We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Javea ALICANTE
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here last October, now returned and stayed for the weekend, it was great, would definately return again, if in Zurich.The superior rooms are not as large as I thought from the web description, but do have a great view of the Lake, the Hotel is also near some great resturants and the old city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com and that you have chosen the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.

We are happy to read that you are a repeated guest and that you have enjoyed your stay. As we have different sized rooms, we kindly ask you to tell us upon check in what kind of room you prefer and we will do our utmost to fulfil your wishes.

The Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again and would be happy to show you our new restaurant opening on the 1st of March.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    196
    61
    25
    9
See reviews for
69
219
26
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a junior suite for a dual purpose business and family trip, mainly because I could get a room for our family of four.

Location: great during summer, as it is lakeside. Somewhat removed from the shopping, but close to the opera and a few good restaurants.

Room: good sized (they might as well have made a separate bedroom), aged and not very stylish room. Two TVs if your into that sort if thing, lounge area and desk. Small balconies. A bit of traffic noise, so light sleepers beware.

Bathroom had tub and shower, but terrible, fixed shower nozzles made them almost useless (had to use handhelds). A major plus for well heated floors. No scale, amenities were adequate but nothing more.

Service: friendly staff, polite and good humoured. Check-in was efficient, no porters available. Extra bed were already in place for the kids when we arrived (well done!), and although a full adult bed is odd for a six month old, many hotels take too long to set things up after arrival. Turndown service seemed to consist of drawing curtains and fluffing pillows, so why bother? Free wi-fi as it should be, but annoyingly you'd be prompted to log in many times a day.

Room service: poor menu (think club, hamburger, pasta etc), but quick service, a bit overpriced as in every hotel known to man.

Breakfast: a simple continental breakfast for CHF 25. Might as well go somewhere nearby if you have the time.

Overall, the hotel could use renovation and an upgrade of the service concept, but the stay was pleasant enough for me to post this review halfway through our stay. A bit overpriced, but finding a room fit for two adults and two children is often tricky, so competition was limited. Will update after check-out if needed.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kittilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com and your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.

We consistently seek to improve our service and quality of the hotel and do appreciate your time to write down your detailed experience.

In regards to your room we have informed our technical department who will immediately fix the shower. Also we will have a closer look at our room service menu for a greater choice of dishes. Thank you for mentioning it.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and certainly will forward your compliments for friendliness to our team.

Currently we are in process of renovating our restaurant and we developed a brand new service concept. We would be glad if you would return some time and let us show you the difference.

In the meanwhile we wish you all the best!


Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Previously I already rated as an excellent hotel in a great location on the lake, within walking distance from the center. Pleasant, very efficient rooms with good facilities. The hotel was full, we have never heard our fellow - guests, until we saw them at breakfast. Two things I would like to add to my previous comment: (i) the management should better monitor the cleanliness of the rooms and (ii) the restaurant deserves more appreciation. We enjoyed the old year dinner and had dinner there several times in the evening, every time perfectly, tasty and honest quality food. A kitchen to recommend.
But: a cup of tea in the afternoon deserve a cookie and serve a glass of wine as an aperitif with a few nuts. It's to much about business. What overall remains: the extremely friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbert007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Bellerive Guest

First of all we would like to wish you a happy New Year and thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your second stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac. We certainly forwarded your compliments for friendliness to our team.

With reference to the “small” detail served with beverages, our Restaurant Manager took already care of it. Regarding the cleanliness of the rooms we are training our housekeeping staff on a continuously basis.

The Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again soon!

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a business trip for three days , my wife came along with me to do some shopping.
The hotel is very near a station 200 metres so is well connected to the main geneva station, the nest stop. The hotel ggive us an upgraded room a corner suite. It was excellent. The room was well equipped and modern and had four windows over looking the lake. Everything you needed in the hotel for business. I would like to return again in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: I don't think you will be disappointed in any room in this hotel, ask for a lake view and I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com and your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.

The Bellerive Team is happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. As you have written we are located in the heart of Zurich directly and the lake.

We hope to welcome you maybe in the summer time, where you can also do some nice excursions to the mountain world around Zurich.

In the meanwhile we wish you all the best and a happy new year.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Well mixed opinions . I normally stay in LHW group in Switzerland but as a client booked me in here. So first caveat NEVER stay lakeside unless you can sleep though 24 hour traffic noise. I noticed in a previous review you can request internal courtyard rooms . So did /didn't get one. Didn't expect to have to get into an argument with receptionist as to wether I had .i did and had proof ! Next caveat - staff some of the reception - very efficient and amenable for 4 star others not !


Positively after room change argument the internal room, was quiet, clean etc rather overpriced for amenities/size/furnishing but you are paying extra for Bellevue location . And you may wish to Consider it you like a bath ..both rooms I saw had shower only., I would have also expected bath robes. If paying 200£+ ish

Third caveat plugs - for your computer this hotel only has modern swiss 6 sided narrow plugs your EU round adaptor will NOT work. This is strange because normally there are one or two round sockets left in the room to circumvent this problem for visitors .


There are several areas to work on .. Room service during the day seemed to
Consist of a single man, I was asked if I could take coffee in the restaurant rather than my room . Food at breakfast was acceptable but little heavy in cheese/salami for non-Swiss taste. Quantity/quality good.


I would probably stay here again but only if I can get internal double room for single occupant (extra of course and getting close to price of more established Zurich hotels ) most guest seemed to be businessmen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com. Your opinion helps us to continuously improve our services.

We are happy that some of our reception staff was able to help you, but we will train them additionally since it is not our standard that our guests have to get in an argument to change the room. We have noted that we will provide you with a nice room, bathtub and quit courtyard view for your next stay.

Regarding the plugs we are providing in all rooms free adapters for our international guest. Also our reception team will be happy to provide you with additional adapters.

The Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again and we wish you a nice festive season.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Booked a half board via hotels.com the hotel is in a great location on the lake just 2 blocks from the tram line 4. Sure the hotel room was on the small side but that does not detract from the fact that the hotel is modern inside and clean and warm, coming from the tropics of Australia we need to be warm, and quiet. The rollaway bed and extra towels and toiletries for our 10 yr old was included and ready when we arrived. Great staff both at reception and in the restaurant. The restaurant is a great setting with views across the lake, my wife loved it, therefore so did I. The included evening meal really is fine dining and better than expected. Taxi from the main HB station was 25euro each way, we had a lots of bags. The tram would have been 4 euro, and 6 stops.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac and your comment on tripadvisor.com

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we certainly have passed your compliments to our staff. As you have written, the Hotel is in the heart of Zurich and all areas are easily reachable by public transportation.

The Bellerive team hopes to welcome you again and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further questions or information.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
346 reviews
Opera Hotel
#45 of 138 in Zurich
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Eden Au Lac
Eden Au Lac
#42 of 138 in Zurich
309 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
815 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Property: Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Address: Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#12 Green Hotel in Zurich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Lake Zürich and just a 5 minutes' walk from Sechseläutenplatz and the opera house, Hotel Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac boasts a prime location in Zürich. The main train station is about 15 minutes away on foot. The 51 rooms and suites in Art Deco style provide a distinctive ambience. Room comforts include an air circulation system, soundproofed windows, bathrobe and slippers, minibar, a flatscreen TV, radio, work desk and safe. Highlights WiFi (complimentary), generous breakfast buffet, à-la-carte restaurant with terrace and Swiss "Four-Country" cuisine as well as other international specialties, bar, lounge, salon with view of Lake Zürich, spa with sauna and fitness gym, 7 conference rooms for up to 70 people By booking a superior room lake view, a junior suite or the grand suite, you will receive a free ZürichCARD per person upon arrival. Benefit for 24 hours from free use of the public transports of Zurich and the surrounding area, free or reduced entry to most of Zurich's museums and many more reductions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Bellerive Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing