We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Helmhaus
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
$219
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$403
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$117
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$298
$282
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$328
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$550
$386
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$147
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (928)
Filter reviews
928 results
Traveler rating
641
237
42
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
641
237
42
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold towngreat locationsmall hotelwithin walking distancewelcome drinkfront desk stafftram stopbreakfast roomcentral locationeach morninghighly recommend this hotelrooms are modernexcellent breakfastdefinitely stay here againcorner roomfirst floorlimmat river
Filter
Updating list...
603 - 608 of 928 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was a great small hotel in an indeal location near the heart of Zurich and very close to the beautiful lake. The staff service was impecible and very friendly and were always on hand to help with questions and make the stay as easy and comformtable as possible. I will defintely be staying there again when I return to Zurich.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVN738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Grüezi BVN1973

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and that you especially valued the helpfulness of our team to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to one of the most historical hotels of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

As soon as we walked in i knew we picked a winner. The staff was very friendly and even offered us a welcome glass of wine. Although it was only 11am we got our room right away. It was very clean and spacious. My wife and I arrived by train and went to the tourist information center at the train station(highly recommended). They mapped it for us and it was a fairly easy 10 to 15 minute walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonzoCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Grüezi BonzoCT

Thank you very much for having been our guests. To know that our colleagues at the tourist information at the train station highly recommended us and you found your expectations met is a big compliment for us.

We wish you both all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The staff was exceptional. They provided directions to places to see and restaurants to check out. They made sure our every need was cared for. They were super friendly and caring. They made arrangements for us to have breakfast well before the opening hours knowing we were leaving early and had our transportation to the airport ready and waiting. The rooms were very large, clean and modern. The beds; best night of sleep! The location is very good, everything is within walking distance and right in the middle of the "action". Highly recommend this hotel. Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bean06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Grüezi Bean06

It is nice to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here in Zurich in in our little Hotel Helmhaus. We are delighted to read that you especially valued the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members – something which cannot be really trained.
If you are seeking a very good sleep again in Zurich, we would be glad to welcoming you back to our historical, yet modern hotel.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

When you walk into a hotel room and your wife says 'Oh thats lovely' you can be pretty sure you are onto a winner. Hotel Helmhaus is a winner on all counts. A beautiful room, comfortable beds, large shower, safe, TV, obliging staff, and an excellent breakfast - fruit, cereals, eggs,bacon,hams,cheeses, everything,- and all served with imagination and panache.
Reception were charming, knowledgeable, and helpful, and when I asked to swop the duvets for a sheets and a blanket (we find duvets too hot) the duvets were replaced and the beds remade within 10 minutes of asking.
Zurich is a sizzling, sophisticated, spectacular city, and Helmhaus Hotel is ideally situated to enjoy restaurants, shopping, and lake-side walks, all just a few minutes stroll away.
Everywhere is expensive and you need to budget an increase of at least 25% on top of the price you might pay in a like for like venue in the UK. Nevertheless all the restaurants and bars are busy, and there is an air of happy affluence everywhere - particularly amongst the young.
Neiderdorfstrasse, running parallel to the river, is the night-time 'happening' place in the old town, and is lined with restaurants, bars, and a few naughty cabaret clubs. A bit too obviously touristy! After a few experimental lunches we settled for Weisser Wind, Oberdorfstrasse 20 (just behind Helmhaus Hotel and recommended in Rough Guide). It is not an atmospheric restaurant but you will enjoy brilliantly cooked Swiss Specialities (both meat and fish) with well priced wine served by professional waiters. From Zurich we took the 40 minute train journey to Lucerne, and also visited Rapperswil, a two hour boat trip on Lake Zurich.
Behind the minster (Grossmunster) is Kunsthaus Art Gallery which is the finest gallery I have visited outside of Paris. Also - take a tram up to the Zoo, which is great day out with an excellent buffet lunch in the on-site cafe. Before our 5 day visit to Zurich we spent 9 days in Interlaken (see Hotel Rossli) and our whole experience of Switzerland is one of courtesy and charm, and the most efficient bus/tram/train system in Europe, and probably the cleanest public toilets in the world. Helmhaus Hotel was recommended in Rough Guide, and booked through hotels.com who handled the booking detail with their usual competence.
We stayed at Helmhaus 3rd - 8th September; 2012. Room cost for bed and breakfast aprox £200 per night. Faultless. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on a higher floor to avoid noise from the 3 - 4 am 'shouters' returning from their alcohol fuelled night of fun.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deegeestorywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Grüezi deegeestorywrtiter

Thank you for having been guests in our little historical Hotel Helmhaus. It is nice to read that you enjoyed your time with us and in Zurich and surroundings overall. Being in the heart of Oldtown Zurich brings with it a lively night life but our sound-proof windows keep the most noise outside and ensure a comfortable sleep.
Zurich has lots to offer and lots to explore for guests travel to our city, and then it is important to ensure a comfortable stay in their hotel.
We are glad we could achieve that for you and made you feeling „home away from home“.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel Helmhaus.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed there Sept.6-9 2012. Staff were wonderfully accommodating. They all spoke perfect english which made it easy for this unilingual traveller. The room was not the largest but very clean and modern with large opening windows although a bit noisy until 11-11:30 in the evening. The bathroom was large and modern. Breakfast was pleasant and tasty. Wifi worked very well. Great location in the middle of the Old Town, with many restaurants, bistro's and shops all with in walking distance. Main train station a comfortable 15 minute walk away. I would highly recommend for leisure or business !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honey1Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Grüezi Honey1Canada

Thank you for your recent stay with one of the most historical hotels of Zurich. It is nice to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. A language barrier can be frustrating and hampering when on vacation therefore your valuation of the efficiency of our team is much appreciated.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews