We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Hotel Helmhaus”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #11 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From check-in to check-out, we had a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was very friendly and eager to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast was fantastic, and our corner room was just what we expected--roomy with a partial view of Lake Zurich. The hotel's location in the Old Town made it possible to walk to many attractions such as the Grossmunster. Also, the city's tram system was near the hotel, making it easy to get around. We can't say enough about how happy we were with our experience and would certainly choose this hotel again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RD808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Grüezi RD808

Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts about your stay with other travellers and us. Quality, not quantity is what we want to deliver to our guests, and it is nice to know that our efforts contributed to a comfortable time of yours here in Zurich.
Although having been extensively renovated during the past years our old historical building combines the charme and history of Zurich with the modern comfort our guests can rightly expect.

I am glad to know that we have met your expectations, and we would look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Helmhaus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 881 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Helmhaus as my usual hotel was full. Everything was perfect but the staff and the breakfast were the stand out factors. I visit Zurich several times a year on business and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Grüezi NICK M

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay after you found your usual hotel being fully booked. It is a pleasure to know that your choice has led you to experience not only the comfort of our rooms but also the quality of the service of our team members and of our rich Swiss breakfast buffet.

It would be nice to welcoming you back again in the future, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice little, well located hotel. We must have talked with 5 or 6 day and night managers. They all were knowledgeable and helpful. Prices are hight in Zurich and in all of Switzerland, so be ready to pay up. The breakfast was included, so it covered some of the expense. It is a nice little hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Grüezi Lamar123

Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts about your stay with other travellers and us. Especially your compliments about the friendliness and helpfulness of our team has been duly passed on.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Team Members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We definitely recommend the Hotel Helmhaus. We arrived after a long flight from the U.S. and were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff, who provided us with many helpful tips for our short stay in Zurich. The breakfast food was filling and tasty. The room was comfortable and clean. The only "challenge" was finding the hotel - we drove in a rental car from the airport and did not really understand that the street the hotel is located on was off the main street in a more of a pedestrian area (where cars are permitted, but to a North American perhaps it didn't feel right at first). It took us three laps around the area to actually find the hotel! Well worth it, though!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Grüezi JPut

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay a tour little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus.
We understand that finding the Hotel by car can be a little „challenge“ due to our location off any main streets in the quiet Oldtown part. Most of the navigation systems do not feature our address since it is a pedestrian area. Our guests are encouraged to visit our website for detailed driving instructions or to contact us directly for information on how to get to the hotel by car / train etc.

Thank you for accepting this „challenge“, we would look forward to welcoming you again to our smallest and most centrally located Four Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We just stayed for three days with our two children and it was fantastic. The room was not big enough for us but very comfortable, clean and very functional. Everything is been upgraded to the best. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was always willing to go the extra mile to make our stay the most pleasurable one. The location was fantastic, just in the heart of the old town Zurich. We will definitely come back again. We will highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Grüezi Monica G

Thank you and your family for having been our guests. Especially when travelling with family and children it is very comforting when everything during your travel is in order and well taken care of. It is a pleasure to know that our efforts regarding the service of our team members and the quality and cleanliness of our hotel’s facilities after the latest renovation between 2007 and 2012 have contributed to an enjoyable trip of yours.

Thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The service in this boutique hotel was great, nothing was too much trouble for the staff always there with a smile and a greeting and advice on anything we asked. The position of this hotel is the best, right in the middle of everything you wish to do in the old town with easy access to/from airport on the tram .
The room we had was a corner one with windows on both sides so was very light and big enough.It was very clean with a good bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and quite on a higher floor.
The breakfast was great with staff again being very good.
We loved our stay there and we gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleoSydney_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Grüezi cleoSydney_aus

It is a pleasure to know that our team members could make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. Making our guests „feel home away from home“, especially when being far away from home, is our aim, and it is nice to know that you appreciated our efforts.

We would love to welcoming you again in the future and wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This little boutique hotel is so conveniently located in the Old Town and you can walk to many locations. The room was small but spotlessly clean and the breakfast truly delicious. The staff are friendly and courteous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueDen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Grüezi SueDen27

It is nice to know that you enjoyed your time at our Hotel Helmhaus, especially our rich Swiss breakfast buffet and the friendliness of our team members.
With most of the major sights literally at the hotel’s door step our location calls for exploring the city.

Thank you for recommending us, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
790 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
808 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#15 of 138 in Zurich
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $247 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing