We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in the new building”
Review of Limmathof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Limmathof
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Had the junior suite in the new building and was very pleased. The staff was helpful and the location all though a bit away from town was nice. Would stay again

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 315 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel was perfect for me as a student travelling alone: it was cheap, safe and in a really convenient location. The room was small, but it had everything I needed, and it was clean and well-furnished. There was free wifi but you had to go down into the hotel's lounge to access it. The breakfast cost 10 CHF which was a bit pricey, but there was a good selection of breakfast foods and the staff were really friendly. It was quite noisy with the window open, but because it was cold in Zurich, keeping the window closed wasn't a problem, and noise always comes with central locations like this. Going out was a bit difficult because they lock the doors after 12 so you can't get back in straight away but have to ring the doorbell and wait a minute or so for someone to come out to greet you, but I can't say enough about the location: it was right in the centre of the city: two minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof, several tram lines intersecting right in front of the hotel and the old city only three minutes walk away. It could not have been more convenient, and particularly for the price, I have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

On the banks of the river Limmat, a five minute walk from the main railway station, just below the University and Polytechnical Institute and at the edge of the old medieval city core - the location is superb.
The hotel caters to business and other travellers looking for value for money. Rooms are basic and clean. There is Wi-Fi in the traveller's lounge and if one evening you decide not to eat at one of the many restaurants within walking distance, they have a small and cozy in-house restaurant offering Swiss specialties and wines plus another, vegetarian restaurant, on the second floor.
As a native of Zurich, I know the city and how expensive staying there can be, especially "downtown". That is why I rate it 'very good' in terms of what you get for what you pay. I always stay there when in my home town (now the fourth or fifth time) and enjoy the understated, but international flair of the place.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to street noise (tramways, etc), choose a room facing the inner court. You trad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamquam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Great location for seeing the city and for numerous eating places. Bedroom was small but sufficient for sleeping. Straight back chairs for reading or watching TV, which only had BBC and CNN in English. That was OK since we didn't go there to watch TV. Difficult getting to lobby as you had to lug your luggage up two flights of stairs. Breakfast was basic, nothing more. Great location to Old City and train station. Stayed 2 nights and would stay there again, primarily due to location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArthurNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Says it all above. Very close to station (across the bridge) and very close to old town area with heaps of restaurants and cafes. Co-op nearby. However room was small and hotel very old and bit tired/rundown. Bfst is extra Fr10 and very very basic. Room cost Fr125 and would be worth only half that if located elsewhere even in Zurich but the location says it all. Did not have street facing room so not sure about noise in that instance. Place is clean and despite age is in reasonable condition/order. Staff (owner?) was friendly enough but nothing special. Nevertheless would stay there again for the convenience and if your expectations and standards are not high then would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidneeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We decided to spend a day in Zurich on our way home from the Bernese Oberland. This hotel is in a prime location, and - for Zurich - the prices are reasonable.

In the end you get what you pay for. It's a basic hotel, and the breakfast for 10 CHF is similarly basic, although adequate and not bad value by Zurich standards. We were in the "new" part at the back, although I guess everything is relative, as the room was very cramped, and the decor in need of an update. The beds were comfortable enough, and - despite their claim that the WiFi is only available in the lounge, we managed to get a reasonably reliable connection in our room on the 4th floor.

Our main problem was the noise, which meant that we had to keep the window closed at all times. Apart from the traffic noise - especially trams - there was a loud fan just outside our window.

To summarise, by no means the best hotel we have ever stayed in, but adequate for a short stay.

This hotel is definitely not suitable for disabled people, as there is a flight of about 12 steps up to reception, and a further flight of steps to the lift if you are staying in the rear part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nedsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel Limmathof is situated at a walking distance from the Zurich main rail station. I stayed here during my official visit to Switzerland. The hotel is located in the center of Zurich city. Opposite to the hotel is Central square tram station and River Limmat. You can just walk down from the hotel to Lake Zurich. The hotel is located just at the entry point of Niederdorfstrasse which is the main hang-out place of Hotel Zurich. You can find number of restaurants, clubs, bars, take-away kioks on the Niederdorfstrasse.

Internet access is available only in the lobby at the ground floor. Breakfast is not complimentary and you will have to pay additionally for the breakfast. Very limited options are available for breakfast. Rooms are very small, bathroom is congested. The hotel does not have an air conditioner system, hence don't plan to stay here during the summer season. Room rent of CHF 175 is quite expensive.

Room Tip: Take a room which oversees the Central Square tram station or River limmat. There are 2 towers in ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hssharma25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#120 of 138 in Zurich
175 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#37 of 138 in Zurich
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#94 of 138 in Zurich
218 reviews
Hotel Montana
#48 of 138 in Zurich
977 reviews
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#49 of 138 in Zurich
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limmathof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limmathof

Address: Limmatquai 142, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range: $130 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Limmathof 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Limmathof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limmathof Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing