We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savoy Baur En Ville
Ranked #91 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Tortola
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very luxurious”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

5 star all the way. This was not my first stay at the Savoy Baur en Ville in Zurich, but it has been quite a few years. I can safely say that the service is still first class. I mainly love their bar for meeting business associates or just a pre-dinner drink. The location is perfect.
Only regret is that the breakfast is not a buffet. Instead it is served at your table.

Room Tip: Single standard are a bit small. If you are willing to pay a bit more chose a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiaOra97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    25
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
11
27
8
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

a real 5 star hotel in every aspect. staff were wonderful, cheerful, smiling and eager to help important qualities that are not always found in other hotels.
location is great, rooms are big and elegant.
Thank you Savoy staff for making our trip to Zurich a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mashaelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wetherby
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

stayed for 7 nights all you would expect from a 5star hotel .as with previous reviewers we found the staff to be meticulous and always there to help. location is ideal the perfect spot fof seeing Zurichs many attractions.it all comes at a price but worth it.would definitely recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belindawetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggen, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful elegant, relatively small hotel. The hotel is situated at the Paradeplatz in the Bahnhofstrasse with lots of elegant boutiques close by. Also the lake is at very close walking distance. The rooms have everything you need. The only disadvantage is that they are so very small, especially the one person rooms. And they are pretty expensive.
The bar is very nice to go to. Always busy. Good staff as well and the piano player adds to the good vibe of this place.
Breakfast is very good, no buffet. Sometimes if all the guests decide to have breakfast at the same time, you may have to wait a little since there are not so many tables. All in all though, good atmosphere, excellent beds, good food and the staff is extremely nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Be aware if you have a room facing the Paradeplatz; when opening the window it is very noisy because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Move61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent in every thing super nice employe they deserve to be employe of this year thanks for them our stay was comfortable every employe are nice and happy to help you the location of the hotel are excellent the room are nice so I recommend it for staying

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medhawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Before you die, check in go to the room eat the room service and say life does not get better. Every hotel has its special feature. I give every excuse in the world to my colleagues so I can stay in. The silver service room service is out of this world. The food is delicious. See the picture. Oh I nearly forgot the location is brilliant. The rooms are on the small side and a little dated - but who cares - if I had paid more the room would be bigger. So I blame myself. The location is amazing and the famous sprungli chocolate shop is just across the way. The staff look old world and crusty but friendly and ready to help. I stay here at least once a year and look forward to the benchmark room service food and then my chocolates thank g-d I don't live here I'd look like he Michelin man.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed recently at the Savoy Baur En Ville in Zurich and found the hotel to be a worthy Grand Hotel. The facade is well and truly Belle Epoque befitting a hotel that has been in existence since 1838. Internally, however, while wonderful, it is lacking the "wow" factor that most old Belle Epoque Grand Hotels possess. Having said that, the hotel is excellent and we were lucky enough to meet the venerable Manfred Hörger, owner of the establishment and found him to be a jolly chap. The piano lounge was a brilliant experience as the Bulgarian pianist of Macedonian ancestry was simply fantastic and the bar staff whip up the finest pina colada that you will ever experience! The room we had was lovely and clean, though with a curious Ancient Greece theme that was somewhat puzzling. The rates are on the expensive side, but this is Switzerland, so no great surprise. All up an excellent hotel close to all attractions that Zurich has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Widder Hotel
Widder Hotel
#2 of 138 in Zurich
472 reviews
Baur au Lac
#3 of 138 in Zurich
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Zurich
#9 of 138 in Zurich
878 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#27 of 138 in Zurich
470 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#6 of 138 in Zurich
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Baur En Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Baur En Ville

Property: Savoy Baur En Ville
Address: Am Paradeplatz Poststrasse 12 | Poststr 12, Zurich 8022, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#41 Business Hotel in Zurich
#51 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoy Baur En Ville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Savoy Baur En Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Baur En Ville Hotel
Savoy Baur En Ville zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing