We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Right hotel for any traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 133 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Right hotel for any traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We spent one night in Helmhaus hotel. From check-in (being greeted with a cup of hot cider) until check-out it was great from all perspectives. The service is very accommodating, friendly and pleasant. The room was spacious enough to accommodate 2 large suitcases and leave enough space. The showers were clean and comfortable. Sleeping was great because the good bed, very good mattresses, comfortable pillows and nice and clean beddings. The only remark I have is a plastic cover under the bed-sheet (most hotels use those) which created a hot feeling at night.
The breakfast was superb: fresh, tasty, good variety and with good service.
The location cannot be better in Zurich. For all purposes, whether you’re on vacation or on a business trip. We even managed to find a convenient parking across the river for a night.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FigaroAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Grüezi FigaroAR

It was nice to having you staying at our little historical Four-Star Hotel Helmhaus in Oldtown Zurich.
I am delighted to know that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay and that you appreciated the service and quality provided by our team members and the facilities.
I am sorry to hear that the molleton coverage of the mattress created a hot feeling for you during the night. As you mention correctly most hotels use them, primarily to prevent the mattresses from getting defiled and keep them in the highest hygienic condition for as long as possible. If a guest feels uncomfortable with the molleton he/she is encouraged to contact our front desk to find a solution.
We thank you for recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you yourself back as well in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    203
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
115
324
81
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent two nights at the Helmhaus as a weekend getaway. The location was perfect and walking distance from most of the main attractions of the city.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and modern. Although it would have been nice if there were more options at breakfast, overall we had a fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Grüezi Kate R

Thank you for spending your weekend at our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus and for your appreciation of the quality of our rooms as well as the service and friendliness of our team members who made your stay ‚fantastic‘.
According to our motto „Quality, not Quantity“ also our Swiss Breakfast buffet might not be very extensive and large but it offers a variety of cold and hot Swiss products of highest quality, some of them even self-made or purchased directly from local farmers.

We wish you all the best. Your Helmhaus Managament Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February on the way to skiing. The hotel is small but the rooms are big and the location is perfect. The service is second to none!
Breakfast is of a high quality and no-one went hungry.
We travelled with 2 children and the grandparents so had 2 rooms with a sofa bed in each.
Would not hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmeliainDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Grüezi AmeliainDubai

Thank you and your family for having been our guests in February. We know that travelling with family can be a bit challenging from time to time. Therefore it is nice when everything around you works well so one can enjoy the time with the loved ones. I am delighted to know that you had a good time at our hotel and that everyone of your party felt comfortable.

Thank you for recommending us to others, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Managament Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Fantastic hotel perfect location .very clean and courteous staff .small rooms but very. Well equipped .very nice breakfast .stayed here based on reviews no regrets .close to old town and facing the river .

Room Tip: Perfect location !!close to old town and station .very friendly staff and very courteous .will stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shubha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Grüezi Shubha B

It is nice to know that we could fullfil the high expectations you rightly had based on the other reviews. We are continually anxious to keep up the high standard of our product and the services. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

All the best. Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fantastic! Stay here!!!! I booked this hotel based on reviews and it was perfect in every way!!! Looking forward to staying here again!! Nice staff. Great location. Breakfast was perfect. Everything was great. Nooooooooo complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Grüezi V M

It has been nice having you staying at our little historical yet modern Hotel Helmhaus. What more is there to say than ‚Thank you‘ for your positive feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a ,great and perfect‘ stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Perfect location, warm and friendly staff. Breafast was very fresh and tasty. Although the rooms are too small, they are very functional and well equiped. Will definetely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BAHADIR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Grüezi BAHADIR B

Thank you for having been with us and for sharing your comment with other travellers and us. It is nice to know for us that you had a comfortable stay within the walls of our historical building and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and quality of the rooms as well as the breakfast.
Set within an old and historical oldtown house our double rooms comfort are appr. 20sq m (215sq ft) and our double rooms superior are appr. 25sq m (270 sq ft). In order to get the best rooms and rates we encourage our guests to book directly with us via our homepage, email or telephone. With this we very often can offer discounts, i.e. the 10% Tripadvisor Saver discount.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in February and it was a very pleasant experience. First thing to note is the friendliness and professional manner of the staff. The hotel is small and my room was small also. All the fixtures and fittings were of a high quality and the shower was really nice. But again everything was on the small/cramped side - but maybe I'm used to large corporate hotels too much. My bed was comfortable but again on the smallish side. Breakfast was great and lots of variety to choose from.
The biggest disappointment for me is the lack of tea/coffee/water in the room - but I hear that this is a Swiss issue.. ;-) - that being the biggest disappointment should tell you how overall it was a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dboi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Grüezi Dboi10

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am delighted to know that your stay with our little hotel was a very pleasant experience and that you valued the friendliness and professionality of our team members.
Our hotel is set within an old historical building dating back to the middle of the 14th century and closely connected to the history of Zurich. Therefore it is very important for us to communicate our room sizes and hotel features very detailed to our guests so they know what we offer. We do indeed provide a complimentary tea set up upon request, and our minibar provides still and sparkling water. Since our reception desk is manned 24 hours a day our guests are encouraged to ask for anything they miss, and we do our best to provide it.

Thank you again, and we wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#16 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#9 of 133 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing