We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #11 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2010

The hotel is located in the old part of the city with its cobbled streets, proximity to the river and a short walk to Niederdorf strasse's bars and restaruant. Much better than the Banhoff strasse area we originally stayed. It has white, minimalist decor which is far better than your opulent, over the top hotels you might find. If you like your boutique hotels, I would definitely recomend this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny_Mud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Dear Danny

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Helmhaus Hotel. If I am right, you stayed in one of our design rooms on the top floor of the hotel. These rooms are of minimalistic décor with modern design furniture. The bathrooms have recently been renovated. The new ample walk-in showers and discreet colours provide a high level of comfort and cosiness.
Thank you for your positive and motivating feedback. We will do our best to constantly improve on our services and accomodation to be able to exceed your expectations also on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,
André Rosenberg, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Helmhaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 881 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

best things about this hotel is its location in the old city. excellent, friendly service from all at the hotel- even though we were the only family with a small child, we were given a friendly welcome and my 3 year old daughter was even given colored pencils and paper to draw with at breakfast. breakfast was excellent with a large choice and very aesthetically presented. I was dissapointed though with the size of the room and that to get a better size and view we would have to pay another 100 francs (the hotel was quie expensive for us to statt with). also no coffee and tea in the room but free coffee in the lobby. overall we were very pleased with the hotel and accept that in zurich everything is expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel is very well located, near restaurants, boutiques, theatres and grocery stores.
The room are small but practical, the breakfast is included in the rate and is a very good
size breakfast. The staff really care about your wellness and it shows. The hotel and the room are very clean! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I visited the Helmhaus Hotel again on my recent business trip to Zurich and have again been rewarded for my choice: stylish and newly renovated room (at the smaller end, but all you need in an expensive Swiss town), very clean, very efficient aircondition and state-of-the-art new bathroom. All in all the best hotel in its category. A small boutique hotel in the most central area of Zurich, easy access to everything, very helpful and dedicated hotel staff and a lavish breakfast buffet with fresh and healthy food. I recommend this hotel to everybody, be it for business or leisure. You won't regret it. Also loved the free WIFI in the entire hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelboy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

A charming little hotel in a spectacular setting at the Lake Zurich and the river Limmat, next to many churches/cathedrals and the Old Town as well as the Bahnhofstrasse (business and shopping). The service was great, the room was large though cozy. the variety at the breakfast buffet could be improved. We would go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borisrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I chose this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and was a little bit worried since they weren't as universally positive as I had hoped but as soon as I got to the hotel, saw the location, the rooms and met the staff, I knew immediately that I had made the right decision. In a country where restaurants charge 5 dollars for tap water in restaurants and adaptor plugs run 60 dollars (not voltage converters, mind you, JUST adaptors), I truly realised just what a value this hotel represented.

While the rooms are definitely small and most Americans would undoubtedly hate the small size, I prioritise cleanliness, powerfulness of the air conditioning, newness (esp bathroom fixtures), helpful staff and breakfast quality far above size. I must say that on all these vectors, the hotel either met or exceeded my expectations esp in the area of newness, esp in Europe where nearly everything seems to be old and gross. The hotel was totally remodeled in 2009, at which time it got new interiors, including all new bathrooms and things like flat panel TVs. Outside, the hotel still had character but inside it was new, modern and clean, the way things should be. And at just over 150 dollars per night, it was a VERY good value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank one1eight8seven7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This hotel was such a little gem. Location is great as other reviewers have mentioned, convenient but quiet. The overall atmosphere was charming, with well-thought-out and functional designs throughout. Service was unfailingly courteous and efficient across the board.

We stayed in a Superior room which was impeccably clean. It felt a lot more spacious than the 25m2 size mentioned on their website. I think the owners have done an excellent job with the renovations, giving the rooms a modern, uncluttered style, without losing the sense of history of the building.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate with a good selection of breads, cheeses, fruits, cold cuts, as well as hot scrambled eggs and bacon. When we were there, the guests seemed a mix of business and leisure travellers.

Yes, the elevator is tiny, but they have made the stairs so welcoming that even staying on the 5th floor, we used mainly the staircase throughout our stay.

Zurich is such an expensive city, and having stayed in a different hotel across the river which cost twice as much with a less pleasant experience, I will choose the Hotel Helmhaus again anytime, without hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmomABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
790 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
808 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#15 of 138 in Zurich
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $247 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing