We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and couldn't have been more impressed! The location is close to the centre of Zurich and is positioned within the beautiful old town. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff and offered refreshments. Our rooms were newly refurbished and a good size for a European hotel. The shower in our room (44) was great! Our room has two. The two main widows had wonderful views of the lake! Breakfast was included in our room price and was delicious. The staff were very friendly and enthusiastically offered their assistance with all aspects of our visit. I would definitely stay at Hotel Helmhaus again and will be highly recommending it my friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi Shane B

I am delighted to read that our team with its service and friendliness could make your stay with us impressive and comfortable.
Despite not being suite-like sized our rooms provide every comfort our guests can expect, and being lodged in one of the oldest and most traditional hotels of Zurich gives a special feeling of the hundred years old past mixing with the presence.

Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you as well back in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    214
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
122
343
88
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Helmhaus and everything was perfect. It was close enough to walk from the train station (in good weather) or take the tram to bring you closer still. The room was cozy and comfortable with a totally modern bathroom, the staff was wonderfully helpful, the morning breakfast buffet was tasty and complete - a perfect way to start the day! On departure, we had a very early flight and the staff arranged for a cab plus had coffee and orange juice right outside our door since the buffet wasn't open that early . . . a very nice and appreciated touch! We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi Ken F

Thank you and your wife for having been our guests. It is much appreciated that you valued the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members as well as the quality and comfort of our rooms and bathrooms which have been completely renovated between 2007 and 2012.
And by giving the extra touch, i.e. having a little breakfast ready even before the official breakfast time, we want to show our guests how important it is for us to offer the highest quality possible.

Thank you for recommending us, and we wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

SeattleJayhawk

Seattle, Washington


1 review



The hotel location is great in the old citiy and the front desk staff was very friendly & helpful
I was ill and there was hot water all the time for my tea.
The rooms were nice and clean.
Breakfast is very nice and for dinner you can have many resaturants arounf for take away.
Zurich is expensive but price in this hotel







SeattleJayhawk

Seattle, Washington


1 review


“Great hotel & location!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013


Zurich is expansive but this hotel reasonably priced
Thisi s the first time I stayed at this hotel (in a double room) while on busienss in Zurich. The hotel location is great old citiy and the front desk staff was very friendlyThe rooms were nice and clean.
Breakfast is very nice.

Room Tip: It is enough to stai in Zurich for two nights Roome on the highest floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi Michaela55

Thank you for having been with us recently. It is nice to know that you had a good time although it was overshadowed by illness. When being ill and having to stay in the room it is very important that everything is well functioning and comfortable, and I am glad to see that we could provide a good recovery time.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Another Trip Advisor gem.The room was amll also the Bathroom, but very functional. Great clothes driers, the best anywhere !
Very quiet even over the street, and excellent and friendly service by front desk staff. Good Breakfast.
Excellent location next to tram station

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leidenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi leidenaar

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your positive thoughts with other travellers and us.
It is nice to know that for you our traditional yet modern Hotel Helmhaus has come up as a gem in the heart of Oldtown Zurich, and your compliments about the quality of our interior are much appreciated.
Especially when our guests are booking with us directly via phone or email we can ensure to get the best rooms at the best rates.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel Helmhaus was our introduction to Switzerland and it could not have been better. A warm welcome from the front desk and efficient sign in were just the start. Our room, on the top level, was spacious, charmingly decorated and spotlessly clean as also was the beautifully appointed washroom. Reception staff were exceptionally helpful with maps and advice as we got our bearings and headed out to tour. Restaurant recommendations for dinner were excellent. Breakfasts (included) were sumptuous with an excellent selection of foods from which to choose.
The hotel is literally steps from charming old town Zurich, restaurants and shopping.
We fell in love with Zurich on this initial trip and look forward to returning in the near future. Hotel Helmhaus will definitely be our accomodation choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ex-airfaircrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi Ex-airfaircrew

It is a delight indeed to read that our team at Hotel Helmhaus has contributed greatly to your first good impression of Switzerland and to even falling in love with Zurich.
We know that travellers coming to Zurich have high expectations, and by providing quality above quantity we want to do our best to meet these expectations.

Thank you having been our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future tot he smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

There are a lot of small boutique hotels in Zurich but this is one of the better ones.

Very nicely situated near the river and with friendly reception staff, arrival was a pleasure.

My room, a "superior" one, was a cut above the normal boutique hotel offering - a large room with all the "trimmings". I really could not fault the room - maybe the bathroom was a little small but I could live with that. It had all the amenities that one comes to expect and was spotlessly clean.

It does not have a restaurant or a bar but there are dozens of eateries/bars very close by which are more than adequate and there is a small breakfast room on the First floor which serves a more than adequate hot and substantial international beakfast.

No other facilites and a tine two person lift, I'm afraid but that suited me ideally as I only wanted a nice room to sleep in and somewhere to have breakfast - it was a three day busines trip where not much more was required.

Its not a resort hotel and does not pretend to be but I really enjoyed my short stay - I have no hestitation in recommending it. Really friendly and helpful people.

Room Tip: Go for a slightly more expensive "superior room" and avoid the higher floors (they get too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi CTCTraveller

What a pleasure to know that what our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus offered you was exactely what you had expected for your business trip. I want to thank you for sharing you positive thoughts with other travellers and us.
And having a good night’s sleep in a clean and well functioning newly renovated room, a hearty Swiss breakfast where only high quality Swiss products are offered, and the possibility to use our free of charge wifi internet already count for a good day’s start.

Thank you for having been our guest, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel (in a double room) while on vacation in Zurich. The hotel location is great and the front desk staff was very friendly & helpful (especially Nadia!). The rooms were nice and clean. It's Europe, so rooms are a bit small - especially the single room that my sister stayed in. One great feature of the room was the heated floor in the shower! The elevator was super small (expected since it's a very old building); however given it's only a 5 story building there is a great set of stairs that can easily be used. The property is in walking distance of great restaurants, shops and other attractions. They also offer free wifi and a great breakfast. Additionally, they were able to book us a shuttle to the airport for a very reasonable price.

My family had such a great stay that we decided to spend another night at the end of our week in Switzerland. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Double room on the 4th floor has a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Grüezi SeattleJayHawk

Thank you and your family for having chosen our Hotel Helmhaus für your stay. I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay that you were moved to spend additional time in our wonderful country. And since our building is so historical (nearly 700 years old) the past mixes with modern comfort in a very nice way, especially since the completion of vast renovations in 2012.
We look forward to having you staying with us again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler Zurich
Hotel Adler Zurich
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing