We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely recommended”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely recommended”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

An excellent hotel; perfect location, very friendly staff and clean rooms. My room was not so big, but that is not so important for me. Relatively small choice at the breakfast table, but all quality products. Personal touch troughout the whole hotel.
Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Grüezi Jean-Paul D

Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Helmhaus for your stay where the charme of history mixes with modern comfort. As you mention correctly our effort is providing quality not quantity. This is not only shown in the bathroom products of the RITUALS Line but also in the many Swiss products we offer on our Swiss Breakfast buffet.
A further personal touch in our hotel is added by the paintings of Swiss artist Gisèle Mengis which have been created exclusively for our hotel.

Thank you very much for recommending us, and we also look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    216
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
122
345
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very good, central location in the picturesque altstadt. Excellent service, extremely clean. Very nice room; no "bells and whistles", but very comfortable and roomy. Pricey by "normal" standards, but reasonable by Zurich standards. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trbuksxdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Grüezi trbuksxdk

Thank you for having been our guest and for sharing your positive opinion with other travelers and us. We are delighted to know that you appreciated the quality of our service, the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and the location in the heart of the city centre.
And by booking with our hotel directly guests can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederteufen, Schweiz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

great service, excellent quality rooms, superb location! right you get there a nice welcome-drink was offered - a nice welcome. the hotel is situated in the heart of Zurich, 2 minutes by foot to get to the lake, the hotel is in the center of the old town, shopping all around - nothing more to be added. the breakfast is of great quality, nice service, nice choice of food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donrotsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Grüezi Roger_Stadler

It was a pleasure to welcoming you to our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. Our team provides its best service and the best quality possible so our guests can relax and enjoy their time at our hotel and in Zurich.
We appreciate your taking the time to share your positive comment with us which in turn is shared with all our team members.

We wish you all the best! Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Perfect accommodations for comfort and work, this will now be my go-to hotel for any trips to Zürich. Plenty of restaurants nearby, located steps from the river. I was on the top floor so the din from the street was just nice background noise with the window open. Extremely clean and well appointed in modern but tasteful style.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxr341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Grüezi cxr341

Thank you for having been our guest. It is nice to read that with our hotel you have found a go-to hotel for future trips to our wonderful city. Your appreciation of the cleanliness, comfort and quality of our newly renovated rooms with their sound-proof windows has been passed on.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again on your future trips.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in the Helmhaus many times and cannot fault the hotel.
Andre, Mario and the team are always helpful, cheery and welcoming.
A small modern hotel well situated for visiting Zurich, reasonably priced.
The breakfast is ample with plenty of choice.
We have stayed in many different hotels in Zurich but now always return to the Helmhaus.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Grüezi Lorraine W

Thank you for repeated stays at our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. It shows us that with our efforts of delivering quality, not quantity we are on a very good way of making our guests feel comfortable and having a good time.
It will be a great pleasure for us to seeing you again on your upcoming stays, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Cannot beat the location, in old town, walk to most major attractions and dining and trams. Everything is small scale but lovely, from the tiny lobby with fresh pressed apple juice to the minimalist rooms with renovated Euro-chic bathrooms and beds with snowy duvets. BUT. If you are on a lower floor of this 24-room haven, better not mind clumping feet on the faux hardwood floors above. Luckily, lovely Mario moved me to the top floor when he was able, and that solved the noise problem. Anya was sweet at the night desk and recommended a great little restaurant, Rosalys, with no tourists near me. Prices in Zurich are high, but what made this hotel was the staff, down to the very accommodating, smiling breakfast servers. Note to management: Slippers aren't enough to stop guests tromping. Please consider some chic area rugs!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Grüezi USAKit

Thank you having been our guest and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travellers and us. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciated especially the helpfulness and friendliness of our team members as well as our location in the heart of Oldtown.
It is our aim to make every guest feel as comfortable as possible, and with our 24 hours reception our guests are encouraged to contact us for anything any time.
And by booking our Hotel directly with us our guests can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is probably the best little hotel we were at. This is a rather small hotel which gives you the warmth of home. The place i is perfectly maintained: like I've never seen elsewhere, even in switzerland. The rooms are fair sized (for the price!), very convenient with all the amenities, the staff is warm and helpful, the location outstanding. All in all - a great place that I will surely return to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaloVerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Grüezi PaloVerusa

Thank you for having been staying with us. It is nice to know that you got a feeling of “being home away from home”. Our rooms with their unique interior design and decorated with paintings of Swiss artist Gisèle Mengis are meant to contribute to this feeling as well as our high quality Swiss Breakfast buffet and the friendliness of our team members.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing