We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #64 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Cocoa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My second time in Zurich, first time staying at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and very helpful with any questions I ask. They made the stay a very pleasant experience. 2 train stations within 2-3 minute walk. Small grocery store as well. Quiet part of Zurich.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jang01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in Zurich and are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Crowne Plaza Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    549
    283
    95
    57
See reviews for
156
406
106
422
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is 15-20 min tram ride from the center and not in the nicest area of Zurich but if you are on a business trip and only care about getting in and out, and jumping into the pool, then this hotel beats several other in the same price range and a few that charge higher rates!
The fitness, inlcuding dozens (!) of exercise machines, swimming pool, saunas, are better than in any hotel I have seen anywhere. IN fact, they have so many, they should claim a status of a "sport hotel" or "finess center", but as a hotel... welll, the rooms are tiny, the so called "fast" internet is horribly slow, tv has unexciting selection of channes (who watches soap operas nowadays!?), and the breakfast, I am still afraid to eat breakfast at Crown Plaza after an accident in their hotel in Beiging 2 years ago, but I will give it a chance today ...
Found one partly soiled towel in by bathroom on arrival, otherwise no great problems.

Room Tip: As for quiet side room. Use the saunas, pool, fitness, these are the reason why you would stay ot Cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Lorenzo_d_Arabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear on_Lorenzo_d_Arabia,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns via Tripadvisor. We apologize the room amenities did not meet with your expectations.

We are glad to hear you did enjoy our fitness accommodations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very modern hotel, with amazing spa facilities. Huge swimming pool, amazing sauna and the best thing, that its almost empty, seen only 1-2 people at the same time.
The first time we got a twin room in the new building with glass bathroom door which was streight to the room, and only a little gap next to the bed to get there. The door is from a matt glass, but there is a small 5mm gap, so it doesnt even close completly. There was no space in the room to move beds apart. But lucky enough staff was kind enough and moved us to the other part of the hotel, where they had normal wooden door facing the corridor and some space to move bed apart to actually have a twin room.
Another treat in the hotel is breakfast!!! Big choise, everything is fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissToma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your feedback and your rating. Your comment is of big value to us and allows us to constantly revise and ameliorate our service level.
Please be ensured that your comments have been forwarded to the responsible manager.
We would like to once again thank you for being a guest of us and will be happy to welcome you again to Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights.

Pros:

(1) Front desk was helpful when asking for directions and recommendations on things to do. Smooth check-in and check out.

(2) Rooms and furnishings are very modern and clean. No problems with sleep quality as location is pretty quiet and the beds/pillows are comfortable..

(3) Take you less than 10 mins by tram to the main train station and Zurich city center

(4) Can be good value depending on the price you manage to get.

Cons:

(1) Exterior looks old and dated. Neighbourhood lacks character although there are a couple of options nearby for breakfast and dining . There does not appear to be a supermarket near the hotel.

(2) Room is small

Overall a reasonably good hotel at its price range.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback and for sharing your experiences. We really appreciate your review which helps us to improve our level of service. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and value our product. The standard and superior rooms are 17.5 m2. We recommend you to upgrade to a deluxe room (23 m2) should you require more space. All of our rooms have been renovated in 2010. We would like to welcome you to our house again in the future and are happy to serve as your host in Zurich.

Best regards

Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Last minute trip for meetings, being a IHG member i planned to stay at the Crowne Plaza Zurich. The hotel upgraded me to a Superior Room which is smaller than what you would see at a 3* hotel. Rooms seem to be so crammed together just so they can squeeze that extra room. A massive disgrace to the IHG brand and quality globally!

Let the box room pass, i ordered an iron in a day and age where every 4* hotel practically leaves one in the room. Get the iron and the water spray was missing, it smelt gross and the base plate had been through better times!

Avoid! Renaisance is much better...

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gagan-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for letting us know about your impressions as well as for your loyalty. As an IHG Rewards Club member, you benefit of a room upgrade upon availability.
We are very sorry to see that you have rated our hotel with only 1 of 5 stars due to the room size and the flat iron quality. Kindly note that the size of our rooms comply with the official conditions of a four star hotel. Our guest rooms of the deluxe category offer more space and comfort. Therefore, we recommend you to book a room of the deluxe category next time.
Your comments regarding the flat iron have been forwarded to our responsible manager and prompt actions have been taken to improve our service.

We hope that you will choose our hotel for your future travel needs as well.
Best regards

Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Ramat Gan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is located 3km from the train center. If you don't mind that, then this is a great one to stay in. Rooms are reasonably spacious. The breakfast is excellent - a wide choice of food from different cuisines, omelette made to your choice. Good coffee. The spa is new and great - dry and wet Sauna, swimming pool and a whirlpool. There are three places to go out 250 meters away: a relatively low cost Pizza, a tea room, and a Korean restaurant. So, although remote, you can spend a few evenings not necessarily dining at the hotel. the public transportation can take from the hotel practically anywhere in the city. The commute to the airport requires one change. Taxi costs 60-70 francs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate that you share your experiences with us. It is good to hear that you have spent an enjoyable stay at the Crowne Plaza Zurich. Even though there are quite some choices to dine around in the evening, we also invite you to enjoy your lunch at our fine dining restaurant «Relais Des Arts» where a wide choice of delicious meals are served by our friendly staff. We would really appreciate to welcome you again in Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

First this is a real review,
The hotel it's well connected to the main train station, with a tram that leaves you a 8 minutes walk from the door.
BUT
The reception was very poor, i had to wait like 15 minutes for check in, even been a priority club member, it also looks old.
While waiting i saw a guest pushing his own bags on the suitcase trolley !
When going to my room I see a pair of young workers cleaning the carpets with a vacuum at 7pm ???
After arriving to my room i go to search ice, on my way i hear a pair of workers in a room near the corridor complaining about the bad work they had?
Bad Bad Bad.
The next day i wanna go to the gym, the GYM is underground and doesnt belongs to the crowne but to a third party so you i had to return to the hotel reception to get a voucher to enter the gym. They didnt even told me about the GYM when i arrived and checked in, is like they don't wanna give you the free pass.
Once done that i enter to a very modern, clean gym, with sauna and pool, this is the only positive aspect i found from the hotel and that doesnt belong indeed to the hotel.
In conclusion, i wont return and wont recommend this to other traveller, its really different to other crowne i have been to.
Cheers.

Room Tip: Despite that i dont recommend this hotel, if for any reason you have to go there, ask the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeManInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest
We are very sorry to read the list of negative impressions you have had during your recent stay. Kindly let us ensure, that your feedback has been forwarded to our responsible managers.
Providing an excellent service constantly is very important for us and we apologize for all inconveniences.
We hope that you will give a second chance to provide you with a great stay and would like to ensure you that we will do our utmost to improve our services for you.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#41 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#71 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#50 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing