We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #67 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I liked the room, it is indeed small but I was there alone and only for one night so it was enough. Location is very bad for tourism, area not nice at all but again, I didn't care as I was there for business.
It was very cold in my room, and apparently in my colleagues rooms as well. I complained in the evening but they couldn't fix the heater so brought me a portable heater. Which is a nice gesture but afterwards my entire room smelled like burnt :-( But at least I was warm.
I didn't have the time to experience breakfast.
Tram is 5-8 minutes walk away, which is ok but I definitely wouldn't walk it at night!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanessaB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear guest
We thank you for sharing your experiences with us and for your good rating. Our Standard and Superior Rooms are 17.5m2. According to most of our guests, this size is convenient for a stay of max. 3 nights - especially, when you are on a business trip and travel on your own. In this case, we suggest to upgrade to Deluxe Room which is 23m2. We consider our location as good for tourism purposes. The airport is only 15 minutes away and you’ll reach the city center in about 12 minutes by direct tram connection. The shopping center of LetziPark is only 13 minutes by walk and there are numerous tourist attractions in the surrounding area – mainly the Letzigrund stadion which is right next to the Crowne Plaza. When there is a problem with the heat regulation, we always check if there is another room available – or fix the problem right away with our friendly inhouse technicians. Next time we are privileged to serve as your host, make sure you check our rich breakfast buffet with warm dishes and live cooking ! The tramstation of Albisriederplatz is 5 minutes away along the busy road which is lit during night time. We hope to welcome you again in Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Due to mechanical problems on our plane( Swiss air from Zurich to Tel Aviv), we were taken back to the gate and the “bundle” started as to who will get to the Transfer desk first ( of the 280 people on the plane). We were one of the 50 lucky ones who got a Hotel voucher, and it was for the Crown Plaza.
Instead of waiting around at the airport for a courtesy bus, we grabbed a Cab and were at the Hotel within about 20 minutes ( cost – 50 CHF). It was 0130 in the morning and thick snow was falling.
There were 2 people at the reception, and they dealt with us within a couple of minutes.
My room was not large, but spotlessly clean. It was a Twin bed, with lots of different types of Pillows, and a couple of little bottles of “something to spray on your pillow to help you sleep better”! There was a TV, that I didn’t turn on, a desk – with lots of plugs and charging options, a mini bar (with nothing in), a free bottle of sparkling water and kettle with tea and coffee.
The bathroom was clean and new, with only a shower unit (no bath), but there were loads of complimentary shampoos/soaps and other stuff.
I tried to connect up to the Free Wifi, but it needed a code, and after 7 calls to the reception, and no luck connecting up, I gave up. It was 0300 and I wanted to get to sleep.
I had a great shower and then collapsed into bed. I was up before 0600 and made a cup of tea packed up and left to go back to the airport. I did not try and see what was available for breakfast.
Summary – Comfy, if not small but very clean room. Nice shower/bathroom. Lots of little extras. Due to the fact that it was free….I do not know whether or not it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main road were a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJREisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest
We would like to thank you for your feedback. Your report help us to have insight into your personal experience with us and thus enable us to see where we can improve. It’s a good thing to hear that our check-in did a great job in being fast with your check-in procedure. We always try to focus on smooth processes in all of our business fields. All of our 365 renovated rooms are cleaned on a regular basis in order to ensure seamless quality which we like to maintain. If you would like to use the mini bar, our friendly front office staff will hand over the key to you. We offer free WiFi internet for which you just need to enter your name and room number in the browser field. The instructions are being displayed on the screen of your device. Our Standard and Superior rooms offer either bath or shower. Next time, we are privileged to welcome you again, please also try our rich full American breakfast buffet with live cooking.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We were two guys sharing a room on an incentive trip. No space to move around in the room. If I step of the bed I landed right into the sliding door of the toilet. The door that would never shut properly. The beds were ultra small...if u are a bulky person don't risk to move around a lot.
The decor in the lobby is old.
Car park is paid and would take only local currency or credit cards.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asimmstq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your message and comments on your stay. Our Standard and Superior rooms are 17.5m2. According to the feedbacks we receive, this size is suitable for most travellers who spend some nights in our house. However, in your case, we would have suggested to upgrade your room to a Deluxe room which is 23m2 and offers much more space to move. The door to the bathroom is regularly checked and shut properly. We will of course investigate the room you had and make sure everything is right.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very polite and helpful staff, room was warm and bed comfortable, unfortunately the location is pointless unless you have business in the vicinity. We moved to a hotel in the centre and nearby the main rail station. My wife was a lot happier thereafter and the walking distance to the train station was easy for me. The fitness centre was out of commission as it was under renovation.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest
We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us. All of our guest rooms have been renovated in 2010 and are being maintained constantly. We are very close to the tram station which is about a 300 m walk. Getting to downtown of Zurich takes only 15 minutes by public transport. We are sorry to hear that you have chosen another hotel in Zurich. The closure of the fitness centre is published on our website. We are proud to announce the opening of the new 2000m2 Holmes Place Fitness & Spa in Dec. '13.
Of course, we would like to welcome you again as our guest in Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed here before and it is a fair value hotel a short tram ride out of central. As per normal the hotel was fine, but the pool and gym was closed. I wish hotels would be honest and tell customers this before hand!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for visiting us again. We really appreciate your trust. Please note that we have published the closure of the fitness centre on our web site. We always give regular updates and news about our products on this channel.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is ok... The location is not very good, since there is nothing much around. The staff is helpful. Restaurant takes a long time to serve and there was only one server. The hallway is very cold. The rooms are cozy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback with which you support us to constantly improve our service. We will certainly transmit your comments to the relevant departments.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Only the highlights at this hotel was service.
well i guess swiss people are very friendly in general but this hotel stuff was no exception.
in my opinion, rooms are way too small if you want to stay more than two nights...
tram is 300m walk, which is a bit of a walk at night or for older people.
hotel is outdated to me, and breakfast? 30 Swiss franc lol
i find that really expensive. and if you want to find alternate option, there is supermarket about 200 m towards tram station, or breakfast place by tram station. ride to the main station is about 10 ,15 mins.
fitness center was under construction at the time i went there.
Singapore airline crew stays here and lobby was often very very clouded by their check in.
but the hotel price is much fair compare to other zurich hotels if you are willing to walk and take tram for 10 plus mins everytime.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rurina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Verkaufsleiter at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your feedback. Your opinion is very important to us and enables us to constantly revise our products. Our renovated Standard and Superior Rooms are 17.5m2 which we find convenient for a short stay in Zurich. We suggest to book a more spacious Deluxe Room (23m2) for the upgrade cost of CHF 90.-. It takes only a couple of minutes by walk along the busy street from our hotel to the tram station of Albisriederplatz. The cost of CHF 29.- for a buffet breakfast is fairly low compared to other breakfast venues in the area. During the time our fitness center was being renovated, we have installed a temporary solution for our guests. Now we are proud to announce the opening of the new wellness & spa area in December which will be free for our inhouse guests. In general the lobby offers enough space for our guests to pass by easily. However, there might be peak times when the lobby area gets crowded due to check out/check in procedures.
Of course we would like to welcome you again as your host in Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 138 in Zurich
2,339 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#47 of 138 in Zurich
670 reviews
Crown Plaza Zurich
#109 of 138 in Zurich
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#78 of 138 in Zurich
541 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $134 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing