We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place near the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lady's First Design Hotel
Ranked #16 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place near the lake”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We wanted a hotel near the city centre but away from the traffic and noise. This was the choice. It is in an old renovated house. Our room on the third floor had a glimpse of the lake. The floor was a bit sloping as this was a very old house. The bed was excellent. Breakfast good. Tram stop just a couple of blocks away and the same distance to the lake. There is good sized safe in the room.

Room Tip: The sloping floor, about 1 degree inclination) can be troublesome. I wonder why they did not take ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shree50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    210
    49
    8
    7
See reviews for
81
183
81
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Loved our experience here!
The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood several minutes from the centre by tram.
Staff were super friendly, the beds were comfortable, the rooms large, the shower was pampering and breakfast was pleasingly Swiss.
I'd stay here again the next time I'm in wonderful Zurich.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomipiace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice simple hotel in a pleasant area close to the lake. A bit unusual glass wall bathroom built in a room but works ok. Wooden floors might be a bit noisy. Breakfast buffet is sufficient. The staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansStockholmSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely. But it would be nice if they had some time for men to use the upstairs facilities. Be considerate of other guests - the floorboards are creaky. Location good, walking distance from town, also frequent trams.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Merlin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for business occasions as the hotel is near an office and the lake! The building has full of characters; nice mixture of old (historical sense) and new. Very quiet and so I could sleep very well until some other guests come back middle of the night with some noise...
As the building is from a good old time, the sound insulation is not like the top-quality modern buildings.
Yet, the hotel is aware of the noise issue and so they ask guests nicely to keep quiet as much as possible. I personally think that this is simply up to guests' manner and I appreciated that the hotel tried to do everything to ensure good stay for their guests.

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay at Lady's First Design hotel and enjoyed my morning lake-side jogging during my stay.

Another point I would like address as a nice part of this hotel (and probably many places in Switzerland);
I left my belongings in a safe-box... simply forgot that I had some stuffs there.
But the hotel rang me within a few hours and informed me that I left my belongings in a safe-box.
Fortunately, I was staying few more nights in other part of Zurich and so I could go back to pick them up... they kept my belongings until the evening. Thank you!

It is sad to say as I liked my stay at this hotel but, I have not returned to this hotel again as I notice the rate went up dramatically... (but this is Zurich... what can I say...?)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinka_ilmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady's First Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady's First Design Hotel

Property: Lady's First Design Hotel
Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#24 Business Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady's First Design Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Lady's First Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing