We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality, spotless boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good quality, spotless boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed at the Helmhaus for one night with extended family. the hotel itself is built in an old townhouse. Location is very central, with view of Lake Zurich from the room and Bahnhofstrasse a 5 minute walk away. Rooms themselves have modern furniture, with clean and friendly atmosphere. Hotel is overall no frills, i.e. has everything needed for a one night stay, but is somewhat difficult to top reach by car as it is in a pedestrianised area. Didn't notice a gym either.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank citruschill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Dear citruschill
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to read that you appreciated our central location in the oldtown of Zurich, like many of our guests do. Still, although we are situated in a pedestrianised area, as you mentioned, guests are allowed by exception to drive up right in front of the hotel. Additionally we do offer driving instructions to and from the hotel on our website.
We do not house our own gym facility but the nearest gym is only about three minutes walking distance away.
Thank you for having been our guests, and we do hope to welcome you again in the future.
The Hotel Helmhaus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    214
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
121
341
87
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Again i stayed at Helmhaus and things have remained good as they were earlier.
The reception desk is full of co-operative staff and the rooms are very comfortable.
The manager informed us that next winter they have scheduled some repairs & renovations. Last year they had repairs when i stayed, but it did not disturb us at all.. The breakfast is satisfying, being a business hotel, you dont have a 24hr restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJSMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear BJSMumbai
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to read that you are repeatedly appreciating our comfortable hotel and our professional staff. It is important for us to stay up to date and provide a high quality product. Therefore we do improvements every year.
We look forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Helmhaus.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

I loved almost everything about this hotel -- perfect location for Old Town sightseeing and the Kunsthaus (art museum), excellent cleanliness, excellent breakfast, comfortable room, and the very friendly, welcoming staff. I will be advising friends to go there. If you need a slimmer pillow, as I did, try making arrangements for one ahead of time --- or take one with you. They will perhaps give that option in future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
Dear ZeeCee
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our location and service.
We want to do our most to make our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, and therefore each guest is provided with two pillows, a bigger and a smaller one. We also do offer an extra selection of different types of pillows.
Thank you very much for your feedback, and we do hope to welcome you back in the future at the smallest and most central Four-Star-Hotel of Zurich.
The Hotel Helmhaus Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Helmhaus over New Year's and would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Zurich for a quick stay and interested in exploring the city.

The location is right in the old town on the river and perfect for exploring. There are many great restaurants, cafes and stores close by.

This is a wonderful little hotel - the rooms are extremely clean, the beds and linens are very comfortable and the bathrooms are of ample size. On top of that, the staff makes this such a welcoming place to stay. Even before we arrived they were helpful in responding to emails and helping with dining reservations. Throughout our stay, everyone was always cheerful, welcoming and very helpful.

My only criticism is that the noise does travel in this hotel so request a high floor if you like to sleep in. We were on the 2nd level and woken each morning by sounds of what seemed to be people running laps on the floor above us and slamming doors with people that were going to the breakfast room which is also on the 2nd level.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpugliese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear jpugliese
Thank you very much for your response and your positive feedback. We are very glad to read that we could convince you with the service of our team members, the quality and cleanliness of our renovated rooms and the hotel’s location with easy access to oldtown Zurich.
Thank you also for your feedback about noise from rooms above yours. We will discuss this issue with our team members to find a solution so our guests can enjoy their stay as noise-free as possible.
We do hope to welcome you again in the future to the smallest and most central Four-star-hotel of Zurich!
The Hotel Helmhaus Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Helmhaus has the perfect location as it is close to most of Zurich's tourist and business areas. We went to Zurich to see how they celebrate the New Year and we wanted to be close to the lake to enjoy the fireworks and New Year celebrations. Helmhaus had the perfect spot as the food stalls, dj and fireworks over the lake were literally round the corner.
We have to agree with the reviews that most of the reception staff were helpful, and a special mention must be given to Mario for his professionalism and high level of customer service.
We liked that breakfast is included in the room rate (another reason for choosing the hotel) and thought that the scrambled eggs were cooked to perfection.
The only negative point about the hotel is that our room was quite noisy (more noise from within the hotel than outside) and I would make a suggestion that the hotel asks its guests to wear the slippers provided as we could hear the guests above walking on the wooden floor.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sordnaxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear Stockio
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially if you spend the New Years Eve away from home. The whole Helmhaus Team is determined to make our guest’s stay as pleasant as possible, even more when the perfectionism of our scrambled eggs is appreciated.
Thank you also for the hint about the walking on wooden floors. We will share the issue with our team to find a solution to avoid this inconvenience in the future.
Thank you very much again for sharing your experiences with other travellers and us, and we do hope to welcome you again in the future!
The Helmhaus Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

I found this to be a very well located & frendly hotel, The breafast service was Super !!!
Good value & they do take care with there presentation.You can get tram tickets from them too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dexte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear dexte,
thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our breakfast buffet. We take much care to increase the high quality of our buffet by adding self-made jam and fruit salad, home-made honey and Bircher Müsli.
The selling of tram tickets is a service we introduced to help our guests to find their way around easier in our lovely city.
Thank you again for your stay and we do hope to welcome you again in the future. The Helmhaus Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.
They went out of their way to help me at every turn.
Knowledgeable, great asset.
The hotel is small and clean. Not a Palace, but a great quality small hotel.
Quite a bargain for the location and the service.

I recommend a bit updating in decor. The carpet is new, but a bit ugly.
I really enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trsmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Dear trsmiami
Thank you very much for your comment and your positive feedback! We are glad to read that the service provided by our team was helpful and made you feel comfortable. Like you, most of our guests appreciate the family-like athmosphere of our small hotel and the location in the heart of oldtown Zurich.
Over the past three years we have done renovations of our rooms including the bathrooms, i.e. installing wooden floors. At the end of February 2011 we will do a rebuilding of our kitchen and a part of our breakfast restaurant, so we can offer our guests an even higher level of quality and service.
We want to thank you once again for your feedback.
The Management of the Hotel Helmhaus Zürich.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing