We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of LADYs FIRST Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LADYs FIRST Hotel
Ranked #14 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I spent a night at the Lady's First over the weekend and for the money (I paid $223) the experience felt mediocre. Pros? I loved the neighborhood (the Italian restaurant across the street was expensive but lovely, the walk to the lake so easy, and getting around by tram pretty convenient). The front desk staff was pleasant but not terribly knowledgeable about the area. My room was clean (and a request to change from the room reserved, which was shower-only, to one with a tub, was met and handled beautifully). I liked the view (onto a courtyard with some pretty interesting apartments to look at)! Internet was free and worked well.

Cons. There's no airconditioning. I don't even want to think about what my stifling room would feel like in July when it felt, well, stifling, in April. I also thought the rooms were odd, sort of depressing color schemes (a tomato soup red wall with brown and black curtains). The Lux bottle of shampoo that's in a dispenser in the bathroom was empty. You have to pay, even as a guest of the hotel, to use the spa's relaxation facility (the rooftop, I mean) and it's off-limits to men.

Zurich's a tough town for hotels (expensive) but I don't think I'd go back to this one, and would probably be more willing, as a result, to ante up a little extra cash for a four star property.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 638 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

for years we used to stay at rutli hotel in the old city, we decided to try lady's first which was much more expensive and in inferior location, we did not find it as adequate substitution to the rutli hotel. Charge of 20sf for the sauna was not indicated in the publication.

Room Tip: try to upgrade for superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amiramJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at the Lady's First, while on business in Zurich, I found this hotel and staff a Great Discovery. the staff and service were excellent, friendly, and made you feel comfortable.

By the way Men are welcomed.

The hotel is an old building, so well constructed and therefore the rooms were very quiet and you heard no sounds from the other rooms.

I felt very relaxed and comfortable.

The hotel is very clean and the beds were comfortable.

I highly recommend this hotel.

The location is about a block and half from the Lake, great location.

Room Tip: Request the upper floors, 3 rd floor, quiet. I had a Std Double, plenty of room for 1 to 2 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank currency24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Total neglect on the part of management. They have heard complaints for years about the squeeky floors - old wooden boards - no padding, no rugs. It is really outreagous. We didn't even consider staying longer than one night. We heard every move of the person above us getting ready to go out and wearing high heel shoes. We couldn't complain after 11 p:m because there is nobody at the front desk after that hour. Go at your own discretion but bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Top floor only because lower floors have someone moving above you on very, very noisy squeeky floorb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turnstile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Lady's first is without doubt run to perfection. We arrived to the hotel at 8.30am after a 13 hour flight (with two young children)thinking we would be leaving our bags and trying to entertain them for hours. Instead we were greeted with news of our room being ready. BLISS! The room was fantastic, the breakfast was absolutely delightful and we were blown away with how wonderful and prompt the staff were. We found the location to be exceptionally convenient, quiet yet central and the staff we genuinely warm and welcoming, we would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Kristian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Located walking-distance to the older section of Zürich and also only two small streets to the lake and water-side promenade, this hotel is a great value. It is also walking distance to the opera house and shopping. The room is small-ish and clean with high ceilings and the decor a modern twist in an older building. The lobby has a fireplace and modern furniture, which is nice to sit by. Front-desk service is professional, and the breakfast is healthy and has a good variety. Wooden floors are a little creaky, so you can hear your neighbours coming, but we would certainly stay here again. The bowls of apples in the hallways are also great for a late-night snack. The pillows were comfy and individualized duvets were cozy and warm.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al-Flaherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Nothing so special about it. We were forced to take a superior room because we wanted twin beds. There was nothing superior about it. Nothing design in it. And just a shower. Good experience but this hotel is overrated online.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisg710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 137 in Zurich
832 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,293 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 137 in Zurich
837 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 137 in Zurich
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LADYs FIRST Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LADYs FIRST Hotel

Address: Mainaustrasse 24, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#17 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#24 Business Hotel in Zurich
#30 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $148 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LADYs FIRST Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your LADYs FIRST Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady`s 1st Design Hotel
Ladys First Design zürich
Hotel Ladys First Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing