We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, nice rooms, far-ish location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service, nice rooms, far-ish location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed at the B2 Boutique Hotel since it's right near the Zurich branch of my office, and I enjoyed my stay. The women (it was mostly women) who ran the hotel do a great job: they're very attentive and speak nearly perfect English. For example, it rained most of the time I was there, so they offered umbrellas to those who they noticed weren't carrying them. They also had great breakfast spread that went till 10:30am, which was fantastic for the mornings I wished to sleep in!

The rooms themselves were pretty nice, too. They're all decorated in the modern-industrial kind of style, with lots of white and textures. The bathrooms were small but functional and well designed; the rain showers were a plus. The beds were very comfortable and the double-bed was NOT two twins pushed together, which I still occasionally see in Europe. One pet peeve I have is that there's not much room to put your stuff: there's no drawer space and the hanging area has only about 4 hangers. If you're doing a night or two, this isn't an issue, but my husband and I had over a week's worth of stuff for two people and that meant it was tough to stay neat.

For true tourists who want to be "in the middle of it all" they may find that this hotel is a bit far. It's a pleasant 20 minutes to the main Zurich train station (Zurich Hauptbanhof) in the center of town, or 10 minutes by the trams that run regularly right near by. Also it's on the top of a hill, so it's a bit of a hike if you're not driving up to the hotel. I like being a bit farther off from city center myself, and I loved the exercise, so I didn't mind--but for travelers with motion issues, it's something to be aware of.

Finally, it's part of the Thermalbad Spa, which is a pool and baths complex. It costs $25 to get in, which is discounted off the usual $55 rate. This grants you access to a rooftop jacuzzi (by which I mean a jacuzzi that takes up literally the entire roof--with 270 degrees views overlooking Zurich, wow!) and to the Irish-Roman spa, which are a sequence of baths and steam rooms that are housed in the barreling area of an old brewery. Two things to note: All instructions are in German, and also, to access it you need to go down to the front desk dressed in your bathing suit and hotel bathrobe/slippers (you can't bring your own towels/robe) to get the wristband that allows access. I might not take the trip specially to do this, but since it was right there, it was definitely worth it to experience since it was right in the hotel.

Overall, I had a fine experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    136
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
66
291
18
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I spent 4 nights at this unusual hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. The B2 is in a former brewery (Hürrlimann) and next to Google's Zurich offices. It's a 10-minute walk from Bahnhof Enge and you have to know where it is. But once you get there, it is worth the effort. Rooms are spacious. The breakfast buffet is perfect. Staff is very attentive. But the best is that it is sandwiched between a splendid rooftop pool and underground spa and pools.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

On a beautiful spring day in Zurich I made the mistake of walking the 10 minutes with my luggage from the station to the hotel, it was OK until the last 50 metres which is along cobble stones, up a good set of steps or a steep winding driveway, either way, not the best access - get a cab if you have luggage.

In the lobby the contemporary fittings draw you through in to a stunning library. Soaring around you are shelves amassed floor to ceiling with 30,000 books. Looming Chandeliers made of green bottles light the space.

Check-in was a breeze, absolutely fantastic service. Although my room wasn't ready until 2pm I was more than happy to explore the area surrounding, I stumbled across a fantastic little shopping and entertainment area about 5 minutes away called Sihl City with department and retail stores and bars.

On return to the hotel, the clerk took me all the way to my room which didn't disappoint, high ceilings, an inviting bed, Nespresso machine. A light breakfast was complimentary in the dining area the following morning. Free wifi.

From an amenity perspective there is no gym/fitness facility however there spa is amazing with a rooftop infinity spa overlooking Zurich and roman baths in the cellar. (tuesday is ladies day - sorry guys no access on this day)

This is a quiet, boutique hotel catering nicely for the boutique market. In typical Zurich style, this hotel manages to maintain elements of its history an blends is with contemporary styling throughout. Enjoy it while it still feels new!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Zurich city that were fine but most 4 stars seem to be set as "business hotels". My wife and I were looking for something a little bit special for one night away and this definitely fitted the bill.

The hotel has a very friendly, warm feel but has a very modern design/decor. I think it merges old and new design very well. We found the photos on the hotels website to be a very accurate representation of what you can expect.

The hotel has convent access from the motorway and provides valet parking. The hotel is located about 5 minute walk from the tram station. There is a small part of this walk uphill but nothing too taxing. The tram journey to Zurich city centre is about 5 minutes.

Based on our experience we would recommend this hotel to others. Unfortunately we did not have time to try the roof top pool, next time I hope...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel, as it had this cozy yet industrial feel to it. The library lounge was very interesting as well as the lobby with all their book tables.

Our room was quite nice with all the amenities you would expect from a boutique hotel, nespresso machine, bathrobes, slippers etc...and free mini bar!

I would give the hotel itself 3.5 stars if i could based on the intersting design, but everything was pretty impractical. Shower was a cool design but not very practical, all in one type of deal so if you went back in to the sink or toilet, your feet would be wet again. Breakfast in the morning was quite good...service there was excellent!

What we really enjoyed however were their spa services. They offer an amazing roof top pool where you get an awesome view of zurich and it seems as though the pool has no walls and water just pours from the sides. It's outdoor of course, and the temperature outside was soo cold, but the water was very nice and warm. Whoever designed it was pure genius. That's where the hotel gets bumped up to 4 stars.

It loses 1 star because the staff seemed a bit confused with everything when we checked in. There were 3 of us and 2 rooms, all our spa bands didn't work so it was a bit of nuisance to wait naked in robes to get new ones made. Our room keys somehow got deactivated in the process as well so we had to get new ones too.

All in all though, it was a good experience...would definately recommend to anyone visiting zurich.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was staying here on business because the location worked for me. I learnt about the rooftop pool on the site, but the actual experience blew away all my expectations! There are different "zones" in the pool in which you can lie down, sit, stand, each with its own kind of water jet and/or bubbles. And all around the pool, the views of Zurich are amazing! Both at night and during the day. Definitely an experience worth having.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ms_tdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

The hotel has a library motif , rooms are great.
Spa and breakfast are both amazing and the view is special.
Roof top pool is a wonderful idea.

Getting there is a bit of a problem as you need to take tram 8 and walk around 8 minutes to the hotel.
However this hotel is worth it, a truly boutique hotel in the business area of Zurich.

Room Tip: Take tram 8 from the main station, walk towards to Google sign and if you have trouble walking up hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigabyte056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Atlantis by Giardino
#1 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#3 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#6 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa

Property: B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
Address: Brandschenkestrasse 152, Zurich 8002, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Enge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa in the former Hürlimann brewery offers 60 rooms and suites - all with parquet floor, Nespresso machine, free Wi-Fi and 2 boardrooms for up to 18 people. The highlight of the hotel is the Library with 33’000 books, where breakfast, SWaPPa's (Swiss tapas) and wine from Zurich are served. Guests enjoy special conditions and direct access toThermal Bath & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing