We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Georges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Georges
Ranked #81 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay, Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

While certainly not the Four Seasons, Hotel St. Georges did the trick for two budget travellers in the highly overpriced city of Zurich.. Cozy hotel, well maintained rooms, walking distance from city center, continental breakfast included. All in all, a good value low key option.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JAFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
17
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2009

Rooms are simple and liveable for the price paid. However, if you're intending to walk, the hotel is about 20min walk from the hauptbahnhof and 15min walk from paradeplatz. The service is also not great, it was hard to elicit much information from the desk staff and the 3 hotel staff we came across either didn't speak english or didn't speak it very well. the neighbourhood is certainly very quiet if that's what you're looking for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lpyings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobRes_14190, Public Relations Manager at St. Georges, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Guest, we do speak English, French and German at the reception desk at any time. Our quiet hotel is just a five minute tram ride away from the Zurich main train station in the middle of town near Stauffacher square. Any desired destination within Zurich is easily accessible either by walking or taking public transportation. Of course we would be at your service to call you a taxi anytime during reception hours from 7 am to 23:30 pm or assist you in any other matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed 1 night for 166CHF, which was pretty much £100 on the day which told me, for what I got, how rediculously expensive this town was. The room was a square with a bed in it, as well as the bathroom sink, with the shower and toilet in the bathroom. It had a tacky lino floor and the tv was so small yet so high it was unwatcheable. The 'buffet breakfast' was a piece of Swiss bread and jam, no toast or even cereal.

The location was alright as it wasn't too far from the tram stop - there isn't much else in the area, one review I just read said in the heart of the old town which is categorically wrong. Thankfully I was there for Easter Monday as there appeared to be roadworks going on so it would probably make for a noisy wake up call. At the same time I was there for Easter Monday and everything was shut, even the souvenir stores. This was annoying as being the end of our trip we intended to buy most of our things. I would say not to just stay somewhere else but don't even go to Zurich as it has absolutely nothing. See the Rhine falls and head elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasethecheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

You get great value with this hotel considering the crippling price of hotels in Zurich's centre. Excellent airport shuttle service (25 Euros each way) and transport links easily accessible as well as being an easy 10-15 minute walk into the city centre...Friendly and helpful staff, though not so much of a buffet breakfast, also a massive starbucks next to the nearby tram stop if you need a fix! Also a little mini-supermarket express a short walk away from the tram stop for any extras you might need. My room didn't have a phone in it like advertised but there was a communal phone in the hall directly in front of my room so not a problem. They don't really have a separate room for luggage store, you just leave your belongings in the foyer area. The area and people are pretty trustworthy so I wouldn't worry! Excellent hotel and I would definately stay again if in Zurich again. Great if you're on a budget! Great experience and the people were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent location, great value for the area.
  • Disliked — No phone in room, that's it really!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anonymous067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2008

first time in zurich and we had a great time.....this is a gem of a hotel right in the heart of old zurich.the rooms were comfy clean and great beds.
first time i've stayed in a hotel with bathroom down the hall and it was actually pleasent. we loved the free breakfast, with homemade breads and jams, and meats and cheeses.
Fanny, at the front desk ,was so warm, helpful, and friendly and has a working knowledge of the city.
also SLS limosines was a great way to get from the airport to the hotel. only $15. and very fast, direct to the door. ( or call the hotel for directions on the train)
we traveled with our 80 y.o. mother and this hotel has a small elevator, it was perfect for the 3 of us, great price too. i highly recommend the ST. Georges, zurich

  • Liked — hisoric
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 52college
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

This was a great place for our first time in Zurich. Make sure to request a corner room, they are the most spacious. They have nice wood floors, beautiful windows, the most comfortable beds with down comforters! No AC, but its not necessary in Zurich opening the windows does the trick, and they will give you a fan if you like. Our room didn't have a bathroom but it had a sink, and the bathroom was right down the hallway. They had two bathrooms one with a shower, so a bathroom was never unavailable. It is about a 10 minute walk to the city center which is very beautiful and we absolutely loved Zurich and this hotel! We felt like we actually lived there with this place it made you feel very much at home. A nice breakfast was also included.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank EZimm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

We stayed in this hotel because it was close to the start of the long distant triathlon held in Switzerland, we ended up having to keep our bikes in our very small doulbe rooms. The rooms were clean, but the manageress was extremely rude and unpleasant. The breakfasts were definitely not worth getting up for. The rooms have no air con. and the streets are extremely noisey, so difficult to sleep, except on a Sunday night. Close to the town, railway station and tram, so rest of Zurich easily accessible from hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — manageress
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BigFootMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#103 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#113 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympia Hotel
#111 of 138 in Zurich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#59 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Hotel Montana
#45 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georges

Property: St. Georges
Address: Weberstrasse 11, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#58 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Georges 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel with a personal atmosphere. Standard rooms. Extremely quiet downtown location, just 10 minutes walk from the center and train station. Great public transportation in all directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing