We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice in Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Ranked #30 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location on the quieter side of the lakefront is ideal. Away from the most crowded area, only a short walk to everything. An old world building with renovated modern rooms and lobby, we didn't pay extra for a lake view but had a large, quiet room with a fantastic marble bathroom (huge, well lit, heated floor, shower curtain!) and outfitted walk-in closet. Breakfast was an elegant, generous affair overlooking the lake. The only detraction is the odd entrance, a small doorway in the middle of two large auto showrooms. Check in looks like a car rental counter, and is not welcoming in any way. Service is not utmost in this property, but location,room and breakfast make it a top choice without the need for a Swiss bank account.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanieBBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Bellerive Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback about your stay with us. It helps us to continuously improve our services.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room and the breakfast.
Admittedly our main entrance is partly hidden by the Showrooms; we are currently seeking for an improvement in this matter.
We hope that you will visit us again at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac.
In the meanwhile we wish you all the best.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 663 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were welcomed by two young ladies with their in-house delicacy made with horse-raddish and beet. It was very presentable and tempting . They made us feel very welcomed and our stay was indeed very comfortable. They have a very convenient location adjacent to Audi showroom. You can take tram # 4 to reach here. They also have an excellent spread of breakfast every morning... loved their sundried picked tomatoes. We even dined at their restaurant which also turned out to be very good. I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Zurich. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the lake. The view were amazing. To our surprise, we also found a complimentary fruit tray with personalized welcome card in our room.

Danke...Merci GM. Please convey our sincere thanks to the two ladies and all others - restaurant staff, housekeeping staff as well... for making our stay so pleasnt and memorable!

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiBinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you very much for the kind comment you wrote us on tripadvisor.com
It is a big pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and certainly will forward your compliments to our front office and whole staff. We are glad that you liked our breakfast and rooms and always seek to keep up our high standards.
We truly hope to welcome you back at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac and wish you in the meanwhile all the best.

With best regards
Christian Dangel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The lobby is a little small and not quite as bright as it could be, but the rooms are spacious, clean and well-laid-out. We found the staff very helpful; really going out of their way to ensure we were happy. The view of the lake from our room was stunning at sunset, and the small balcony was a nice touch.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Jonathan
Thank you for writing us a feedback of your stay on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your opinion and value your time.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and like your room. Certainly we will also forward your compliments to our staff.
It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac.
In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was shocked to find on my arrival that the ground floor of the hotel is now an Audi dealership with the lobby squeezed between the two new car showrooms. It got worse from there. The hotel is not air-conditioned, the bell staff is non-existent, the in house management staff is rude and arrogant and the whole place stinks of mediocrity.

The hotel would not refund one night of a three night up front payment when my travel plans changed and worse yet, did not utter a single word of sympathy when my wife was hospitalized for an abdominal problem. They were the coldest bunch of people I have ever encountered in 40 years of travel around the world.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and at the prices they're charging, there are dozens of other hotels in Zurich that are a better value.

Room Tip: The rooms with lake views are noisy and the rooms at the back of the hotel offer nothing more than s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Tom
Thank you for your feedback and that you have spent time to write a review about your stay with us. It helps us to continuously improve our service.
We are sorry to hear that you have experienced these circumstances during your stay. Please be ensured that we will clarify this with our employees as this does not meet our standards. We do hope that your wife is well up and you had a save trip home.
It is true that for environment protection reason we do not have an air conditioning in the hotel, but an air-circulation system which ensures an adequate temperature in the rooms but will not cool them down as much as an air conditioner.
As you had booked a non-refundable and non-cancellable special discounted rate unfortunately we did not have the option to refund the last night.
Once again we sincerely apologize that you were dissatisfied with our hotel and service and do hope you will give us a second chance to welcome you back.
In the meantime we wish you all the best.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel with a lakeside location and next door to an Audi showroom is a lovely hotel. Easily accessible by tram nr. 4 from the main station. The reception staff were very friendly and welcomed us with a welcome drink. The room we had was a standard room with a view of surrounding buildings. The room was very spacious and a spacious bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Music played in the corridors you don't hear in the rooms. A good stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013
Google Translation

Lieber Bellerive Gast
Vielen Dank das Sie sich die Zeit genommen uns zu bewerten. Nur durch das Feedback unserer Gäste ist es uns möglich unsere Leistung kontinuierlich zu steigern.
Wir freuen uns sehr, dass es Ihnen so gut im Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac gefallen hat und leiten Ihr Kompliment gern an unser Team weiter.
Wir würden uns sehr freuen Sie in naher Zukunft wieder begrüssen zu dürfen und wünschen Ihnen bis dahin alles Gute.
Mit freundlichen Grüssen vom schönen Zürichsee
Christian Dangel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our expectations where all met. The room was clean & spacious. We stayed in a junior suite & was given a corner room with 3 french doors with balconies. Great views of the lake & city center. Walking distance to everything. We went to 5 different countries & booked a junior suite in all the hotels & this is the only hotel that delivered to our suite expectations.

Room Tip: defenitely a junior suite. We had room #309, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joCb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Bellerive Guest
Thank you for spending time writing us a review on tripadvisor.com. Your comment helps us to continuously improve our services.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and liked the Junior Suite at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.
We hope to welcome you again to our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further questions or information.

With best regards

Christian Dangel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

While it was a nice hotel, we were there with a full family wedding party and several of the reservations were "lost." My husband & I were offered 2 single rooms 2 floors apart instead of the lakeside double that was confirmed with our reservation.
The food & drinks were quite pricey. Nice accommodations but they lack overall organization.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnG914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#16 of 138 in Zurich
416 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#20 of 138 in Zurich
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
494 reviews
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 138 in Zurich
869 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 138 in Zurich
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Address: Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#12 Green Hotel in Zurich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $211 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Lake Zürich and just a 5 minutes' walk from Sechseläutenplatz and the opera house, Hotel Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac boasts a prime location in Zürich. The main train station is about 15 minutes away on foot. The 51 rooms and suites in Art Deco style provide a distinctive ambience. Room comforts include an air circulation system, soundproofed windows, bathrobe and slippers, minibar, a flatscreen TV, radio, work desk and safe. Highlights WiFi (complimentary), generous breakfast buffet, à-la-carte restaurant with terrace and Swiss "Four-Country" cuisine as well as other international specialties, bar, lounge, salon with view of Lake Zürich, spa with sauna and fitness gym, 7 conference rooms for up to 70 people By booking a superior room lake view, a junior suite or the grand suite, you will receive a free ZürichCARD per person upon arrival. Benefit for 24 hours from free use of the public transports of Zurich and the surrounding area, free or reduced entry to most of Zurich's museums and many more reductions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Bellerive Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing