We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but alright”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #64 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best but alright”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Location is alright, pretty quiet and peaceful. there are 2 supermarkets near by and the tram station is also walking distance away. There are a few eateries around the corner as we'll. Room is decent but a bit cramp. Service from the staffs is average.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for being our guest and sharing your comments.
We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay completely. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we would like to highlight that all constructive inputs are always welcome. Sharing your impressions during your stay enables us to react promptly if necessary.
We hope that you will choose our hotel again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    560
    287
    95
    57
See reviews for
159
412
109
428
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The rooms in this hotel were renovated a few years back so the interior is so much better now. But do not expect too much... Just like any other European hotels - small (not much space for your luggage) and old-looking. Basic and limited bathroom amenities.

The way how the glass door is designed in the bathroom is kind of silly. It's only half and after shower, the bathroom floor will probably be all wet. Oh and if you're not small-built, you might have a slight difficulty trying to get into the shower.

The Internet - pretty good, fast and stable

To get to the city or anywhere else, you need to take the tram which is about 5-10 mins walk from hotel. The trams will then take you to Bahnhofstrasse (which is the main shopping area).

Don't forget to check out Sprüngli and try their Luxembugerli macaroons. The stores are all over in the city. Also don't miss a visit to the flagship FREITAG container store (10 mins bus ride from the tram station).

There is a pretty good Thai restaurant called Take Easy in Lochergut. It's kind of pricey though (20CHF for a fried rice), but Zurich is generally expensive. There is also a Singapore restaurant and an Italian restaurant nearby the hotel. They serve pretty good food as well. Migros which is the local supermarket is just next to the hotel.

In the morning, it can get very crowded in the reception area (between 7-9am) because that is the time when Singapore Airlines flight attendants get in and out everyday so try to avoid those timings.

Also, the breakfast buffet spread in the hotel is not that fantastic and yet it's expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is a pleasure that you enjoyed Zürich and its attractions.
Please be ensured that we have informed our colleagues from the responsible departments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Zürich in the near future.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
164 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Not the best Crowne Plaza. Location was away from city center. Trams are close by so that was a big help. Room was small but very clean. Concierge was not very helpful and led me astray on my trip. We did have a great time in Zurich.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xit95i95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your valuable Feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time in Zurich. Please be ensured that we have transmitted your comments to our colleagues at the concierge. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Zurich. Best regards.
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband was staying here on business. The location is great because it's close to everything (attractions, restaurants, transportation). There are two tram and bus stops withing 2 minutes walk so you can get to the Old Town or City center in less than 10 minutes. Buy the 24 hr pass for 8.40 CHF and you can ride all trains, trams, buses you want in area 110 including a cruise on the lake! The breakfast buffet is a great start to your day. It has everything you can possibly want. You have to try the breads and coffee!! The bed.pillows, and covers were VERY comfortable and soft! The room was clean but SMALL and there was not too much storage space. There was no closet or drawers for clothes, just 4-5 hangers on a rack and a shelf above that. There is a SPA and fitness center that looked very nice with indoor pool and sauna that I wanted to try but didn't get the chance. There are great restaurants around this hotel that are best kept secrets including the pizza place across the street right from the hotel, and restaurants Schlachthof (Swiss), Hardhof (Swiss) and Da Pippos (Italian) all highly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for a suite if you want a large room. Our room was extremely small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind feedback - we are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay at the Crowne Plaza Zurich. Please be ensured that we have transmitted your comments to our colleagues at the responsible departments. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Zurich. Best regards.
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in Crowne Plaza Zurich for 4 days and I am pleased with the overall service and location of the hotel. It is about 200 meters (5 minute walk) to Albisreiden Tram station (tram number 3). The location is a bit suburban but I liked it because its quiet at night. Taxi is expensive in Zurich so I recommend that you take the tram. You can easily take the tram and head to the Banhofstrasse or Lake Zurich. The hotel room is spacious and very clean. It was spring time when we arrived and Zurich is so beautiful during spring time.

PROS
great location
spacious rooms
very clean rooms
excellent service of the front desk and the restaurant staff.
close to the tram station.
heart shape chocolate treats upon check in.
personalized letter for IHG platinum elite members
organic sleeping aid :)

CONS
you have to ask for toothbrush, shaving kits, and the usual standard toiletries. I don't know if this is the norm in Europe.
No welcome fruit for IHG Platinum elite customers

Room Tip: ask for a room facing back of the hotel if you prefer to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunkissedguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Zürich. We kindly inform you that our platinum guests receive a little bit of Swissness in form of a box of chocolates instead of fruits. During your next stay, please request a complimentary piece of fruit and the toiletries upon check-in. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
320 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

As I expected, everything was perfect with this very brief stay. The Crowne Plaza Zurich delivers modern well equipped rooms with a super comfortable bed, breakfast was good, check in staff were friendly and by Zurich standards, the room rate was fine. This was good, efficient chain hotel delivery; sometimes you just need everything to work and this did.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonKiwiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback - we are happy that you have had an enjoyable stay at the Crowne Plaza Zurich. Please be ensured that we have transmitted your comments to our colleagues of the responsible departements. We are looking forward to welcoming you to our Hotel in the near future.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
467 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in a Junior Suite for three nights, which was fine for our purposes. Although I found it a bit strange that there was only one sofa and an office chair. An extra upright chair would have been very convenient and there was definitely enough space for it. Looking at the hotel layout I assume the standard rooms are half the size of the junior suites, in which case they are probably rather cramped.

We had room service one night: by room service standards the selection was quite good and the quality acceptable. The last night we ate in the bar, which was an attractive environment with good service.

The hotel is out of the centre, but Zurich's trams service is really good. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a tram, which then took us into the centre in 10 minutes. SInce hotels in the centre seem to be more than double the price, I was quite happy with our choice. Note that if you don't wan to eat in the hotel, the restaurants in the immediate vicinity all look quite basic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#39 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#71 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#50 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing