We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Value in Zurich”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tremendous Value in Zurich”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was on a business trip which flew me in and out of Zurich so I decided to stay a few days as a tourist. It was a great decision as Zurich is a lovely, charming European city and I could not imagine a better base than the Helmhaus.

The service here is impeccable, the staff solicitous and hepful. The included breakfast has many selections and the breakfast room is cozy. I loved my room on the second floor. It felt like my personal pied-a-terre. It has an old world charm, but the amenities of a modern hotel. The internet was included and quite fast.

The location, about a block from the river and walking distance to all the tourist sites, is ideal. Stay here and not only you will love it, you will save a little money for delicious Swiss chocolates.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Grüezi NJLovestoTravel

It is a pleasure to know that you had such a comfortable stay at our Hotel Helmhaus. Although our hotel has undergone extensive renovations and modernisations (the lateast ones between 2007 and 2012) one can still feel the air of its nearly 700 years of history within our building.
And with its location in the heart of Oldtown most major sights are within easy walking distance.

Thank you for sharing your love of our hotel with other travellers and us, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    220
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
124
352
91
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Once again, Trip Advisor reviewers got it right! This is a lovely hotel in a perfect location. Walking distance to the lake, old town and most everything you would want to see on a quick visit here. The staff was friendly and we felt very welcomed. The breakfast was beyond what I expected and a nice perk. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Grüezi Tami T

I want to thank you for having been our guests and for taking the time to share your positive thoughts with other travellers and us. It is a pleasure to know that you have chosen our hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews, and that you were proven right with that choice.
It is the quality to our guests that is our primary concern, and that you valued all our hotel’s services and amenities is much appreciated.

Thank you for recommending us, and all the best for you. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Clean, cheerful, efficient, this is an unassuming, comfortable little hotel across the street from the river on the Old Town side. It is the smallest of the Swiss Quality group, we were told, but it offered all the hotel services we needed, without the formality and waiting of some grander places, and the cost was reasonable for the area. Breakfast was quite adequate. A good discount shoe store next door was a plus. It's near some typical restaurants and an easy walk up the hill to the touristy parts of the Old Town or to interesting neighborhoods--and the Bahnhofstrasse--across the river. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocLBethesda_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Grüezi DocLBethesda_MD

Thank you for having been our guests. I am delighted to know that in our hotel you found all the services you needed despite the smaller size of it compared to most other hotels. Our location makes it indeed very comfortable for our guests to reach most major sights by foot.
We know that prices matter so by booking with us directly our guests will receive the best rooms for the best rates.

We would look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is the kind of place you will remember from your vacations in Zurich. Small, nice, friendly, perfectly located.
Our room was very comfortable and newly refurbished, delicious breakfast. Walking distance from everywhere. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaBraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi AnaBraz

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and considered it one of the best during your time in Europe. I have passed your compliments to our team members.

Thank you for having been our guests, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

You can't beat the location, close to everything you want to see and do in Zurich. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Clean and modern room and bathroom, although I did hit my head on the slanted ceiling a few times. But, we asked for a larger bed and I believe those rooms are located on the higher floors and it can't be helped. Every hotel in Zurich seems to be quite expensive, so I can't say that this hotel was overpriced by any means, but I would say it was much more than we wanted to pay. They have air conditioning which is a huge plus (especially in Europe). To me, the most important attributes of a hotel are location, cleanliness and room temperature - and this hotel had it all! Overall, a lovely stay at Hotel Helmhaus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi DesMK

I want to thank for having been our guest. It is a big compliment to know that our Hotel Helmhaus had everything that is important to you (location, cleanliness and room temperature) and that you enjoyed a lovely stay.
Indeed our Design Rooms on the 5th floor feature kingsize beds, and because of their design interior and sloped ceilings they differ from the more traditionally furnitured rooms on the other floors. Details and photographs can be found on our homepage.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I had a really good time there, every thing was perfect, so clean and great location. The staff were so nice and helpful.
The airport shuttle was late for 20 minuets and the hotel offered us taxi and paid the extra fee for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardavan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi Ardavan E

Thank you and your wife for your recent stay with us and for sharing your positive thoughts with other travellers and us.
I am delighted to know that you appreciated the quality and helpfulness delivered by our team members. And the extra step of quality shows in not-day-to-day situations like you have experienced.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We picked this hotel based in the references of tripadvisor.
We booked 2 rooms with separated beds for 3 nights. Zurich is a very expensive city and this hotel was one of the most affordable ones with good references.
We booked in advanced and pre-payed our stay, we only had to pay in there the city tax.
The hotel is very well situated, near of almost everything, we never used the public transportation, we walked to most all the attractions. Sadly far from train station.
The front desk staff was very nice, with very good English and helpful all the time. They have a nespresso machine in the little reception.
The rooms are cleaned, moderns and minimalist. The air conditioner worked perfectly to avoid the heat of the city.
The breakfast is decent, they don't have too much to offer, but the place is nice and they refill very quickly.
They provide WIFI for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi osippa

Thank you for having chosen our historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus after you read other travellers reviews on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you found the references confirmed by your comfortable stay, our location with walking distance to most of Zurich’s major sights and evereything our hotel has to offer. Especially when booking with our Hotel directly, via phone or email, we can ensure that our guests get the best rooms at the best rates.
And since we know that free internet access is nowadays not only important to business guests but also to private travellers we are happy to offer it to all our guests.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
762 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
738 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
428 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#17 of 139 in Zurich
360 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing