We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in the heart of Zurich”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Loved this hotel. When we arrived, the front desk staff offered a glass of the local wine as we checked in. The front desk team were all very nice, helpful, polite and spoke great English. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The breakfast was great, with all varieties of breads, cold cuts, fruit, cereal etc. The best part of it was the cheese varieties. Simply delicious!!!!!!!! Great coffee too. All the servers were very nice also. The best part was also the air conditioning. Even though it was May, we used because it was kind of hot. The location is great, near all the good restaurants, and attractions. Zurich is a beautiful city, and made more enjoyable because of our stay at this wonderful hotel. The windows must have been triple insulated since there was no street noise whatsoever. Worth the price for a great stay!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaColumbus_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Grüezi DinaColumbus_NC

It is a pleasure to read that you had such a good time at our Hotel Helmhaus and that you considered our service and products worth the value. We provide high quality products, such as bathroom toiletries of the Swiss line RITUAL, home-made jam from local farmers as well as a large selection of Swiss cheeses on our Swiss breakfast buffet, and a personal 24/7 service by our qualified team members.
Our windows are indeed double glazed and sound-proof in order to keep as much sounds and noises outside as possible and ensure a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests.

Thank you for having been guests to our historical, yet modern Hotel Helmhaus, and we wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 913 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had 2 nights at this quaint little hotel at the end of May and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were tremendous with all their help and information.
Its location was great in that we could take a stroll along the river, explore all the little streets in the area with an abundance of restaurants or bars, walk into the city centre or catch the tram which was just a stones throw from the hotel.
With free WiFi and a very nice breakfast the icing on the cake for our stay in Zurich, I would certainly recommend the Hotel Helmhaus to anyone intending to visit Zurich.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street could be noisy with the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Grüezi Murray M

Thank you for having chosen our little historical Hotel Helmhaus which has undergone extensive renovations in the past years. It is a pleasure to know that not only did our location meet your expectations but also the free Wifi internet as well as the quality of our Swiss breakfast buffet and the helfullness of our team members.

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope that we can welcome you as well in the future to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We just stayed there for 1 night last week. We had arrived after a Rhine River cruise. Even though we were very early for check in they had our room available with an upgrade.. This hotel was pretty, warm, inviting and very friendly and helpful. Mario at the front desk was wonderful. He was so kind and helpful. He gave us lots of advise. in fact, when I was deciding on where to stay I kept reading the reviews about how wonderful and helpful the staff was at this hotel. It was so true, They were all great and we loved talking to Mario. He helped us use our limited amount of time wisely. The location is superb...You are in the middle of old town and I could see a little of the lake from my window. The bed was great and very comfortable, the room was spacious and the included breakfast was excellent and was a great money saver not having to go out and find breakfast.Loved the breakfast. Also, free WiFI included. all of these are great extra perks.Thank you for a great time in Zurich!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Grüezi EKHouston

It is a pleasure to read that the stay at our Hotel Helmhaus has contributed so greatly to your good time in Zurich. With a comfortable sleep on one of our high quality Swiss mattresses, our rich Swiss breakfast buffet as well as our location in the heart of Oldtown Zurich our hotel is a very good start into days of exploring and experiencing our wonderful city and its surroundings.
Your compliments about the friendliness and helpfullness of Mario and the other team members have been duly shared.

Thank you for having been staying at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel in Zurich, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I gasped when I started researching hotels in Zurich, not realizing its reputation as one of the world's most expensive cities. After reading the reviews, I decided to splurge on the Helmhaus (and it is by no means the most expensive hotel in Zurich!). I was glad I did. As others have mentioned, the welcome glass of wine was appreciated. The room itself was not large, but was thoughtfully laid out so that it seemed roomy. The bed was very comfortable, and the linens were high-quality.
The hotel's breakfast is mentioned in a number of reviews, and was one of the reasons I selected the hotel. The food is uniformly high quality: the basket of breads alone would be enough for a satisfying breakfast, but it doesn't have to be since the table also has very fresh and delicious fruit, along with a selection of meats, cheeses, and vegetables, along with yogurt, bircher muesli, and dried fruits and nuts. There is also a more "American" offering of scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage, but I preferred the other choices.

An example of the kind of service that sets this hotel apart from others occurred when we were leaving. A hotel employee had set up an airport shuttle for us, but, through a series of misunderstandings, the shuttle didn't arrive. After we had waited 15 or 20 minutes, the woman at the desk told us that she was calling a taxi for us, and there would be no charge since we had waited so long. We got to the airport in plenty of time for our flight.

Finally, I loved the location. The things that we most wanted to see (the Kunsthaus Zurich, Grossmunster and Fraumunster churches, and Lake Zurich, were all within walking distance, as were numerous shops and good restaurants. If I return to Zurich, I would not even consider staying at another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poindextermn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Grüezi poindextermn

Thank you for having been our guests and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travellers and us. We are delighted to know that you have selected our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus after checking the other reviews on Tripadvisor – and that you were not disappointed with your choice. On the contrary. Your appreciation of the quality of our service, the rooms as well as our rich Swiss breakfast buffet has been shared with our team.
Our guests‘ opinion is a very important part in enhancing the quality level of our service and our products.
And by booking with our Hotel directly guests can ensure to get the best rooms for the best rates.
It would be nice to welcoming you again the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This small boutique hotel is right in the heart of Zurich and is very clean and newly renovated....The service (especially the desk crew) is very good. Our room was comfortable and bright, the beds were very comfortable, better than some of the hotels nearby that charge twice as much. The breakfast, which came with our room, was excellent with all kinds of fruits, nuts, eggs, assorted meats, yogurt and a huge selection of herbal teas and good coffee. For around 350 franks, this is a very good value.....

There is a Spanish restaurant called Turm just up the hill about a block away that we thought was off the charts......definitely give that a try. If you like to hike or run, go all the way up to the top of the mountain directly behind the hotel and there are all kinds of trails and a forest with great views looking over Zurich (it takes about 30 minutes to get up there....look for Volta street to Hinter Street and just go all the way until you are on top) ....what a gorgeous city....Cheers!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tradrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Grüezi tradrtrav

Thank your for having been our guests and for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers and us. By providing quality not quantity not only do we want to make our guests feel comfortable when relaxing or working inside of our newly renovated facilities. With our service and offers we want to provide a good starting point for exploring our wonderful city with most of its major sights at the hotel’s door step as well as the cities surroundings.
Our team members are available 24/7 and happy to provide interesting facts and ideas for exploring Zurich.

We wish you all the best, your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Arrived late afternoon from a long flight, room ready, little local vino on arrival, luggage brought to an excellent room with enough space and romantic feel. The location close to great restaurant was just what we wanted. The breakfast is to die for, got us ready for a drive up to the alps.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fredrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Grüezi Fredrik G

It is a pleasure to know that not only your time at our little historic yet modern hotel itself proved to be comfortable and enjoyable. But also our rich Swiss breakfast buffet with high quality products provided you with a good start for your tour through our country. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip through Switzerland at least as much as you enjoyed your time in Zurich.
Thank you for having been our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you again to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Location is good, right near many tram stops, you can go anywhere by tram or foot. The reception staff was very warm and helpful. The breakfasts were over the top as they had scrambled eggs in addition to the usual European fare. Very classy, the best jams, yogurt,
pastries, toasts, fruit. Breakfast is included and a good deal. The hotel is boutique, in a very old building, rooms are rather small but enough. Bathroom has a marvelous large tub. Soaps and shampoos of high quality as was everything in the hotel. I am fussy, I can't find fault with this hotel, the bed was the best!

Room Tip: I believe they are all great rooms, on our floor the 3rd, all the doors were closer to elevator, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pineapplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Grüezi pineapplehorse

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations with everything our hotel has to offer. Not only do our rooms feature high class Swiss mattresses and quality bath products of the Swiss line RITUAL among many other amenities – all those intended to make our guests feel as comfortable and relaxed as possible. But also with a rich and full Swiss breakfast buffet with many local delicacies to start the day and a location with many major sights in walking distance our guests can explore your wonderful and nice city at its fullest.
Mediaval charme mixes with modern comfort at the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich, and our team lives that tradition.

We wish you all the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
494 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
868 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#16 of 138 in Zurich
416 reviews
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
#11 of 138 in Zurich
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $228 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing