We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic not far away from downtown”
Review of St. Georges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Georges
Ranked #80 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very basic not far away from downtown”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I did not use any public transportation to get to the downtown or central railway station or the lake. It was a great pleasure just to walk everywhere. It was nice to walk along a creek and stop by at a little botanic garden nearby. The hotel itself is very basic. The room was very small and did not have much inside. It was pretty much just a bed, small desk, and a little space around, and a tiny shower barely fitting a medium size person. The breakfast was very good. The service was good too. Do not expect much from this place. It is very basic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnBudgetTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    53
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
20
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

As an American it is hard to write positive reviews for Swiss hotels. We were a family of four travelling on a budget in a country that expects its guests to shell out hundreds of dollars for the bare minimum of accommodations. So before I say any more there are a few things you need to know about hotels in Switzerland in general.

1) Most rooms do not have private bathrooms.
2) Most rooms can not accommodate 4 people.
3) Updated and modern furnishings are not the norm (at least in 'budget hotels')
4) 'Budget or 2 star hotels ' in Switzerland cost similar to 4 and 5 star hotels in the U.S.

With that in mind, St Georges Hotel gave us a nice size, but simple, room that was clean, with cozy bedding, and a nice little balcony.

The price was a bit high but was competitive for Zurich.

The hotel is in a quiet area, not too far of a walk (about 20 minutes) to the heart of District 1, and a short tram ride and a little walk from the Train Station. Transportation in Zurich is extremely expensive! Be prepared to walk a lot from this hotel, and not go back and forth throughout the day. We 'rented' the free bicycles and used them all day long! This allowed us to see the whole city and return to our hotel in the afternoon for a short rest. There is a safe place to park the bikes right across from the hotel.

The breakfast was simple, but very good and served with style.

The staff were very gracious and hospitable.

Tips:

Make sure to book early! Hotels in Zurich fill up quickly! St. Georges was sold out while we were there.

There is a pizza place called Pizza Blitz (take out or delivery only) around the corner from the hotel with the best deal you'll find for dinner in Zurich!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelingfamily2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Don't worry about getting lost (see John R's review) I usually pride myself on finding the hotels easily....but like you I got us lost by not reading my b&w home printed map properly! It was a hot day and we decided to get a cab as it we couldn't face retracing our steps. Anyway it's a good place to stay.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean and modern shared bathrooms. On our floor, in addition to wc, the shower room also had a wc. Continental breakfast was fine. Wi-Fi all good. They also booked an early morning airport shuttle for our son who was returning to Sydney before us. Definitely one to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The route to the hotel from the railway station seemed so obvious I didn't even print off a map, and needless to say got lost trying to find it, but once I found a streetmap (near the See) I walked alongside the Schanzengraben to the Sihl, and the hotel is only one block from there.

The hotel was clean and pleasant, though it failed on my "is it an hotel or a hostel" test by not having a plug in the washbasin. Luckily I carry a travel plug, but one shouldn't have to.

The doors are sealed to the corridor, which means they have a very high threshold, and I tripped over this several times before I got used to it. The dark corridors didn't help in this respect. The heavy seals also meant a lot of slamming to get the doors to close.

The bathroom was tiny, with an old-fashioned shower tray with over-amorous shower curtain, and a ventilation fan that sounded like a 747 taking off, but seemed singularly inefficient at ventilating the bathroom.

As it was one of the hottest days of the year I slept with the window open, and all night could hear tricking water - it was only the next day I found there was a fountain in the nearby square. Any chance of a lie-in was destroyed by the nearby church clanging bells every morning at 7 a.m. - though curiously the two nearby clocks chiming the quarters didn't bother me.

As seems the way on the continent, there was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The power outlets are not the Euro standard, and the literature in the room (not in English) seemed to imply you could purchase an adapter for 17 Swiss Francs, which seemed somewhat excessive.

The breakfast was adequate - cereal and yoghurt, and a nice pot of black tea, but bread with a crust so tough my knife wouldn't go through it.

The staff were friendly and pleasant, so no complaints in that regard, and they changed a 100 ChFr note for me - I didn't realise the cash machines would pay out in 100 ChFr notes.

Once I found the route to the railway station alongside the river it was a quick walk there, and to get to the See was a straight walk down the street of the stockbrokers - Stockerstrasse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good basic hotel, nice breakfasts, centrally located. It is quite a long walk from the railway station if you have luggage, and a fair walk into the centre of the old part of town. But the hotel is probably one of the cheapest for the central area in Zurich. You need to get to grips with the trams if you don't want to be walking everywhere.

Room Tip: Dont think it makes any difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwallharpcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We walked from the train station about 15-20 min. But once we arrived, hotel was great!
Our room was small but spotless with nice bathroom and the best duvets and pillows in town!
Quiet, cute neighborhood with 2 restaurants across the little plaza. Quiet snd pleasant. Definitely not in touristy area.
Take the train to the airport .....cost $30 for them to arrange or $6 train ticket.

The breakfast room (included) has nice ambience of teapot collection. Nice breakfast of cheeses, meats, breads, coffee, juice and jams. Very delicious! Quait!

We'd go back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pretty plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDFOX419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Given the ridiculous prices of other hotels in Zurich, the St. Georges is a pretty good find. It is a little off the beaten track and a good walk from the station and the old town but it makes up for this in being quiet and well priced.

The reception area is clean and the receptionist (Famke?) was very welcoming and helpful. My room was adequate but a little small for a double. To fit the double bed in it has been turned sideways so that my head was resting on the radiator. Everything was clean and the bathroom was fine, no frills but functional with the sink in the bedroom area rather than the bathroom.

Wifi was good and the television was modern with lots of channels. The bed was comfortable and a small table and chairs were crammed in to the room as well.

I had a good nights rest despite the festivities going on in the city that night and breakfast the following morning was good and varied.

If you are looking for lakeside luxury, best pay the extra and go for one of the bigger hotels. If you are on a budget, the St. George is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#95 of 139 in Zurich
88 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#112 of 139 in Zurich
404 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#56 of 139 in Zurich
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympia Hotel
#120 of 139 in Zurich
206 reviews
Hotel Montana
#43 of 139 in Zurich
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georges

Property: St. Georges
Address: Weberstrasse 11, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Georges 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel with a personal atmosphere. Standard rooms. Extremely quiet downtown location, just 10 minutes walk from the center and train station. Great public transportation in all directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing