We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Helmhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Helmhaus
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great location, great staff”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It was wonderful (although Zurich is really expensive :) )

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smccune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Grüezi smccune

Thank you for your stay, it is nice to know that you and your company enjoyed a wonderful time in our little and traditional yet modern Hotel Helmhaus and in Zurich.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    218
    37
    6
    2
See reviews for
123
346
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was my second stay; perfect location, squeaky clean, comfy bed, no noise, great full English breakfast buffet. Rooms are a reasonable size, and a compact hotel has many advantages. Also free Wi-fi, TV with CNBC & Bloomberg. Why spend three times as much for less? I have stayed at all the luxury hotel in Zurich at some point or another but will stay at Helmhaus from now on. The ony downside is lack of room service, but Kronenhalle is a few minutes' away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MatureBusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Grüezi MatureBusinessTravel
Nice to know that we could convince you during your first stay with our service and that we could welcome you a second time. Thank you for sharing your positive thoughts, it shows us that with our newly refurbished facilities and our promise of „Quality, not Quantity“ we can reach business guests and private travellers alike.

It would be nice to welcome you back in the future to our small and traditional hotel, and we wish you all the best!

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
299 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Helmhaus. The location was perfect, literally a few paces away from a tram stop and to the river with great views of the city. Rooms were spotless and the people were top notch, very welcoming and friendly. Thanks to Andre, Anja, Bakusa, Mario for the tips and the nice birthday treat! We would definitely be looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Grüezi chris_explorer

Thank you for your positive feedback, it is nice to read that you had an enjoyable time with us. „Feeling home away from home“ is what we want to achieve for our guests.

All the best for you and your wife, and we look foward to see you again at one of the oldest and most traditional hotels in Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Visited again after 1 year and this hotel was even better. Excellent room, really good service, friendly staff and a great visit from start to finish. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Grüezi sunny126

It is nice to read that you stayed with us again after one year and that you enjoyed your time even more – thank you very much for both.
At the end of February we have just finished the last step of the extensive renovation works which we have conducted between 2010 and 2012.
Our guests appreciating our efforts and welcoming them back are the best compliments we could get.

We wish you all the best.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel was in easy access to the public transportation system. The hotel staff was just wonderful! Very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, and the bathroom was probably the best I've seen in a hotel. The staff was very kind to let us keep our luggage stored past checkout. Great location, close to everything. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Grüezi b p

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
After extensive renovations in January and February 2012 you were the first ones to enjoy the newly done bathroom in your room. Your positive opinion about it shows us that our efforts have paid off and that we have met our credo of „Quality, not Quantity“.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you again to the smallest and most centrally located Four-Star hotel of Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here last winter during a 3 day break with my wife. The staff are very friendly and helpful, as they are all over the city, and the location is superb for sightseeing and for evening entertainment. However, the room was very small and we paid A LOT of money for the privilege. Having said that, we didn't have any major complaints and loved our trip despite almost breaking the bank in the process!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rorski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Grüezi Rorski1

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Our Hotel Helmhaus is a small boutique hotel in the oldtown of Zurich with its small medieval houses and guildhalls. Having a hotel in one of those wonderful, traditional and historic buildings puts restrictions on the size of the rooms. But we encourage every guest to visit our homepage or to contact the hotel directly to inform themselves about our rooms.

We wish you all the best for the new year.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

These are the outstanding qualities of this hotel, which is a tiny hotel extremely well located, at walking distance from almost any touristic location in Zurich. We never walked more than 20 minutes (how good is Zurich to walk when you can not do it in your own home town). The hotel is basically a place to sleep,and to have breakfast before heading out, but it has this nice feeling of welcomeness as you get in.The rooms are tiny, as well as the bathroom, but very clean. The breakfast (included in my case) was a very assorted buffet with mainly healthy food (of course you will find scrambled eggs and bacons), but fruits, yogurts and cereals are there waiting for you. Just in front of the hotel there is a small boulevard which is your starting point to either start walking Zurich, or if you prefer, take the tram. The public transportation in Switzerland is outstanding, and in my opinion you don't even need to take a taxi to move around (in fact we did not take one single cab)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar Rojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmhaus, General Manager at Hotel Helmhaus, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Grüezi Oscar Rojas

Thank you for having been our guests, it is nice to know that you had a good time in Zurich, and that it was even more enjoyable by staying in our little Hotel Helmhaus. Lots of our guests value the location and the closeness to the most major sights.
Even if one spends only the night and breakfast time in a hotel, this attributes a lot to the comfort of a guest's stay. We are glad that we have achieved this for you.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future to one of the most historic and traditional hotels in Zurich.

Your Helmhaus Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 139 in Zurich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helmhaus

Property: Hotel Helmhaus
Address: Schifflaende 30, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zurich
#7 Business Hotel in Zurich
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helmhaus 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look forward to Zurich’s smallest and most centrally located hotel. Each of our 24 rooms has just recently been completely renovated. A high quality design interior, comfortable bathrooms in warm colours, an individually adjustable air condition system for the summer time and new sound-proof windows promise a relaxing sleep.At the Hotel Helmhaus history and modern comfort connect in a remarkable way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Helmhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmhaus Swiss Quality zürich
Hotel Helmhaus Swiss Quality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing