We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Ranked #31 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've stayed in!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed in and we've stayed in a lot! The lake facing room was light, large and quiet, even though the main lakeside road was below. The staff were extremely helpful and helped to make us feel special during our short stay. The location is excellent and it's possible to walk to most places in the city centre. We'd recommend buying the city card as this gives free transport over a wide area (including from the airport) as well as free entry to all the main tourist sites.

If you're looking for a break in Zurich, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Lakeside room was worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank techman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia E, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your marvellous review! We highly appreciate your kind words and I am happy to share your comments with my team.

We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime soon.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Claudia Egli
Hotel Manager & Bellerive Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    213
    66
    28
    12
See reviews for
77
241
28
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We're starting our Christmas vacation in Zurich and we wanted a place that was on the lake and convenient to the city's sites but away from all the touristy traffic.

This hotel has great service, comfy beds and beautiful views.

The staff is very friendly and greet you in english or german or french depending on your preference.

Will always stay here when we are in Zurich.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bradley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Everything is expensive in Zurich -- but given the relative costs, this is a good choice. It is very quiet and peaceful. Rooms are good sized. Toilet and Bath/Shower were separate which was excellent for 2 friends traveling together. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Hard to find -- entrance locate between two auto dealers! But across the street from the lake and near a tram line (well, okay, everyplace is near a tram line in Zurich). But my friends who stayed at the Marriott had a hard time as it was noisy with very small rooms and we were very glad we stayed at the Bellerive au Lac.
Cons: Twin beds are a double bed that slides apart about 6 inches -- so the beds are close together. If you don't splurge on a view room, there is no view but that did not bother us.

Room Tip: If you don't get a view room, then ask for a room higher up as our 3rd floor room overlooked som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very pleasant business stay here in November. It's about a 30 minute drive from the airport outside rush-hour. Reception is clean, efficient and friendly. Rooms are modern - very spacious and not wanting for anything (even have a pillow menu, heated bathroom floors). Room service was exceptionally quick and the food was really good. Breakfast room is quite spectacular -on the first floor overlooking the lake. Breakfast itself presents many different types of food and many tasty-looking hotel specialities.
The only downside to this hotel is it's free wifi - great that it's free but the service provided was not strong enough to use it for work purposes so it would have been better if it was not there at all. The people attending our meeting wasted so much time trying to connect to a service that could not deliver.
Wifi aside, this is a friendly, clean, modern hotel that has excellent service, food, staff and beautifully located.

Room Tip: Request a lake view but I don't imagine you'll be disappointed with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinfiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location on the quieter side of the lakefront is ideal. Away from the most crowded area, only a short walk to everything. An old world building with renovated modern rooms and lobby, we didn't pay extra for a lake view but had a large, quiet room with a fantastic marble bathroom (huge, well lit, heated floor, shower curtain!) and outfitted walk-in closet. Breakfast was an elegant, generous affair overlooking the lake. The only detraction is the odd entrance, a small doorway in the middle of two large auto showrooms. Check in looks like a car rental counter, and is not welcoming in any way. Service is not utmost in this property, but location,room and breakfast make it a top choice without the need for a Swiss bank account.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanieBBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback about your stay with us. It helps us to continuously improve our services.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room and the breakfast.
Admittedly our main entrance is partly hidden by the Showrooms; we are currently seeking for an improvement in this matter.
We hope that you will visit us again at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac.
In the meanwhile we wish you all the best.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were welcomed by two young ladies with their in-house delicacy made with horse-raddish and beet. It was very presentable and tempting . They made us feel very welcomed and our stay was indeed very comfortable. They have a very convenient location adjacent to Audi showroom. You can take tram # 4 to reach here. They also have an excellent spread of breakfast every morning... loved their sundried picked tomatoes. We even dined at their restaurant which also turned out to be very good. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Zurich. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the lake. The view were amazing. To our surprise, we also found a complimentary fruit tray with personalized welcome card in our room.

Danke...Merci GM. Please convey our sincere thanks to the two ladies and all others - restaurant staff, housekeeping staff as well... for making our stay so pleasnt and memorable!

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiBinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you very much for the kind comment you wrote us on tripadvisor.com
It is a big pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and certainly will forward your compliments to our front office and whole staff. We are glad that you liked our breakfast and rooms and always seek to keep up our high standards.
We truly hope to welcome you back at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac and wish you in the meanwhile all the best.

With best regards
Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The lobby is a little small and not quite as bright as it could be, but the rooms are spacious, clean and well-laid-out. We found the staff very helpful; really going out of their way to ensure we were happy. The view of the lake from our room was stunning at sunset, and the small balcony was a nice touch.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jonathan
Thank you for writing us a feedback of your stay on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your opinion and value your time.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and like your room. Certainly we will also forward your compliments to our staff.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac.
In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 139 in Zurich
374 reviews
Seefeld
Eden Au Lac
Eden Au Lac
#27 of 139 in Zurich
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Opera Zurich
#52 of 139 in Zurich
328 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
760 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Property: Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Address: Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#12 Green Hotel in Zurich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Lake Zürich and just a 5 minutes' walk from Sechseläutenplatz and the opera house, Hotel Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac boasts a prime location in Zürich. The main train station is about 15 minutes away on foot. The 51 rooms and suites in Art Deco style provide a distinctive ambience. Room comforts include an air circulation system, soundproofed windows, bathrobe and slippers, minibar, a flatscreen TV, radio, work desk and safe. Highlights WiFi (complimentary), generous breakfast buffet, à-la-carte restaurant with terrace and Swiss "Four-Country" cuisine as well as other international specialties, bar, lounge, salon with view of Lake Zürich, spa with sauna and fitness gym, 7 conference rooms for up to 70 people By booking a superior room lake view, a junior suite or the grand suite, you will receive a free ZürichCARD per person upon arrival. Benefit for 24 hours from free use of the public transports of Zurich and the surrounding area, free or reduced entry to most of Zurich's museums and many more reductions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Bellerive Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing