We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great food, great accommodation”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #11 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location, great food, great accommodation”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is both small and grand:
- an excellent location for a walking experience in the city;
- a superb breakfast served with a polite and more than competent staff;
- spacious rooms, comfortable furnishings and bed and of course immaculately clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Grüezi Jim K

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your appreciation that in our hotel smallness of the building pairs with grandness of our service and the quality of the hotel’s features. By delivering „Quality, not Quantity“ I am delighted to read that our team has contributed to a comfortable time of yours in Zurich.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    220
    39
    6
    2
See reviews for
124
353
91
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The best bit it's right in the middle of town, along Limmat River - a few minutes walk in one direction and you're on Bahnhofstrasse and a few minutes in the opposite direction and you're at Talstrasse. Excellent breakfast. The staff are attentive and the rooms are clean, well appointed and charming. While the rooms aren't massive, who wants to be indoors when the magic of Zurich is at your doorstep?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Grüezi Natasa B

Thank you for your positive thoughts about your stay, and for sharing them with other travellers and us. I am delighted to know that we met the expectations you had about our hotel and its facilities as well as the services.
And as you say, with the location of ours which you value so much, our guests are encouraged to explore our wonderful city with all its sights at first hand.
Thank you for having been our guest.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Location was great, right in the middle of Zürich and main street with bars and restaurants. Pretty quiet and peaceful. For a 4**** hotel and its price per night I´d have expected some more. Spaces were pretty small and narrow and beds were kids-size. Personnel at the front desk is pretty helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocamawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Grüezi Rocamawer

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your appreciation of the helpfulness of our team members and our location. Most of our guests value this because we are located in the Oldtown Zurich, and most of the major sights as well as lots of restaurants and bars are within a few minutes walking distance.
I regret to read that on the other hand we could not fulfill the expecations you had regarding the building and its interior. The building is an old historical house of Oldtown Zurich, dating back to the middle of the 14th century, and is therefore not a palacial building. The sizes of our beds are 200cm in length and range from 120cm to 200cm in width. We are determined to give our guests the clearest information possible about our hotel features, and they are encouraged to inform themselves on our webpage before making a reservation or travelling to us. Furthermore we also encourage our guests to make a booking directly with us in order to get the best rates and the best rooms.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a 15-20 minute walk from the Zurich train station and in a perfect location. The staff are welcoming and attentive - from the front desk receptionist to the couple who managed the breakfast buffet. The room was spacious, clean and well maintained and best of all quiet. Great bathroom! I would definitely return to this hotel on any future trip to Zurich.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Grüezi Robbin Z

Thank you for having been our guest and for sharing thoughts about your stay with other travellers and us. I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel. Your compliments about the service and friendliness of our team members have been duly passed on.
It is nice to know that you liked the bathroom since all of them have been renovated in the past few years to provide more comfort and quality to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent two nights at the Helmhaus as a weekend getaway (Friday to Sunday). The location was perfect and walking distance from most of the main attractions of the city and surrounding areas. I just wish all hotels would could be like the Helmhaus. Personal, happy, clean, quite and great from all perspectives. High value

Room Tip: Top for is great with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redmen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Grüezi Redmen26

Thank you for taking the opportunity to spend your weekend getaway at our little historical, yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. It is nice to know that we could contribute so well to your comfortable time in Zurich.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel is centrally-located. All staff are professional, empathetic, and kind. Beds felt very comfortable and firm. Sheets were white and crisp. Airline delayed our flight and lost our luggage. When we called Helmhaus to say we'd arrive past midnight, the lady at reception reassured us that our reservation was good and that she'd be there all night. She gave us 2 wi-fi codes (no cost for wifi here.) The following morning, the breakfast hostess made us delicious cappuccinos. Reception called the lost luggage service and translated for us. They let us check out late (3:30p) whilst we waited for luggage that had not yet arrived. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMHO5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Grüezi IMHO5555

Thank you and your travel partner for having been our guests.
Especially when you encounter difficulties such as lost luggage after a flight you want to be well taken care of when it comes to the other aspects of your journey. I am delighted to know that our 24 hour reception and our breakfast hostess could make you relax as best as possible under the circumstance of your lost luggage.
We would look forward to having you staying with us again in the future, hopefully then with the luggage from the very start.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent one night in Helmhaus hotel. From check-in (being greeted with a cup of hot cider) until check-out it was great from all perspectives. The service is very accommodating, friendly and pleasant. The room was spacious enough to accommodate 2 large suitcases and leave enough space. The showers were clean and comfortable. Sleeping was great because the good bed, very good mattresses, comfortable pillows and nice and clean beddings. The only remark I have is a plastic cover under the bed-sheet (most hotels use those) which created a hot feeling at night.
The breakfast was superb: fresh, tasty, good variety and with good service.
The location cannot be better in Zurich. For all purposes, whether you’re on vacation or on a business trip. We even managed to find a convenient parking across the river for a night.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FigaroAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Grüezi FigaroAR

It was nice to having you staying at our little historical Four-Star Hotel Helmhaus in Oldtown Zurich.
I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay and that you appreciated the service and quality provided by our team members and the facilities.
I am sorry to hear that the molleton coverage of the mattress created a hot feeling for you during the night. As you mention correctly most hotels use them, primarily to prevent the mattresses from getting defiled and keep them in the highest hygienic condition for as long as possible. If a guest feels uncomfortable with the molleton he/she is encouraged to contact our front desk to find a solution.
We thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you yourself back as well in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
764 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
739 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
429 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#17 of 139 in Zurich
362 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing