We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Ranked #67 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Close to the train station”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Comfortable room and good sized bathroom.

Breakfast was nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StOuenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Mr "StOuenboy"

Thank you very much for short assessment . Your feedback is very important to us. We would like to use this chance to learn about your wishes and needs. It is in our matter of concern that the guests of the Hotel du Théâtre are in good hands.

At the Hotel du Théâtre our guests stand in the spotlight! - and also in Zurich you stay in the heart of the city, near the main railway station.

In our harmonious designer rooms you will enjoy your stay with the best air quality (1st Swiss hotel with the label “GI” for good indoor climate).
From the restaurant “la suite lounge” you have a unique view of the busy Central place and the nostalgic Polybahn. In the morning you can also enjoy your breakfast with this fascinating outlook.
During your stay you can use the free WLAN in the whole house. In addition we also have a computer for our guests in the lobby which can be used for free.

We regret that you did expect more about the breakfast buffet. We believe our selecction is quite wide. What was missing in your opinion?

The du Théâtre Team is here for you at any time and we do our best to offer the most suitable service for you.

We would be very happy to welcome you to the Hotel du Théâtre again!

Yours faithfully


Nicole Maret
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    258
    109
    20
    9
See reviews for
45
205
67
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is located within walking distance of the railway station. The room was small but clean and confortable. The hotel has somewhat of an artsy look and history. Service was fair, not great. It was located close to the city and other attractions in the city. The hotel was selected and booked for us by Railbookers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our visit to this hotel started badly when we found a broken glass on the floor of the bathroom.
The room was over a busy road and the noise was thunderous unless the window was kept closed.
Unfortunately the cooling for the room was primitive and hardly worked at all so we had to sleep in a sweat box.
On the positive side, the place was clean, breakfast was good and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
If you have to stay here, ask for a room away from the road!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nekeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
146 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Chose this hotel based on location and price. The price, as in everything in Zurich, is expensive but we were not disappointed with the location. It's walking distance to the train station and tram stops. It's also near shopping and dining in the Old Town. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but a Starbucks is just about 20 meters from the hotel so we had our breakfasts there.

The building and the rooms have a very nice trendy style which we liked. Our room was bigger than what we expected and had a contemporary interior. The front desk staff were all very helpful with providing informations. They even accommodated a fax request one time and they even booked an airport shuttle for us. Free wi-fi is also great. My husband loved the fresh fruits in the lobby for the guests.

We will stay here again when we visit Zurich and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a nice, clean, and modern hotel. However, the rooms are the size of your bed -- I had to sit on the edge of the bed to iron my shirt.

What's worse is that one night, I found a letter in my room that said I had been smoking in my room, and therefore CHF 50 would be added to my bill to clean it. This was ridiculous, as I had been going downstairs and outside to smoke. Apparently, housekeeping had "smelled smoke in the room" so without further ado, they added the penalty. In the end, they took it off the invoice again, but the way this was handled was frankly very insulting. In short, this is not only a non-smoking hotel (which is fine), but it's more like a non-smokers hotel. Don't go here if you smoke, at all.

Combined with the tiny rooms, I'm not returning here and will be staying at the Swissotel, instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABloem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutheatre69, Leiter Front Office at Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Dear Mr Bloem

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Feedbacks of our guests are very important to us as it is our aim to improve our service
and learn about things which were not satisfying for our guest.

The Hotel du Théâtre is a non smoking hotel. Therefore our guests expect a room which does not smell of smoke.
I apologize that we thought that you where smoking in the room or out of the window. If guests do so we sometimes are not able to sell the rooms again on the same day. It is also very inconvenient
for a guest if he can not stay at the hotel because the hotel can not provide a room which does not smell of smoke.

I regret that the room you booked did not have the size you expected. As the building of the hotel
has a shape of a trapeze so not all walls are in a right angle. Therefore some rooms are a bit smaller than other ones.

Despite of this we offer our guests an excellent service, a rich breakfast buffet and free WLAN in the whole hotel. Our "la suite" Lounge on the 1st floor, with a magic view over the Polybahn and the busy city, combines modern ambiance with the old tradition of the theatre.

It is sad to hear that we will not be able to welcome you again to the Hotel du Théâtre. We wish you all the best for your future. Nevertheless if you come back to Zurich, we would be very happy to have you as our guest again.

Yours sincerely,

Nicole Maret
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our night stay here. The location just across the river from the Railway Station is ideal for a stop-over and is also on the edge of the old town with all it's restaurants. The decor is very contemporary and we found the room to be a reasnable size - we were at the reception end of the building so it might have been a bit larger than some others. We were not troubled by noise at all and the staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good too. We woulod certainly stay there again if we returned to Zurich

Room Tip: go for the west side near the apex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandvivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

10 minutes from the station across busy roads, a nice place to stay for a couple of days. Breakfast was good. The room had excellent sound insulation from the road outside with metal shutters, we were not troubled by noise. The room was a bit small and we had to negotiate round the wardrobe door. No idea about value as we were on a package.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
518 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#54 of 139 in Zurich
380 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 139 in Zurich
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind

Property: Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Address: Seilergraben 69, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#61 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Theatre Hotel
Du Theatre zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing