close by. My favorite thing about the hotel, other than location, was the retracting blackout blind on the window. Every hotel should have these.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Polybahn (101, 201, 301), though tiny, have a nice view. Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear BobZAtlanta_Ga

Thank you very much for your honest assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. It is in our matter of concern that the guests of the Hotel du Théâtre are in good hands.

We are happy to hear that you choose to stay twice at our property during your trip.
However we regret to hear that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. If you are planning to stay again at our hotel we would like to recommend you our continental breakfast for CHF 10.50 which includes bread, butter, jam, juice and a hot beverage. With this offer we are even more competitive than the big international chain you mentioned who sells their coffee from starting CHF 6.50. Furthermore you have a unique view of the busy Central place and the nostalgic Polybahn at our breakfast room.

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Best regards,

Stefanie Salzgeber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel is all that you could want from a hotel in this price range. Our room was immaculate and comfortable, and all the staff we encountered were very friendly. This is also a dog friendly hotel which was nice for us. However, the best part is the location. It's near the train station, and all the shopping and you are just steps away from nightlife if that is your thing. (But don't fear, it was Friday night and we heard no street noise) Possibly skip the breakfast buffet, you can spend 20chf on better fruit, bread and cheese somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your positiv assessment about your recent stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and forwared your feedback to the whole staff. Regarding the breakfast we would like to add that we also offer a small breakfast, called continental breakfast for CHF 10.50, in case you want to spend less money.

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Yours faithfully

Stefanie Salzgeber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed there on my recent holiday to ZUrich and i must say we certaintly had a wonderful time. The room was a little small but for the price we were paying, it was bang for buck. What stood out the most was the service quality that the staff there provided. When we first arrived, they gave us a brief run down of the places to go and see and shop in Zurich. We were given very precise information and map print outs for directions to the Lindt chocloate factory which by the way was worth the trip. We checked out for 1 night to visit Luzern and left the bulk of our bags there, the we returned a day after to find our bags already in the room waiting for us when we returned. It was also snowing when we were there and they had no qualms about loaning 2 huge umbrellas to us whenever we needed them. Thumbs up to the staff adn Hotel Du Theatre and thanks for the memorable stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanreuben21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your honest and positiv assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us.

At the Hotel du Théâtre our guests stand in the spotlight!

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you. Therefore we are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Yours faithfully
Stefanie Salzgeber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was a one night stay for a business trip and was perfectly adequate - though the room was a little small. We were paying £150 a night so it seemed steep - though Zurich is generally expensive.

The hotel is modern and clean with good facilities in the rooms and the hotel generally - such as a restaurant. The restaurant was utterly deserted though, so perhaps the food isn't great!

Breakfast was 9 francs per person, but there's a plethora of local coffee shops and Starbucks across the road where you can get something cheaper if you wish.

Rooms:
The rooms are quite small. I basically had enough room to walk round the bed, and sit at the desk, but no more. Having said that they had all the mod cons and were in excellent condition. The bathroom was also definitely large enough - with a shower in the bath and plenty of room.

There were plenty of nice touches, such as free fruit and bottled water in the room and free wifi.

Location:
Its close to a railway station so easily accessible by train, and the taxi to the airport was about 40 Swiss francs.

The hotel is also in a very pretty and quiet area of Zurich - with plenty of restaurants in walking distance for a nice dinner out after sightseeing.

We took a taxi to the lake area - and that was another 25-30 francs though so it can be expensive to get about.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewFerret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Manager at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your honest assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We are happy to hear that you had a good overall experience at our property.

For your next stay in Zurich we would like to recommend you the daypass (24h) for the public transport which costs CHF 8.20 per person.

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again.

Yours faithfully

Stefanie Salzgeber
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I used this hotel for a 15 hour layover flying back to the US. It is a very easy commute by trolley from the airport. The hotel website advises you to disembark at Central, but doesn't tell you how to find the hotel from there, which was a little difficult late at night--I ended up wandering way too far off the beaten track. The hotel is just a couple hundred feet from the station (maybe three streets away from the river just where the old town commences) so that you can't quite see it from the station.
The room was incredible small and at first I wasn't sure i would even fit in the toilet closet or the separate shower closet, but amazingly, it works. There is barely room to move around, but the desk top, the tv, the closet etc. were all within easy reach of the bed, so despite its being small, it was very efficient use of space so it made for a good place to crash for the night. There's lots of restaurants and bakeries in the neighborhood. I didn't pay for the hotel breakfast figuring that I could see a little of the old city and the river while getting a hot drink and pastry from a local shop.
Compared with prices for other Zurich hotels (i.e., the most expensive city in the world), this is a pretty good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Mr JWm65

Thank you very much for your honest assessment about your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. It is in our matter of concern that the guests of the Hotel du Théâtre are in good hands.

At the Hotel du Théâtre our guests stand in the spotlight! - and also in Zurich you stay in the heart of the city, near the main railway station.
We regret that you did not find our hotel at the first try. On our webpage in the section “getting here” you can click on “approach map” to get a larger map which shows the exact situation of our hotel at Central square.

We are sorry that you felt the room was very small. Our hotel offers economy, standard and superior room categories. For your next stay at Hotel du Théâtre it would be our pleasure in offering a larger
room to you.
In our harmonious designer rooms you will enjoy your stay with the best air quality (1st Swiss hotel with the label “GI” for good indoor climate).
During your stay you can use the free WLAN in the whole house. In addition we also have a computer for our guests in the lobby which can be used for free.

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again. Then you will find it at the very first try.

Yours faithfully

Nicole Maret
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#47 of 138 in Zurich
535 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#48 of 138 in Zurich
388 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 138 in Zurich
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#20 of 138 in Zurich
788 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#89 of 138 in Zurich
294 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Property: Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing