We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to perfect staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Ranked #31 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Close to perfect staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed a couple of days at this hotel. Nicely situated at the lake. General impression was great. Entranvce, between two car showrooms, a bit dark but well inside you will find a nice reception with staff that makes a difference.
Helpful, friendely and caring.

The room was great, fresh linen, good cleaning. Bathroom also fine, towels not really up to normal hotelstandard though, AC not much to brag about, otherwise close to perfect.

Conference facilities good, elevators fast and surprisingly, with an almost full hotell, not much waiting inspite of only 2 elevators.

The best was without doubt the staff in bars, resturant and conference service.
Smiling faces, eager to deliver, friendly and really helpful. Lunch and brekfast tasted so much better with such great staff.
Not overdoing it, just right in that unusual natural way.
If you look for a good experience staying in Zurich this is definately recomended.

Room Tip: If you don't bother about traffic take a room with sea view. Otherwise ask for one at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pevast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Bellerive guest

First of all we hope that you had a safe journey back home.

Thank you for taking time to write us a comment on tripadvisor.com. The opinion of our guests is the most important value for us and helps to continuously improve our services.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac. Especially your feedback regarding our staff brings a smile to everybody working here. Certainly we will forward your comment to the reception, restaurant and bar team.

Together with our housekeeping department we will check the quality of our towels and if necessary we will change them. Due to environmental reasons we only have an air circulation system and no air conditioning in the rooms.

The team of the Steigenberger Hotel hopes to welcome you again and in the meanwhile we wish you all the best from the heart of Zurich.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    196
    61
    25
    9
See reviews for
70
219
26
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Very good location; walking distance from train station; close enough to old town yet far enough to avoid the noise and enjoy a restful sleep. Excellent lake views - part of lake right across the road is the best part of the Zurich lake front. Spacious well laid out rooms with clear separation between bath area, WC, sinks and bedroom and a nice balcony with space for 2 chairs. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast spread was continental with eggs prepared to order - same breakfast everyday - we stayed for 3 nights - more variety would have been good. The air conditioner in the room could not be turned up... and with the down comforters the nights tended to be hot. You have to ask to get the comforters removed and replaced with lighter spreads - we realized that only on the third night when we overhead another guest ask for it.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your kind comment on tripadvisor.com. The reviews of our guests help us to continuously improve our services.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac. Also we will forward your compliments about the service to our staff.

For the future we will try to provide a more changing breakfast buffet within the week. Due to environmental reasons our hotel only has an air circulation system and not an air condition.

We hope to welcome you again and then we will provide you upon arrival with the bedding you prefer.

With best regards from Zurich

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was my second time in Zurich, and I was extremely pleased with this hotel. The location was perfect and the room was spacious (lake view--worth the extra cost) but the service is what stood out the most. Every staff member was friendly, helpful and extremely accommodating. I would stay here again and would recommend this to anyone staying in Zurich.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Bellerive guest

Thank you for spending time writing us a review on trip advisor.com.

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac and we will also forward your compliments to our team.

Your comment helps us to continuously improve our services and in this case it brings a smile to all our employees.

We hope to welcome you again in Zurich and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further questions or information.

Kind regards from the heart of Zurich

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This location in Zurich is one of the best! Direct on the lake of Zurich and very close to the center. The hotel has a traditional charm in the rooms (design) but you have what you need. The view on the top floor as well as on the lower floors are beautiful. The entrance is something special and not very sexy (between a car dealer) but the rooms are well equipped and very clean. the people are nice and helpful. Overall a good business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your rating on tripadvisor.com. The feedback of our guests helps us to improve our services continuously.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac and we will also forward your compliments to our staff.

Admittedly the main entrance is partly hidden by a car dealership. But as you mentioned: Once you enter the hotel and reach the main lobby or one of our outlets on the first floor you have a beautiful view over the lake and the city of Zurich.

The team of the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac hopes to welcome you again and in the meanwhile we whish you all the best.


Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

As previously noted, you enter a rather Spartan lobby through a car dealership. This hotel review will suffer given that we came directly from d'Angleterre in Geneva where the service is amazing. The service at the BaL whilst friendly was OK at best. We were upgraded to a suite which was huge, but with 2 single beds pushed together and no sheets, just the duvet, not my preferred sleeping outfit.
We arrived at 2:30pm and the room was not ready. When we returned at 6pm, our keys were not programmed and our cases not in the room, a bit slack really. The concierge staff were uncertain where the nearest wine shop was and suggested a 10 minute walk back towards town. As it happened there were 2 shops about 200m away. It has a great view of the lake and is an 8 minute walk to the station where the train goes directly to the airport. I think the value is pretty good, about 1/2 the cost of d'Angleterre, but I didn't leave the hotel with the same warm glow I had in Geneva

Room Tip: Lake view great. We had a suite on the 3rd floor which had loads of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for your kind comment on trip advisor. The opinion of our guests is very important to us and only through you we are able to improve our services continuously.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the view from your suite and the location of the hotel.

The service you have experienced with your language is not the standard of our hotel and we have to excuse for that. We also have researched on this case and have talked to the staff to make sure that such things do not happen again. We are sorry for the information about the wine shop. Therefore we are doing trainings on a daily basis to improve our services at the reception.

We hope to welcome you again in the Steigenberger Hotel Bellerive au Lac. Certainly we will provide you then with a queen or kind size bed with one mattress and the sheets you prefer. Please contact us therefore directly.

Until then we whish you all the best from the heart of Zurich

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

it might just be the rule in Zurich, but when you look at the price/photos on the website you expect better. They are above a Car Dealer. The room are "spartiate" and an exclusive room is a 90cm wide bed... The staff is nice, the hotel is "clean" but that's also the case of travelodge ! for much cheaper ! Bad mastress, bad pilows, bad covers... A very bad night !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanantaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Bellerive Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment on trip advisor. Through the opinion of our guests we are able to improve our services continuously.

We are sorry to hear that you had such experiences in our Hotel. They are still 3 rooms left in our hotel which have 100cm beds. We are continuously working on the rooms to have all rooms equipped with at least a queen size bed until the end of Summer.

Admittedly the main entrance is partly hidden by a car dealership, but due to the presented top- class cars it gives our hotel also an undeniable elegance. Unfortunately we are not allowed to change anything due to the fact that it is a historical building. But therefore we have our first floor with the bar, restaurant and terrace that offer a magnificent view over the lake.

We hope to welcome you again, to show the excellent quality of our “Swissfeel Memory Foam” mattresses

In the meanwhile we wish you all the best from Zurich

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Marble clad lobby has great potential but you always get the feeling the interior designer quit the job just before it was finished. Anyway, who cares - hopefully no-one spends too much of a hotel stay in the lobby. The rooms are good, the bathrooms are good, everything is clean & the lake view is lovely. In the summer you can take a dip in the lake just across the road and it's a great location for anyone who wants to go out for a run on the lake path too. If you actually sit out on the little balconies you might find the road a bit noisy - but the rooms are well soundproofed otherwise. It's only a short, pleasant walk into town. Staff are always super friendly and helpful. Regularly stay here when I visit Zurich & never had any cause for complaint.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvercl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian D, General Manager at Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Christian Dangel
General Manager


Dear Bellerive Guest

Thank you for spending time to write an review on trip advisor. The comments and the feedback of our guests helps us to continuously improve our services.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stays and we also forwarded your compliments to our whole staff.

Due to the fact that the lobby on the ground floor is without lake view, we recommend all our guests to use the facilities on the first floor with the terrace, restaurant and bar overlooking the lake.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact us for any further needs.

Sincerely

Christian Dangel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Opera Hotel
#45 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Eden Au Lac
Eden Au Lac
#42 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac

Property: Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Address: Utoquai 47, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Zurich
#12 Green Hotel in Zurich
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on Lake Zürich and just a 5 minutes' walk from Sechseläutenplatz and the opera house, Hotel Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac boasts a prime location in Zürich. The main train station is about 15 minutes away on foot. The 51 rooms and suites in Art Deco style provide a distinctive ambience. Room comforts include an air circulation system, soundproofed windows, bathrobe and slippers, minibar, a flatscreen TV, radio, work desk and safe. Highlights WiFi (complimentary), generous breakfast buffet, à-la-carte restaurant with terrace and Swiss "Four-Country" cuisine as well as other international specialties, bar, lounge, salon with view of Lake Zürich, spa with sauna and fitness gym, 7 conference rooms for up to 70 people By booking a superior room lake view, a junior suite or the grand suite, you will receive a free ZürichCARD per person upon arrival. Benefit for 24 hours from free use of the public transports of Zurich and the surrounding area, free or reduced entry to most of Zurich's museums and many more reductions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Bellerive Au Lac zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing