We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel with quite spacious rooms and modern decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 47 Zurich B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I spent one night in this hotel. You need to check in at the Kreis4 hotels main reception in another building down the road (about a 10 mins walk). The street this hotel is in is quiet and in a residential area, so you should not be disturbed by too much noise outside. Nice modern decor. Great bathroom and they put toiletries in there for guests.

The room was a good size. It could have almost turned into a small apartment if it had had an inbuilt kitchen. They have thoughtfully provided ironing board, hairdryer and iron, so you have no need to worry about bringing any of those. The wardrobes are spacious.

TV in the room with lots of channels.

It was all clean. There was a bit of dust around when I stayed but I attribute that to some building work going on outside at the time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 80 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

we actually only booked this place at the last minute when our other accomodation was unable to provide an additional night - but i wish we had spent our entire time here. Easily accessible by tram, no hassle having to queue to check-in/out, just type in the code - get your key card and get in. Our room was fantastic - very clean, bright, modern - in a residential area so quiet at night. Within walking distance of langstrasse - with lots of good bars and restaurants. There's no gym, or restaurant or swimming pool - but when you are on holiday to see a city do you really need all that?!
Brilliant system - would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Great hotel with everything you would ask for, we were lucky enought to get a room with a balcony, which had great views. It is an easy walk to the tram stop that takes you into town, and there is a lot to offer in the area. There is no front desk, and they work on a key system provided once you key in your code, so service is hard to judge, but the rooms were cleaned every day. Would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaubsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Centrally located in a hipster area of Zürich. At night there's lots of young people on the streets, which adds to your comfort when you're out and about on your own. Nice restaurants nearby for breakfast and dinner. The rooms have recently been renovated and are very clean. Excellent wifi. The staff, who are located just a 10 minute's walk in the Anwandstrasse, are very helpful.

We stayed in an apartment with a living room, but we missed a table and some chairs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 26Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Finding the place is so easy, just off the tram stop. Getting the card and access was simple and the room was excellent, would 100% use again, for price and quality its fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The room is quite new and well designed.

Although it is a little bit far from the city center, but you can reach the city via tram 2 or 3 in around 10 minutes. (Route no 3 to Hauptbahnhof) Wire and wireless are provided in the room. The area is quiet so I am having great sleep in the hotel. It is comparably cheap to have this kind of room in Zurich. The restaurant downstairs is quite good in Swiss style. The hotel reception is not located in the same place, but is not hard to find. Reception is really helpful in terms of city introduction and facilities of the hotel.

n shorts, if you are staying Zurich for couple days, it is good to stay in this hotel. Average price but in good quality.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roderick_Hsiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

This guest house is a little like BT, when it works it works well, and then a problem occurs and you need customer service and then not so good. They have a key code entry system - no one to greet/meet you so when you arrive you better make sure you have your key code and it works. As I say, the rooms and everything else about this is great. Excellent cost, quiet area and double room spacious. Got back tonight and key card didn't work and coincidentally also met a couple from Korea who also couldn't get in. Rang the reception number at the Chriens Hotel repeatedly but no answer. Walked to this hotel (about 10 mins away) and saw a mobile phone number, rang this, walked back and sorted out the problem. Then - asked why the reception phone didn't forward and why the mobile number wasn't easily detectable. Mentioned if I hadn't had been there the Korean couple had no number to ring - and THEN he bemoaned having to get up at 3am and 5am in the next morning. What!!!! Two of his customers couldn't get in and he bemoans his issues! This is the most arrogant pathetic customer service I've heard. He then verified the mobile number was on the keybox - it was - I found it after, but an eleven digit number with no reference describing what this number was is not what I call obvious, and definitely not clear. I'm still mad and as much as I like this guest house, would I stop again. I'm afraid like dealing with BT customer service, once bitten twice shy - no can do sadly!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#93 of 137 in Zurich
100 reviews
Langstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
Guesthouse Anwandstrasse
#27 of 47 in Zurich
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End Guesthouse
#24 of 47 in Zurich
24 reviews
Pension FurDich
#10 of 47 in Zurich
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse

Address: Gertrudstrasse 12/3 | Alt Wiedikon-Friesenberg-Sihlfeld, Zurich 8003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Zurich
Price Range: $60 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gertrudstrasse Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing