We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Very overpriced.”
Review of Hotel Rossli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rossli
Ranked #53 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wow. Very overpriced.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

First things first: if you're travelling on business, then don't stay here. The rooms only have a tiny desk, and it is extremely noisy as this hotel is situated above a loud bar.

Secondly, if you're traveling for pleasure: the beds and room decor in general would be fine in a low-price hotel or hostel, but considering the prices here, the standard is way too low - everything is very basic. I guess maybe you are paying that money for being in the location near the centre of town.

We left to go to another hotel, which was cheaper and substantially better in all respects (the Swissotel).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwjnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor! We are very sorry that our hotel has not satisfied your expectations as a 3-Star Hotel and you did not stay with us!!! We take your criticisms seriously and will discuss your points on our next team-meeting.

Best regards

Your Rössli-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    113
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
90
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Jooloos and I began our June trip to Swizerland with an overnight stay at the roessli which came with a good review and recommendation from the Telegraph travel section. First off, access to the hotel is difficult. We drove past and decided to lug our bags from the not so nearby car park. Our room was on the top floor, a suite with rooftop terrace. Again, access not great as the tiny lift stopped one floor below ours - was beginning to wish that jooloos hadn't packed the concrete blocks this time (she never uses them)
Once in our room , I can only say ...odd! Very, very hot with low ceiling and no airconditioning (the Swiss don't believe in it). A secret trapdoor decended from the ceiling and a metal ladder drops down to access the terrace. Not much up there really and not very well maintained. Jooloos said her mum wouldn't make it up the ladder - just as well we didn't bring her then! Still, a reasonable view and we were able to leave the hatch open all night to provide some welcome cooling (still hot though). Some noise from the bar below (they do provide earplugs) but it was the heat that prevented a good night's sleep overall.
Didn't fancy the breakfast so ate out in the morning.
Overall we were a little disappointed, especially at this price. The location (once you are there) is good with the city being easily accessible on foot. The roof terrace is odd. Very odd, and not accessible to everyone, jooloo's mum included, apparently.
Wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin M, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Jooloo!

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor and your praise about the good location of our Hotel. We agree with you that it is not easy to drive in Zurich and the access to our Hotel which is in the pedestrian area of the old town, is difficult. We are also very sorry that we cannot offer air conditioning to our clients, because our building is a listed building from the 30ies therefore it is forbidden to install air conditioning in retrospect. But we know that it is quite hot in our rooms during the summer months July and August, therefore all our rooms are equipped with a fan. We will also discuss the maintenance of our terrace with our Housekeeping Manager and we are sad that Jooloo’s mum could not have access to the terrace and enjoy the nice view.

We are very sorry again for the inconvenience you had suffered and hope that we will find a room which is more suitable for you for your next stay - maybe in the cooler months.

Best regards

Your Rössli-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Disgusting and noisy. Dirty, greasy bathroom floor. Slippers that look like they've been used a lot. One towel for two people. Popular bar below hotel has a lot of noise which travels through the hotel and into the rooms, double glazing doesn't help the noise. Bar patrons have access to all rooms. Location in Zurich is great. I stayed in some terrible hotels and a lot for five star places. Rossli hotel should be rated 2 star, max.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welltraveledkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roessli, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast

Danke für Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns und dass Sie sich Zeit für einen Kommentar bei tripadvisor genommen haben. Wir bedauern sehr, dass die Sauberkeit in Ihrem Zimmer nicht in Ordnung war. Dies entspricht nicht unserem Standard als 3-Sterne Haus. Vielen Dank für Ihren Hinweis, den wir umgehend an unsere Hausdame weitergeleitet und geändert haben. Es freut uns trotzdem sehr, dass Ihnen die Lage unseres Hotels gefallen hat – vielleicht schauen Sie wieder einmal bei uns vorbei? Wir freuen uns darauf!

Freundliche Grüsse

Ihr Rössli-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
348 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Located in the old town, near nice restaurants and pedestrian shopping. The hotel is a small boutique hotel which is perfectly fine, clean, and safe. But nothing fancy. Pick it if the price/value equation works for you, and you are not looking for full service/treatment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here and spent over $700 per night for one of the suite rooms the hotel pictures in its website. Zurich is very expensive compared to other cities and it was less than getting two rooms at a traditional hotel. Well, you get what you pay for. We arrived very jet lagged and found the taxi had no access to the hotel and no one was available to help with bags so we had to drag our bags (skis etc) up a cobblestone hill to the hotel. We left the luggage and stumbled off to get a meal. When the room became ready we were given a key to another building and told still no one could help us with the bags. We pulled them across the street and then had to take them down a stair to an elevator which could hold one person and a suitcase. After managing that we found the elevator only brought the bags to the floor below so up further we went.

The room was very strange. The bed downstairs was a single. The second bed was a cot set up by a metal airplane style staircase in the living area. It was beside the television - not alot of privacy. There were no closets for four except the closet in the hall and hangars for a few coats - no place to put luggage except on the floor.

Upstairs was a double in a room shaped like a triangle. No one tall could get into half the room but the lights (balls)were on the floor so we had to crawl in to turn them on. Again, no place for luggage, no closet, no drawers. The bed was fine but one person had to be careful sitting up. To bring a medium sized suitcase up the staircase was a dangerous idea so we just all dressed in the bath downstairs.

Breakfast was okay - typical European fare but nothing extraordinary. The staff were pleasant though not a baggage help to be found. We had to ask for pillows, towels, coffee etc.

I cannot speak for the whole place, but the top floor annex building room is really for one or two people or maybe college kids, but not a good choice for a family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flit_Wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roessli, Manager at Hotel Rossli, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor and your praise about our breakfast staff. We are very sorry that you did not like our Appartment Suite. We know that the Hotels in Europe have the smaller rooms than in the US, because we have also smaller buildings and the Hotel Rössli is a historic old town house and therefore the rooms are not as spacious as you may expect. Our apartment suite is 100 square meters which is quite big for a hotel room, but we agree that you do not have a lot of privacy and a big cupboard to put in your cloth, because most of our guests are business people or weekend travellers and they do not have a lot of luggage. Regarding the luggage service we normally help people to bring the luggage to the room if they wish, but we do not have a porter, because we are a 3-star with only 27 rooms. We are very sorry again for the inconvenience you had suffered and hope that we will find a room which is more suitable for your family for your next stay.

Best regards

Your Rössli-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

The location of the Hotel Roessli was fantastic. Nestled in the old town of Zurich with access to Zurich HB (main station), public transport and some great little cafes and bars. Don't bother getting a cab from the trainstation to the hotel as the tram takes just 5 minutes and is a 1/4 of the price. The staff were very friendly and the rooms very clean. Excellent value for money and I will definitely be back when I return to Zurich.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Old Town
Altstadt Hotel
Altstadt Hotel
#103 of 139 in Zurich
103 reviews
Old Town
Hotel California
Hotel California
#84 of 139 in Zurich
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#50 of 139 in Zurich
160 reviews
Old Town
KINDLI Hotel
KINDLI Hotel
#73 of 139 in Zurich
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rossli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rossli

Property: Hotel Rossli
Address: Roessligasse 7, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Zurich
#34 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#40 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rossli 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casually luxurious, modern and historically protected, this property gives visitors to Zurich a taste of the old, a twist of the new and a whole lot of charm. Also the 27 guestrooms connect old with new in a fascinating way and are characterized by lovingly and uniquely designed furniture and love to detail. Contemporary pieces of art of different painters underline the historic ambience. The hotel makes guests feel they are the only guest in the hotel, both in style and service. Located in the historical area of Zurich, a short walk from Bellevue square as well as the Kunsthaus, just within one reach of the busy financial centre and surrounded by few of the best and most interesting restaurant and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre, nightlife and shopping. Ideal for both: the active and culturally curious guest and the business guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rossli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roessli Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing