We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but good”
Review of St. Georges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Georges
Ranked #83 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good basic hotel, nice breakfasts, centrally located. It is quite a long walk from the railway station if you have luggage, and a fair walk into the centre of the old part of town. But the hotel is probably one of the cheapest for the central area in Zurich. You need to get to grips with the trams if you don't want to be walking everywhere.

Room Tip: Dont think it makes any difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornwallharpcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 121 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We walked from the train station about 15-20 min. But once we arrived, hotel was great!
Our room was small but spotless with nice bathroom and the best duvets and pillows in town!
Quiet, cute neighborhood with 2 restaurants across the little plaza. Quiet snd pleasant. Definitely not in touristy area.
Take the train to the airport .....cost $30 for them to arrange or $6 train ticket.

The breakfast room (included) has nice ambience of teapot collection. Nice breakfast of cheeses, meats, breads, coffee, juice and jams. Very delicious! Quait!

We'd go back for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pretty plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDFOX419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Given the ridiculous prices of other hotels in Zurich, the St. Georges is a pretty good find. It is a little off the beaten track and a good walk from the station and the old town but it makes up for this in being quiet and well priced.

The reception area is clean and the receptionist (Famke?) was very welcoming and helpful. My room was adequate but a little small for a double. To fit the double bed in it has been turned sideways so that my head was resting on the radiator. Everything was clean and the bathroom was fine, no frills but functional with the sink in the bedroom area rather than the bathroom.

Wifi was good and the television was modern with lots of channels. The bed was comfortable and a small table and chairs were crammed in to the room as well.

I had a good nights rest despite the festivities going on in the city that night and breakfast the following morning was good and varied.

If you are looking for lakeside luxury, best pay the extra and go for one of the bigger hotels. If you are on a budget, the St. George is a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

St. Georges is a really nice place, the people are incredibly friendly and the prices are reasonable for Swizerland. The location is good and the hotel is very clean, also the breakfast is good. I can definetely recommend this place

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hotel is easy to find. Location is good and in a silent area. Nearby are several bars and restaurants, like "simply soups", asian and local food. In a about 15 min. walking distance you can reach Tonhalle, main venue for classical concerts, opera theater and Bahnhofstrasse shopping area. The hotel is small and has different types of rooms. The single room I have selected for my business trip was moderate size, had own shower and WC. The only negative impression was some kind of a smell usually found in old hotels, however the opened window even in January solved this problem. The night was silent, no noise from the street and hotel rooms. Breakfast room is nicely decorated with some kind of cosiness. While having a simple but a good breakfast you can enjoy natural flowers between tables and a collection of old tea pots behind the breakfast counter. Also very impressing is a separate collection of the porcelain dog figures. The lady serving breakfast was strict but quite friendly. The only thing I found unpleasant during breakfast was silence and missing light music for the nice beginning of the day. I have noticed the loudspeakers on the ceiling, but they were silent. I have stayed in other old hotels through Zurich, however in average twice more expensive. St Georges is a really value for money for your short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LP_CHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

First of all, this is not a modern international chain hotel and the prices reflect that (compare with any of the big name hotels in Zurich and you'll see the difference). But with that said, it is clean, functional, the staff friendly and the breakfast (included in the price) quite adequate (how often have you bemoaned paying the price of a 3-course meal for a continental breakfast)?

My previous visits to Zurich have been at my company's expense and the recommended business hotels at least 3 times as expensive. As this trip was on my own dollar, I was looking for better value. And I found it. It made me reassess what I really need from a hotel and I would seriously consider staying here again, even if someone else was paying the bill!

The rooms are clean, if basic, the furniture is not modern, but all in good condition. I stayed in a room without a bathroom (I think one of four rooms per floor which share a bathroom). The bathroom itself was clean and included shower gel.

There's wi-fi in the rooms, although as other reviews have pointed out, the signal strength can vary depending on the number of guests and time of day.

Breakfast is served on the ground floor and includes cereals, yoghurts, a selection of bread & pastries, juice and coffee. Plenty enough of everything to start the day right!

All-in-all, the hotel offers excellent value for your Swiss Franc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkSparkMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I chose this hotel for the price and relative proximity to the main train station. I didn't want to fuss with taxi or transit and don't mind a bit of a walk. I was there when the bathrooms were being re-done in January, I was a little put off by the sign in the lobby that a particular chair was "reserved". It didn't look special at all. It turns out that this was for the hotel dog! I liked that. I thought that the breakfast was quite filling. The staff was friendly and helpful. As others have said, the wifi signal was a little weak. I connected better from the area near the stairs than the room. I was able to get enough signal for Skype which was my goal. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Lower floors probably have better wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingdude2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#112 of 137 in Zurich
437 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#40 of 137 in Zurich
1,049 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#94 of 137 in Zurich
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympia Hotel
#124 of 137 in Zurich
225 reviews
ibis Zurich City West
#50 of 137 in Zurich
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georges

Address: Weberstrasse 11, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zurich
#58 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $88 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Georges 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy hotel with a personal atmosphere. Standard rooms. Extremely quiet downtown location, just 10 minutes walk from the center and train station. Great public transportation in all directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Georges zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing