We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel in nice area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sunnehus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Sunnehus
Ranked #99 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small hotel in nice area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I found the Sunnehus a delightful little hotel though the rooms are quite small and there was no toilet in my room- it was private but in the hall. The breakfast area is nicely decorated and the menu was varied to my usual--small breakfast-- habits. The best part was when I asked for coffee with milk and they brought me a silver tray with two beautiful silver pots - one full of delicious coffee & the other- hot milk. But I checked out early because I got the room on Bookit and thought it was the same low price for two days- but I found I got the room cheap because I came on a holiday and the 2nd day ended up being twice the price. They wouldn't lower the price but did let me check out and move to a cheaper hotel (the Marta) close to the train station. Be forewarned, though the Sunnehus is an 8-10 minute walk to the old town- it is a lot of up and down hills and stairs. But there is a tram stop within a block. Check your map carefully when you get off the tram- I went the wrong way and found myself carrying suitcases up and down stairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
9
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is quite nice. Very close to the hospital (5 min walk) but not too far from old town (8-10min walk). There is good wifi in the room. Breakfast was ok: bread, yogurt, eggs, fruit, ... but not too much variety. Too bad not hot water kettle in the room.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank tunafish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed in Sunnehus several times, every time I enjoyed my stay. Most of the rooms are spacious (try to get a corner room!). Very clean, high quality throughout. The staff are friendly, and they serve a very nice breakfast. The location is quiet, near the ETH, yet within walking distance to Niederdorf and Bahnhofstrasse.

Room Tip: Try to book a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nilshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for one night in October 2012 while visiting colleagues at the near by university. I found the room comfortable, clean and quiet and the morning breakfast the pretty standard fare I've had at similar European hotels. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again. Compared to other hotels I've stayed at while in Zurich it is perhaps a bit expensive but well below (and as nice) some of the more 'star'ed hotels in town.

Room Tip: As with all hotels, away from the street side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a good hotel which I have stayed in twice as a guest of ETHZ. The hotel is also walking distance from the river and shopping streets. The rooms appear recently renovated and are very clean. Everything is "just so" at breakfast. As usual with Swiss hotels the construction is solid and noise is not a problem, also the street outside is quiet. I found the room too hot on both occasions I visited, also could not obtain an adaptor for the Swiss socket so remember to take your own. Tip - if from the UK, Swiss plugs are not the same as ones elsewhere in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reatigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is situated just outside the centre of Zurich near ETH and the university. There are excellent tram connections to pretty much anywhere in the city. There are a number of positives here. The rooms are a reasonable size, and very clean. Decoration won't be to everyone's taste, but is quite pleasant if certainly not luxurious. There is a decent breakfast buffet, though you don't get a lot of coffee!
On the negative side, the staff seem rather aloof and not particularly friendly, and the wifi in my room was dreadful, the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel claiming to offer this service. The rooms are very warm, though a fan is provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This small hotel was convenient to ETH University and the staff were very nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was adequate. Our room was small and not air conditioned and it was very hot during our stay in early June.The hotel provided a small electric fan if you asked for it..The room furniture was minimal and bathroom fixtures were old but worked. A lot of noise from ambulances going to a nearby hospital and from church bells came through the open windows. The neighborhood did not have many close-by restaurants but was near a tram station that was useful in getting around. Prices for the hotel and for the food in restaurants were incredibly high for the value, but that is the case in Zurich. Probably would have liked this hotel more if it had not been so hot or we had had a larger room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the fifth floor during a heat wave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smfBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#86 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#48 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#44 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunnehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunnehus

Property: Hotel Sunnehus
Address: Sonneggstrasse 17, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunnehus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE ELEGANT HOTEL WITH FRENCH FLAIR IN TRENDY CITY, ZURICH! The Hotel Sunnehus is located in the centre of Zurich and you are the centre point of the Hotel Sunnehus. The service is attentive and professional and guarantees an extremely comfortable stay. THE HOTEL SUNNEHUS TEAM WELCOMES YOU CORDIALLY. You will immediately feel comfortable. After a revitalizing sleep, you may enjoy our delicious breakfast buffet, either in the elegant breakfast room or in the shade in the garden. Experience Swiss hospitality at its best! DIVERS CULTURAL ATTRACTIONS ARE NEAR BY:Opera & concert halls, diverse theatres, art galleries and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sunnehus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing