We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, Location is Questionable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 46 Zurich B&B and Inns
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, Location is Questionable.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The picking up the keys is not as easy as you may think. Its not around the corner but a small drive by car. The Hotel itself is clean, big rooms with comfortable beds. The area is not the best, situated in a neighborhood setting, about 10 mins by train to Zurich. Once in the room it was very nice, but again Location is not the best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
13
28
6
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This property was chosen because of its cost and free parking, little did I know it would be so stressful to locate and to find only 2 parking spaces allocated to the accommodation.

Locating the hotel (main office) which one has to register with wasn't fun, for the hotel and the accommodation are not exactly close, it was especially tough when arriving in a new city with a car as Zurich seem to be a city that is anti-car: narrow one-way streets, too many road signs and zebra crossings at the end of all intersections, and when I finally got there, there was empty parking to be found.

The area in which the accommodation is located is known to the local as a "ghetto", if it is one then it must be the nicest ghetto I have ever visited! It is all residential with a scruffy looking corner pub right next to the hotel, a kindergarten/primary school just opposite and one would have to venture 8 minutes before locating a convenient store. Walking to the Altstadt took about 30 minutes.

The first room I was allocated has not been cleaned, it was very obvious with unmade bed and towels on the floor, the person I spoke to on the phone did not believe me but said he will pop over to have a look. Fortunately my room situation was quickly corrected after witnessing the mess and I was given the key card to another room.

The room is huge with floorboard, free WiFi, a bar fridge with tea/coffee facilities, table with 2 chairs, balcony with nice view of the neighbourhood and with outdoor furniture, bed with bedside tables, good reading lights, giant wardrobe for storage and plenty of heating. The toilet is well ventilated and the shower box uses curtain instead of glass doors, which can be annoying as they often stick to my body when showering.

Can't say the cleaning standard was taken too seriously, I can see dust gathering at corners of the room, plus my check-in experience.

Sleep was peaceful as the bed firm and the neighbourhood quiet; during the day, noise coming from the kindergarten/primary school can be heard during play time.

Parking can be quite frustrating, as mentioned, there are only 2 allocated lot. After circling the area several time for a park, ended up parking in a nearby blue lined car park overnight, where its one-hour free parking limit takes effect from 8am-8pm. Was fortunate enough to nab an empty space at the accommodation's allocated lot during the day and did not have to move the car till I was ready to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

An excellent place to stay and very affordable too. We stayed there twice on our way out to Budapest and on the way home, stopping for an extra night on our return journey. The self registration works well and the rooms were very comfortable. Very quiet and every thing that we needed was there. It was easy getting to and from the city centre by tram, and I would also recommend Concordia, a lovely Italian restaurant close to the guest house on the main tram road.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms and they were both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A Bit Confusing and A Bit Depressing

When we booked the hotel online we were made aware of the fact that there was no reception and that our room key would be dispensed to us automatically when we arrived at the hotel. But before we could get our key we had to register our details at another hotel about 5 minutes away, whilst there we were given a key the function of which we are still unsure as the key did not fit any of the locks at our hotel.

There are only three bays of hotel parking which a residents informed us are nearly always occupied by the locals, so don’t count on getting parking at the hotel and the surrounds are all resident permits only.

Our booking reference had lots of different number series on it, such as a reservation code, a pin code and a booking code. After a couple of minutes of punching in the last four digits of all of these numbers the machine released our swipe card. The local informed us that she often see people standing by the machine for a long time trying to work out what numbers to punch in.

The room itself was clean and the furnishings simple and functional, but not appealing and drab making the room feel unwelcoming and depressed, I can only liken it to a council housing estate.

The rooms are not very well sound proofed so you can hear everything that is going on the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This room was very modern and nicely decorated. We were far from the main partsbof Zurich, about a 25 euro cab ride but the tram system would have worked better and been cheaper. Plenty of places to eat and grab a beer. There is also a grocery store nearby and we had a fridge in the room. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was more of a self-catering rental then a B&B. It's not staffed - you pick up a key from a key box and then let yourself into this charming old building as if you're a resident. The apartment was nicely decorated and very welcoming. Large plasma TV's in both the lounge and bedroom, a small fridge, coffee service, soaps, towels, free wifi all provided. There's a Coop just around the courner if you're not up for eating out. Otherwise there's lots of restaurants in the area and a large tram line just down the street. We liked it, very cosy. The only down side was it was warm in the room despite the windows being opened and a fan going, and the shower dumped lots of water all over the bathroom floor. But we'd stay here again - it was a nice change from the hotels and made us feel like residents in Zurich.

Room Tip: Note that there is no one at the building, no reception - you have to call another residence if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank elizkane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent one night in this hotel. You need to check in at the Kreis4 hotels main reception in another building down the road (about a 10 mins walk). The street this hotel is in is quiet and in a residential area, so you should not be disturbed by too much noise outside. Nice modern decor. Great bathroom and they put toiletries in there for guests.

The room was a good size. It could have almost turned into a small apartment if it had had an inbuilt kitchen. They have thoughtfully provided ironing board, hairdryer and iron, so you have no need to worry about bringing any of those. The wardrobes are spacious.

TV in the room with lots of channels.

It was all clean. There was a bit of dust around when I stayed but I attribute that to some building work going on outside at the time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Langstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
#21 of 46 in Zurich
90 reviews
West End Guesthouse
#31 of 46 in Zurich
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langstrasse
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
Dakini's Bed & Breakfast
#25 of 46 in Zurich
37 reviews
Langstrasse
Guesthouse Dienerstrasse
Guesthouse Dienerstrasse
#27 of 46 in Zurich
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse

Property: Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse
Address: Gertrudstrasse 12/3 | Alt Wiedikon-Friesenberg-Sihlfeld, Zurich 8003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing