We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice boutique hotel in zurich”
Review of Hotel St. Josef

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Josef
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came with another couple for 1 night in zurich, based on tripadvisor .
The hotel was very clean and well Maintained.
The location is just 5 minutes walk from center although very quiet.
A+++++++++++++

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amichaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Josef
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 594 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel, modern, clean, nice size room and great bathroom. We had dinner at the restaurant, and the food was wonderful! The staff was helpful and friendly. It was a short walk from the train station (make sure you use the ramp and not the stairs) to reach the hotel if you have luggage. It was close to Old Town for our walk of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arsenalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel is next to the University and the old town of Zurich. It is within 5 minutes walking distance of the main station. All this means a very central and good location for exploring Zurich. The hotel itself is in an old building but has been well modernised. The rooms are clean, well appointed and quiet. The restaurant offers good food, well prepared and with efficient service. Overall, unpretentious and welcoming - a good find

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A relatively quiet hotel, near the tram lines, central train station, very clean, good restaurant open during the week days. The staff is friendly and the front office staff multi-lingual, including English. If you are staying a long time there is a washing machine for laundry. The rooms are spacious, more so depending on what you pay, and there is even a relatively less expensive top floor with toilet and shower down the hall. I have stayed here many times and it is my hotel of choice. The staff are lovely.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are quieter. No AC but fan in room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drmarydrmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Set on a relatively quiet street( for a city). The rooms are large and very clean. Bathrooms are nice but showers are very small. Staff is friendly and helpful. With a generous continental breakfast of fresh baked bread, cheeses, fruits and various cereals this hotel fits the bill for centrally located city stay.

Room Tip: The back of the building is much quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We'd passed by this very centrally located hotel everyday, and as we were not happy with the hotel we stayed at first, we decided to give this a chance on our return trip. And what a gem! The rooms are spacious, very modern decorated and with lots of light fabrics and decorations. The bath room had tiles and were practical and very clean. There was a floor fan (very nice) and also a water cooler in the hall way and tea/coffee maker in the room. Safe also.
Staff was young, very polite and very efficient.
We had breakfast in the garden, the breakfast had all we wanted and then some (Italian cheese spread). Add the very reasonable prices for a room with breakfast, there is no doubt where we'll stay next time in Zurich. Well done, hotel St. Josef!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vigdis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We used this Hotel as an overnighter before leaving Switzerland by plane. It was exactly what we needed. It was about a 10 minute walk from the train station and right in the old town. We were well looked after by the staff on arrival who took us to our room and gave us a map with an excellent walking tour of the Old Town on it. The room was clean, quiet, modern and comfortable. Due to the rain we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant that night and enjoyed our meals which were in sizzling metal pans.

Room Tip: There are two buildings with a courtyard between them. We were in the second with a room at the back...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
811 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#44 of 138 in Zurich
486 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#45 of 138 in Zurich
397 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 138 in Zurich
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Josef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Josef

Address: Hirschengraben 64-68, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Hochschulen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Zurich
#26 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $187 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Josef 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our charming hotel you will find everything you wish for your holiday or business stay. Our house is located close to the main station of Zurich , only a few steps from the Old Town and the famous Bahnhofstrasse. Theater, cinema, opera house, museums , ETH and University are within easy walking distance . A short walk takes you to the beautiful lake promenade of Zurich . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel St. Josef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Josef
St Josef Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing