We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down location and too far out of the centre for tourism” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #62 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Antipolo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Run down location and too far out of the centre for tourism”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Very polite and helpful staff, room was warm and bed comfortable, unfortunately the location is pointless unless you have business in the vicinity. We moved to a hotel in the centre and nearby the main rail station. My wife was a lot happier thereafter and the walking distance to the train station was easy for me. The fitness centre was out of commission as it was under renovation.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest
We would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with us. All of our guest rooms have been renovated in 2010 and are being maintained constantly. We are very close to the tram station which is about a 300 m walk. Getting to downtown of Zurich takes only 15 minutes by public transport. We are sorry to hear that you have chosen another hotel in Zurich. The closure of the fitness centre is published on our website. We are proud to announce the opening of the new 2000m2 Holmes Place Fitness & Spa in Dec. '13.
Of course, we would like to welcome you again as our guest in Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    545
    278
    94
    57
See reviews for
154
404
104
416
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
331 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have stayed here before and it is a fair value hotel a short tram ride out of central. As per normal the hotel was fine, but the pool and gym was closed. I wish hotels would be honest and tell customers this before hand!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for visiting us again. We really appreciate your trust. Please note that we have published the closure of the fitness centre on our web site. We always give regular updates and news about our products on this channel.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is ok... The location is not very good, since there is nothing much around. The staff is helpful. Restaurant takes a long time to serve and there was only one server. The hallway is very cold. The rooms are cozy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Manager at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback with which you support us to constantly improve our service. We will certainly transmit your comments to the relevant departments.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Only the highlights at this hotel was service.
well i guess swiss people are very friendly in general but this hotel stuff was no exception.
in my opinion, rooms are way too small if you want to stay more than two nights...
tram is 300m walk, which is a bit of a walk at night or for older people.
hotel is outdated to me, and breakfast? 30 Swiss franc lol
i find that really expensive. and if you want to find alternate option, there is supermarket about 200 m towards tram station, or breakfast place by tram station. ride to the main station is about 10 ,15 mins.
fitness center was under construction at the time i went there.
Singapore airline crew stays here and lobby was often very very clouded by their check in.
but the hotel price is much fair compare to other zurich hotels if you are willing to walk and take tram for 10 plus mins everytime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rurina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Verkaufsleiter at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your recent stay and your feedback. Your opinion is very important to us and enables us to constantly revise our products. Our renovated Standard and Superior Rooms are 17.5m2 which we find convenient for a short stay in Zurich. We suggest to book a more spacious Deluxe Room (23m2) for the upgrade cost of CHF 90.-. It takes only a couple of minutes by walk along the busy street from our hotel to the tram station of Albisriederplatz. The cost of CHF 29.- for a buffet breakfast is fairly low compared to other breakfast venues in the area. During the time our fitness center was being renovated, we have installed a temporary solution for our guests. Now we are proud to announce the opening of the new wellness & spa area in December which will be free for our inhouse guests. In general the lobby offers enough space for our guests to pass by easily. However, there might be peak times when the lobby area gets crowded due to check out/check in procedures.
Of course we would like to welcome you again as your host in Zurich.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet area some 15 minutes by tram from downtown. The rooms are tiny, they reminded me of an Ibis Hotel rather than a ($300) Crowne Plaza. There was a nice chocolate on the pillow, but other than that it was an Ibis. No room to open a suitcase, a tiny desk to work on, and a tiny bathroom (where the handlebars were falling off the walls).
The bar serves decent pub food and the staff is friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet was good quality and extensive.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are on a large inner courtyard, the other buildings around the courtyard are apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchmanYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear FlyingDutchmanYVR,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I’m sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is easy to reach by tram. It is 15 minutes away from the central railway station. Front desk staff was very unhelpful. I have asked for a taxi: instead of calling the taxi they suggested me to wait for a cab on the street "It may come or not...". Mattress was soft and not comfortable. Room was very small but that is Zurich's standard for this price

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay. We are sorry to learn about your negative impressions and would like to ensure you that we are keen to provide excellent guest service. Your comments have been forwarded to the responsible manager.
Regarding the bedding, kindly note that we offer the “Sleep Advantage” Crowne Plaza brand program. Understanding that you might prefer a different kind of bedding, we kindly ask you to mark your preference when booking again. We will try to adapt our service to your needs.

We would be pleased to welcome you again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

A clean and spacious hotel. Some of the rooms are a bit old, but they are clean.
The bar is nice with friendly staff, but the menu isn't very varied. Breakfast menu is also very static, but the food is good.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Excellent hotel & facilities

A clean and spacious hotel. Some of the rooms are a bit old, but they are clean.
The bar is nice with friendly staff, but the menu isn't very varied. Breakfast menu is also very static, but the food is good.

Dear Guest

Thank you for the great rating, we very much appreciate your kind feedback. Please let us mention, that our guest rooms have been renovated in 2010.
Our two restaurants offer daily meal specials and change their menus on a regular basis. Also seasonal specialities are served. The lavish breakfast buffet is completed with freshly prepared warm meals. If you have further inputs, kindly contact us again and we will be happy to consider your comments as inspiration for a better restaurant service.

It would be a pleasure to be your host again.

Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#68 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#48 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Escher Wyss
Novotel Zurich City-West
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing