We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3*”
Review of Hotel St. Josef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Josef
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Trying to find a reasonably priced, central hotel is a challenge in Zurich but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel St Josef. Within 10 min walk of train station, 3 min from old town, 10 min from shopping, free water dispenser on every floor, buffet style continental breakfast, tea/coffee in the room, spotlessly clean, quiet, spacious rooms, it has everything you need. Staff are very helpful and friendly, when we said we were leaving very early they prepared lunch packs for us to take with us. When we asked for extra pillows they were delivered immediately. They even put some beer in the fridge for us on request! There are lots of generic hotels in Zurich but St Josef has Swiss charm and a team working to make your stay peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Josef
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

178 - 184 of 594 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

I was in Zurich on a one day business trip. At first it looked that finding a hotel is easy, however when I started comparing room prices with the rooms apprearnce I was quite surprised. The "cheap" hotels (under 200€ a night) looked somewhat shabby, the expensive ones (over 200€) were too expensive but looked quite good.
And then I discovered St. Josef's hotel. Hotel is located within a walking distance from the old town. It looks amazing on the outside and inside it's also very nice, clean, room is spacious with king size bed. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a bit simple, but you will not starve :)
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Blumit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

A modest hotel, very close to the centre of Zurich representing very good value for the price. Only a 2-3 minute walk from the old part of the city and only a few minutes more to the main rail station. No frills, clean and well run. A good continental breakfast buffet was included in our tariff, but we did not eat in the restaurant, so can't really comment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have stayed at the St Josef several times and keep going back every time we stopver in Zurich. Very well priced (by Zurich standards) and close to the main HBF train station and tram stop (7-10 minutes walk). A taxi from the station costs $10-15 if you have heavy bags - as it is a bit of an uphill walk from the station right at the end. We usually stay in a "comfort" room which is their intermediate standard and the rooms are always spotless, spacious and very comfortable. Some have small bathrooms but others are more generously sized so if it bothers you request a larger bathroom as they are available, The food and service in the Timeout restaurant is excellent. The staff are always very friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Book a comfort starndard room and ask for it at the side or back of the hotel and request a room wit...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShellyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a week recently and it was a great experience. Nothing bad to say. Very quiet and the staff is very friendly. It is modest but in a great way. If you don't need excessive amenities and just want a comfortable place to stay, this is perfect. It is very convenient to the main train station (short walk) and also right next to the old town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisecontrol560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The rooms are clean and very quiet, but do not offer any unneeded luxury. The hotel is well located and within walking distance of the university.

The staff is friendly and helpful.

If we would visit Zurich again, I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfileTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed for business for several days. The University of Zurich, downtown shopping, and train station are short walks.Also a short walk to the grocery store. Important to note that even though the walk is short (5-10 min) there is a portion that has stairs (hotel is on the side of a hill). So you must be able to walk up about 40 steps and carry your suitcase.

Hotel is very clean, and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful, good value for area. Food for breakfast was good. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicafromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
808 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#43 of 138 in Zurich
485 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#46 of 138 in Zurich
395 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Josef

Address: Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Zurich
#26 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $187 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Josef 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming hotel you will find everything you wish for your holiday or business stay. Our house is located close to the main station of Zurich , only a few steps from the Old Town and the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Theater, cinema, opera house, museums , ETH and University are within easy walking distance . A short walk takes you to the beautiful lake promenade of Zurich . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Josef
St Josef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing