We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the main shopping area but worth the time to get there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Ranked #29 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A little out of the main shopping area but worth the time to get there”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was a business trip for three days , my wife came along with me to do some shopping.
The hotel is very near a station 200 metres so is well connected to the main geneva station, the nest stop. The hotel ggive us an upgraded room a corner suite. It was excellent. The room was well equipped and modern and had four windows over looking the lake. Everything you needed in the hotel for business. I would like to return again in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: I don't think you will be disappointed in any room in this hotel, ask for a lake view and I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com and your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.

The Bellerive Team is happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. As you have written we are located in the heart of Zurich directly and the lake.

We hope to welcome you maybe in the summer time, where you can also do some nice excursions to the mountain world around Zurich.

In the meanwhile we wish you all the best and a happy new year.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    217
    67
    29
    12
See reviews for
80
247
28
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Well mixed opinions . I normally stay in LHW group in Switzerland but as a client booked me in here. So first caveat NEVER stay lakeside unless you can sleep though 24 hour traffic noise. I noticed in a previous review you can request internal courtyard rooms . So did /didn't get one. Didn't expect to have to get into an argument with receptionist as to wether I had .i did and had proof ! Next caveat - staff some of the reception - very efficient and amenable for 4 star others not !


Positively after room change argument the internal room, was quiet, clean etc rather overpriced for amenities/size/furnishing but you are paying extra for Bellevue location . And you may wish to Consider it you like a bath ..both rooms I saw had shower only., I would have also expected bath robes. If paying 200£+ ish

Third caveat plugs - for your computer this hotel only has modern swiss 6 sided narrow plugs your EU round adaptor will NOT work. This is strange because normally there are one or two round sockets left in the room to circumvent this problem for visitors .


There are several areas to work on .. Room service during the day seemed to
Consist of a single man, I was asked if I could take coffee in the restaurant rather than my room . Food at breakfast was acceptable but little heavy in cheese/salami for non-Swiss taste. Quantity/quality good.


I would probably stay here again but only if I can get internal double room for single occupant (extra of course and getting close to price of more established Zurich hotels ) most guest seemed to be businessmen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com. Your opinion helps us to continuously improve our services.

We are happy that some of our reception staff was able to help you, but we will train them additionally since it is not our standard that our guests have to get in an argument to change the room. We have noted that we will provide you with a nice room, bathtub and quit courtyard view for your next stay.

Regarding the plugs we are providing in all rooms free adapters for our international guest. Also our reception team will be happy to provide you with additional adapters.

The Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again and we wish you a nice festive season.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Booked a half board via hotels.com the hotel is in a great location on the lake just 2 blocks from the tram line 4. Sure the hotel room was on the small side but that does not detract from the fact that the hotel is modern inside and clean and warm, coming from the tropics of Australia we need to be warm, and quiet. The rollaway bed and extra towels and toiletries for our 10 yr old was included and ready when we arrived. Great staff both at reception and in the restaurant. The restaurant is a great setting with views across the lake, my wife loved it, therefore so did I. The included evening meal really is fine dining and better than expected. Taxi from the main HB station was 25euro each way, we had a lots of bags. The tram would have been 4 euro, and 6 stops.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac and your comment on tripadvisor.com

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we certainly have passed your compliments to our staff. As you have written, the Hotel is in the heart of Zurich and all areas are easily reachable by public transportation.

The Bellerive team hopes to welcome you again and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further questions or information.

Sincerely
Christian Dangel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time as it was booked by my company on a corporate rate. Very nice location, although morning traffic makes it difficult if you travelled there by car.
Valet parking is provided and is very efficient.
I stayed on the fourth floor with a magnificent view over the lake. In spite of the busy road right in front of the hotel, once the windows were shut the room was very quiet. Room very large and well equipped. Breakfast served in a nice room also overlooking the lake. Good quality and variety of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bre71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac.

The team of the Steigenberger Hotel hopes to welcome you a second time and wishes you in the meanwhile all the best.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed here only one night during a recent trip to Zurich. While it was by no means a bad experience, I would not recommend staying here.

Rooms:
My room was on the small side, although it didn't seem so since it only had one twin bed. As another reviewer noted, the furnishings are clean but neither high quality nor visually appealing. I would definitely not spend a lot of time here. The bathroom was well lit, with plenty of counter space, and everything was clean. However, the windows were only single pane, and I could hear a lot of street noise.

Service:
Everyone with whom I interacted was very friendly and helpful.

Food:
I ordered room service for dinner. The food was good by international standards but only decent by Zurich standards. I would recommend eating elsewhere.

Location:
The location is near the old town and works well if you are a tourist. It is, however, a brisk fifteen minute walk from the business district.

Overall, I would recommend staying elsewhere since the price of the hotel room is not justified by the combination of room, location, and food quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadivor.com. Only through the opinion of our guests we are able to continuously improve our services.

We are happy to hear that our staff was able to help you with everything you needed.

The Bellerive Team hopes to welcome you again maybe for private purposes so that you can enjoy the central position of the hotel direct on the lake. You may contact us in advance so that we can assign you a nice room facing the court yard without any street noises. Then we can also assist you with packages or special rates over the weekend.

In the meanwhile we wish you all the best and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further questions.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is situated at the center of Zurich, on Lake Zurich, and within walking distance from central places of interest.
The staff was very helpful and attentive, always giving helpful instructions for going anywhere we asked about.
The room was very large, with a great view of the Lake, large and fully equiped bathroom, lots of storage place in the room. The only thing missing for perfection was an electric kettle for making coffee or tea in the room.
Breakfast (a very tasty one) is served on a balcony with a view of the Lake, a great way to start the day.
We will certainly come back to this wonderful place next time in Zurich! Thank you for a lovely experience!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Lake give you a memorable experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadivor.com. Only through the opinion of our guests we are able to continuously improve our services.

The team of the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac is happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you are planning to return.

Actually we are planning to equip all rooms with coffee making facilities in 2013.

We wish you a nice start into the festive season and please do not hesitate to contact us for any information or questions you might have.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was chosen because the first stay had already been wonderful. I have to admit, the second stay was even better. This time, the room offered the view of the lake which is fantastic, although the road is a little disturbing, but not with the windows closed. The bathroom was accessible from different sides of the room. The rooms in general are very comfortable and you just feel like home with the brown, red and dark green colors. The staff was exceptionally friendly, at the front desk as well as the restaurant, where we had dinner and breakfast. The quality of food and drinks was also very good. We have to come back again, maybe for longer than just one night and maybe not on business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your comment on tripadivor.com. The opinion of our guests is very important to us and helps us to continuously improve our services.

We are happy to hear that you are a repeated guest and that you have enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac. Certainly we have forwarded your compliments to our staff.

We hope to welcome you again for a longer stay so that our staff can maybe show you some points of interest in Zurich and its surrounding.

In the meanwhile the Bellerive team wishes you all the best.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
381 reviews
Seefeld
Eden Au Lac
Eden Au Lac
#24 of 138 in Zurich
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Opera Zurich
#50 of 138 in Zurich
336 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
874 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Property: Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Address: Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#12 Green Hotel in Zurich
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Lake Zürich and just a 5 minutes' walk from Sechseläutenplatz and the opera house, Hotel Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac boasts a prime location in Zürich. The main train station is about 15 minutes away on foot. The 51 rooms and suites in Art Deco style provide a distinctive ambience. Room comforts include an air circulation system, soundproofed windows, bathrobe and slippers, minibar, a flatscreen TV, radio, work desk and safe. Highlights WiFi (complimentary), generous breakfast buffet, à-la-carte restaurant with terrace and Swiss "Four-Country" cuisine as well as other international specialties, bar, lounge, salon with view of Lake Zürich, spa with sauna and fitness gym, 7 conference rooms for up to 70 people By booking a superior room lake view, a junior suite or the grand suite, you will receive a free ZürichCARD per person upon arrival. Benefit for 24 hours from free use of the public transports of Zurich and the surrounding area, free or reduced entry to most of Zurich's museums and many more reductions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Bellerive Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing