We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Swiss Hotel in the centre of the Old City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Swiss Hotel in the centre of the Old City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Helmhaus is a solid choice for those looking for a simple, clean, contemporary, welcoming hotel. Very contemporary in styling, in the centre of Old City, the rooms were clear, albeit small, and well decorated in a contemporary style. The buffet breakfast was very good and the staff was exceptionally helpful and welcoming. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Grüezi CamilleD22

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts with other travellers and us. Delivering quality, not quantity is what we at the Hotel Helmhaus want to provide our guests, and it is nice to know that you appreciated our efforts in providing the best service and highest quality possible.

It would be nice to have you staying with us again at our little historical Hotel Helmhaus.
Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    214
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
121
341
87
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

As part of this years European holiday we decided to spend a few days in Zurich. We picked this hotel solely on the feedback and reviews it had on Tripadvisor.
The hotel was central and the rooms were clean and well appointed. We were put in room 14 and whilst fine, it is on the same floor as the breakfast area so I would suggest those who want complete peace and quiet ask for a room on floors 2 and above.
The service was great and the breakfast was varied and fresh. All in all a great place to stay in Zurich and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Grüezi Ashley1542

Thank you for having been our guests. It is nice to know that you have selected our hotel based on other travellers‘ reviews since this gives you a very good impression of our old historical yet modern hotel.
Your compliments on the service of our team members and the quality of our Swiss Breakfast buffet which you have especially valued have been passed on.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel Helmhaus in the heart of Oldtown Zurich.
Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff especially: very good service
Buffet breakfast: not bad can be better
Location: perfect
Cleaning: very good
Our stay with big family is convenient & pleasant. A guy in concierge was good support.
Will definitely stay again. Near from Zurich HB as well as tram station

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanganidilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Grüezi Sanganidilip

Thank you and your family for having been our guests. When being travelling with family there are many things to think of, and it makes life easier if other things are taken care of as best as possible so one can enjoy the time with the family.
It is nice to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and especially appreciated the service and friendliness of our team members.
Most of our guests value the variety and high quality of our Swiss Breakfast buffet, with many products of the region. It would be interesting for us to know what further products you were missing.

It would be nice to welcome you back to our most centrally located Four Star Hotel Helmhaus, and we wish you all the best.
Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Helmhaus did not let me down. Its in the center of the old city, walking distance to everything including Rathaus Cafe. Clean, power shower, very comfortable bed, good breakfast, just what you need to get a good start off to a business meeting in Zurich.
Its small so the Hotel staff know you are coming and are very professional, friendly and helpful.
There is no doubt that when next I am in Zurich it will be a first choice.

Room Tip: It does not matter. I was close to the lift but it was quiet because there are double doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Grüezi owambe

It was nice having you staying with us, and it is nice to know that you felt very comfortable during your time. Especially when off to a busy business day a good night’s sleep and a good breakfast make the start of the day much easier. By delivering service on the highest level and quality, not quantity we want to provide this good start to each of our guests, whether business or vacation traveller.

We look forward to welcoming you another time to our historical yet modern hotel in the centre of Zurich City.
Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found the rooms very well fitted and the facilities excellent. The location was by the lake in the old part of the city. The hotel has been very well maintained and inside is very modern. The bedrooms had all the facilities you could wish for a central city location. The breakfast was more than adequate with many choices of food. We found the coffee was great and always served hot. We found the location was perfect for seeing the city by walking everywhere. We thought that the Helmhaus Hotel was overall extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHF186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Grüezi MHF186338

I am delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you appreciated the results of our continued efforts to keep our hotel in best shape – outwardly as well as internally. We want to create a comfortable mixture of modern design and history. Being away from home means also that our guests have high expectations about them feeling comfortable, even „home away from home“. And it is nice to know that we could give a very comfortable feeling while being with us.

Thank you for having been with us, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the Helhaus recently and my experience there contributed greatly to the enjoyment of my first visit to Zurich. The weather was rather miserable but the central location enabled me to get everywhere quite easily. The staff were unobtrusive but always quick to help. Everything is clean, bright and quietly luxurious. It's well worth paying more for the views of Lake Zurich. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room on a higher floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurorasev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Grüezi aurorasev

Thank you for having been our guest and for recommending us to other travellers. We can understand how high expectations and excitements are when visiting a foreign place for the very first time. Therefore it is nice to know that we could contribute to an enjoyable first stay of yours here in Zurich – even though the weather was not the nicest one.

We look forward to welcoming you back, maybe in the summer when Zurich is at its nicest, and wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night last Oct. Reception was very friendly. Room small, but functional and neat. Quiet. In a good interesting neighborhood with lots of character shops and restaurants. Overall, a decent choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundfaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Grüezi Roundfaced

Thank you for taking the time now to share your positive thoughts about your stay of last October with other travellers and us. Our location in the heart of Oldtown indeed is one with easiest access to many small and fancy restaurants and character shops.
It is good to know that you valued the quality of our recently renovated rooms and the friendliness of our team members.

Have a good spring time, and we wish you all the best.
Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing