We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel St. Josef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St. Josef
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Value and Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

After traveling overnight by plane and then taking the train into Zurich, arriving at the hotel at 10 am and being eagerly welcomed and escorted to an already available room was such a nice treat. The hotel itself is a bit quirky in layout, but the rooms are quite nice. Having two fans in the room, especially on the hot day I was there, was greatly appreciated.

The hotel is very well located. It is a very short (uphill / upstairs) walk from the main train station and is extremely accessible to all that Zurich has to offer. Once inside, the lobby area is small and there is an elevator to take you upstairs.

The breakfast area / restaurant was very nice and they offered a traditional full Swiss breakfast including fruits, fresh breads, cheese selections, sliced meat, cereals, etc.

The only negative to this hotel is that the wi-fi worked poorly and required me to sit in the lobby if I wanted to use it. (It is offered in the rooms, but the reception is very poor. The only place I found decent quality was in the lobby).

I would highly recommend this hotel and, when returning to Zurich, will certainly stay here again myself.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ftl-principal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    287
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
124
233
46
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We arrived from the airport / train station at 8:00am. We went to St. Josef to drop off our bags then figure out what to do until check in time. The nice English speaking guy on reception said he could have a room ready in 30 minutes. He organised for us to have complementary tea and coffee while we waited for the room. Even though it wasn't necessary, he helped us take our bags to our room. The room was spacious with a fridge and kettle. This is not always the case in Schweiz. The bathroom is okay, with the shower a bit squeeze. There is free water on every level that you can use to fill up your bottle. Although it's on the edge of the Alstadt, it is easy to get to the main sights and places of interest. A wide range of choices are available for breakfast.

Room Tip: If you are on the top floor your room will have a sloping ceiling, making it very low on one side. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
304 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 752 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We've been here several times, and we very much like this hotel and the employees. They have always been kind and helpful in every situation. For expensive Zurich this hotel is a welcome relief! My only regret is that we spend only 1 night before we fly home the next day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The price we booked for was overridden. Nice staff, very helpful, good breakfast, no air conditioning. Have to say it was a gigantic room compared to other doubles we experienced in Europe. Nothing wrong with this hotel but nothing makes it stand out either.

Room Tip: Call them directly for the actual price you'll pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here one night before flying back to the states the next day. We got to Zurich by train, and a tram outside the train station got us to within 200 yards of the hotel. The hotel is located two blocks from old town, where great restaurants are on almost every corner. The staff was great and very helpful. The price was very reasonable - especially for Zurich. The room was large, and the lack of AC was no problem. We were there for the evening when Switzerland won its first World Cup soccer game. Lots of celebrations going into the night. We would highly recommend the St. Josef.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is very well situated close to the Old Town. Clean and well-appointed rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, and a good breakfast. Zurich is an expensive city so it might be challenging to find a hotel of this quality for less at such a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AcademicDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a great place to stay with a great location convenient to everything. The staff is so helpful and the breakfast is delicious and homemade. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAM1234562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Old Town
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Sorell Hotel Rutli
#51 of 139 in Zurich
519 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#38 of 139 in Zurich
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. Gotthard
#32 of 139 in Zurich
923 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#54 of 139 in Zurich
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Josef

Property: Hotel St. Josef
Address: Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Zurich
#26 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Josef 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming hotel you will find everything you wish for your holiday or business stay. Our house is located close to the main station of Zurich , only a few steps from the Old Town and the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Theater, cinema, opera house, museums , ETH and University are within easy walking distance . A short walk takes you to the beautiful lake promenade of Zurich . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Josef
St Josef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing