We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food, very nice service”
Review of Vallocaia

Vallocaia
Ranked #180 of 1,946 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $92
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, very nice service”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was looking for a place in the Niederdorf to have a spontaneous dinner with a friend and from all the options this seemed to be the most attractive and I'm happy to say we were right. Nice atmosphere, excellent service. The portions are big, which is not common in Switzerland. I couldn't finish all the dishes. Even the dessert portion was large enough for two people. I would definitely come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toret8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    79
    29
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal, Québec
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A little piece of Italy in the heart of Zurich”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived in Zurich shortly before noon and saw the lovely terrace of the Vallocaia restaurant, right in front of our hotel (Platzhirsch). We walked around for a while, but were lured back by the polpete on the lunch menu. It was an excellent choice. The meatballs were large and juicy. They were served with a starter of grilled vegetables.

During this first meal, I noticed that the restaurant had “bistecca alla Fiorentina” on its evening menu. After two weeks of roësti and cheese, we were looking for a little variety so on our second day in Zurich, we went back to the Vallocaia and asked the manager if his bistecca was really made with chianina meat from Tuscany. He guaranteed it was, so we made dinner reservations. It was an excellent meal, which brought back fond memories of our last trip to Italy. The steak is a huge piece of meat, approximately 1 kilo for two. It looked enormous, but we didn’t leave a single bite and we would have munched on the bones if we were not in a public place! It was served with a large plate of vegetables. We ended this perfect meal with a glass of grappa. Viva Italia!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb Italian cuisine, Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

First of all this is on a good little platz with indoor and outdoor dining. If you go to see the Grosse Munster church, you can end your walk here with a fab lunch or a divine dinner. We had such a good meal here. First the atmosphere/decor is artistically chic and at the same time homey. The service is top notch, these are waiters and waitresses with training. Their management should be proud. The food - absolutely if an Italian mamma set it in front of your herself. Some of the best - melt in your mouth - gnocchi I ever tasted. Fabulous quality food. Good italian wines. We had their cream tart which was the perfect ending to an utterly perfect meal. Congratulations Ristorante Vallocaia.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside AZ
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Vallocaia is a very nice Ristorante. I has both indoor and outdoor seating. The staff is attentive without being interruptive. The food is Execellent. Within walking distance of the main train station and lots of transportation nearby. My wife and I had dinner here on our last night of a 15 day trip to Europe, this was one of the best meals we had on the entire trip and very romantic. If you are in Zurich please go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tourist trap - charge for tap water, overpriced food and bad service”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Liguria is one of the many Italian restaurants in heart of Zurich.

During summer months they have outdoors seating, and it is a great place to sit down and watch the world go by on Niederdorf street.

However food is not very good. Waiters will try to upsell you to one their "fresh fish" options, which in addition to not being very good are highly overpriced.

Service was some of the worst I have seen in Zurich. Waitstaff was not attentive, and tried to charge us for tap water (4 CHF a glass) even after pointing this out to them, and confirming that it was indeed tap water, they defended their point by saying that they have to charge for a drink as well, and since we didn't have wine we had to pay for our tap water.

If you happen to be in Zurich skip this place, and go to one of the many descent Italian restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vallocaia also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Vallocaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing