We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Ranked #63 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
GreenLeadersGold level
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was easy to get to from the main train station--just a quick tram ride. It's not in the most scenic area of Zurich, but it is a nice place to stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. Bed great. We had breakfast there one day which, as others have said, was very expensive but most things in Switzerland are. There was a great variety of food and it was all delicious.
Loved the fluffy towels and the shampoo and soap set us up for a whole vacation staying at rental homes that didn't provide it! The best part was the provided chocolate. Absolutely delicious swiss high end chocs.
Really nice park down the block makes a great place for a picnic with goodies from the COOP nearby.
Not the place to stay if you want to be right in the main section of Zurich, but a wonderful base to explore with a tram pass. Seemed to run very efficiently. the only odd thing was they didn't supply conditioner along with the shampoo. Great bath gel and soap though.

Room Tip: We faced away from the street onto a grassy area, and it was very quiet even with the window open.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank orygungal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind feedback and your recent stay! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for the detailed comments about our services and for recommending our hotel to other travelers.
Kindly let us mention that we offer several cosmetic products but no hair conditioner due to the standards of Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts. Our Concierge Team is happy to provide you with additional products upon request any time.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    573
    299
    102
    59
See reviews for
169
423
110
444
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 nite, the hotel was very satisfactory. Clean, staff were friendly and attentive, and our rooms very modern and relaxing. Rooms could have been a bit bigger, we had a cot in ours which left us with very little space, but we all got a good nights sleep while staying there. Excellent value for money if your getting a special deal as we did. Didn't have time to check out the pool and sauna. Location wise, it takes about 1 hour to get to from Zurich airport if you are coming by train and tram. I would recommend doing this as taxis will be very expensive( £70) and with switzerlands excellent public transport system, it only takes an hour and train and trams are always only 5 mins away. We asked tourist information at the airport and they gave us clear directions to get to the crown plaza by train/tram. Once arriving at the tram stop, it is about a 5 min walk. Lots of places to eat and drink at beside he hotel, with a supermarket also beside the tram stop. Would stay here for a weekend but maybe a bit claustrophobic for more nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback and for staying at our hotel recently! Your kind compliments have been shared with our team. We are very happy to read about your positive experiences.
Kindly let us inform you that our extensive fitness and wellness club will open after complete renovation at the end of 2013. During the renovation works, we offer a complimentary and well equipped fitness room for our hotel guests.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Thoroughly disappointed. The staff were impersonal and disinterested. Room was very small and with 2 large suitcases it was not ideal. Cleanliness of room was also poor; 1 day our room was not cleaned at all and we had to phone reception for some clean towels. The bathrooms are poorly designed and it is impossible to maintain water within the shower. Fridge didn't work very well and was more a room heater than a working fridge. Safe also did not work.

Positive notes were the bar area and staff who were a joy to deal with.

I would only recommend this hotel if you get a good deal and do not plan on spending much time in it.

No. 2 & 3 trams take you straight into town (3 will take you from the train station to the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest
We are sorry to read about your bad impressions. Kindly let us mention that our housekeeping team has been informed about your feedback. When found on the ground, towels are replaced daily – this service is declared on the information card about our efforts for the environment. All guest rooms are cleaned daily, when possible without disturbing guests, during their absence.
Thank you very much for your compliments for our bar team. Your kind words have been shared with our colleagues.
Your comments about the fridge and the save problems have been passed on to our responsible manager as well and actions have been taken promptly to improve our service.
We would be pleased to welcome you again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Seal Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location of this hotel provides a serene environment somewhat distant from the city downtown's activities; however, the easy to use transportation right in front of the hotel it's quite convenient. One can be in downtown in a matter of minutes.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and well trained. The business center offered fast computer access, and business supplies were ready for guests to use at any time.

There was an overcharge to my credit card. Upon my arrival in the U.S. I called the hotel, talked to Nick Reichelt who in a matter of minutes sent me a copy of the credit that was being sent to American Express to correct the mistake. His telephone demeanor was professional, efficient, and respectful.

For the above reasons I shall return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llaveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review. Your compliments are much appreciated and a great reward for our team. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Crowne Plaza Zürich and would love to be your host again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel caters to business traveller and groups. i saw alot of Asian here too. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is good too. The sports bar was pretty empty but the steak that my next door order looks good. Not much English Magazine or channel to look at. So I guess most traveller head downtown for actions. A good stay over and super comfortable bed is what it can offer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. We are happy to read about your positive impressions and would like to mention that we are working on extending our offer of English tv channels.It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel is just outside of downtown and has a tram line running directly in front of it.There are 2 wings one in the main building and the other one behind.The rooms in the main building facing the road can be a bit noisy as the trams start running at 6am and ends at midnight so one will be able to hear it every few mins.
Checkin was quick efficient and polite.Lobby was pretty shabby and in need of a makeover.Off to one side is the restaurant and opposite the checkin counter is the lobby bar.
My room was small with a queen size bed,work desk and no actual proper closet.Just an open hanger area.Not much place to put luggage.Minibar wasnt cold as the drinks inside were warm.
Bed was comfortable though and the bedsheets very very clean.I could smell the crispness.3 pillows were really flat and soft and even piling all 3 up it still wasnt high enough to support my neck.There was a small square pillow which had a very strong smell of goose or duck feathers which i did not like at all.
Aircon worked pretty well...but if you like a warmer room..and set the temp above 27degrees..the aircon just turns off and it gets quite stuffy.
Toilet was of average size and again very clean.Shower had good pressure and temperature control worked well.Their own house brand toiletries was supplied.
Room was facing behind towards a new apartment building.Very quiet except for the banging of doors by the housekeeping in the morning and early afternoons.As the walls were pretty thin and the doors to the rooms very close to each other...i could hear my neighbour opening/closing his door and using the security chain.A bit unnerving but after awhile just got used to it.
The housekeeping did overlook replacing an already opened and 1/3 consumed bottle of complimentary mineral water by the former occupant.
Not a fantastic hotel but certainly not a bad one either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed feedback and for choosing our hotel for your stay in Zurich ! Your constructive comments have been forwarded to our team and responsible managers and actions have been taken promptly to improve our housekeeping service. Kindly let us apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.
We would like to ensure you that our windows are sound proof. We also offer a wide scale of pillows and provide them upon request.
Knowing that you have many alternatives when lodging in Zurich, we hope that you will consider our hotel again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I used this hotel when I travelled to Zurich for business. I found it nice, clean, with reasonably wide rooms. Personnel is friendly, and in general the hotel was at the level you expect from the CP chain. It is not in the center, but just in front of the hotel you can take the tram #2, that brings you in the center in a few minutes (and you avoid the trouble of car parking in the center). Inside the hotel at floor -1 there are a very nice fitness (professional level) and a small pool. There are two internal restaurants: one is where you have breakfast in the morning, and it has good food for a pretty reasonable price. The other one "Les relais des arts" is a more formal restaurant, nicer look, more expensive, and also good food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Luisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaZRH, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and for staying at our hotel. It is a pleasure to read about your positive impressions. Kindly let us mention that our fitness and wellness area is undergoing complete renovation until the end of 2013. During the works we offer a fitness room with several machines, daylight, flat screen tvs, etc. We are looking forward to providing extended fitness and wellness services of highest quality soon. The access for hotel guests will be complimentary as well.
We hope to welcome you in Zurich again.
Best regards
Ai Na Meng
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#46 of 138 in Zurich
643 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#36 of 138 in Zurich
2,215 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H+ Hotel Zuerich
#72 of 138 in Zurich
519 reviews
Crown Plaza Zurich
#100 of 138 in Zurich
37 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 138 in Zurich
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 420, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Zurich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Zurich
#55 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Zürich hotel is situated in the trendy Zurich West district, 11km from the airport, close to the city centre. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich offers indoor parking for 550 cars. The 365 air-conditioned rooms in modern and contemporary design are kept in warm browne colours. All guest rooms feature flat screen TVs, high speed & wireless internet access, coffee and tea making facilities and a safe. Restaurants at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zurich include the Relais des Arts and the Letzi Leu as well as the garden restaurant, all serving delicate Swiss and international meals. The Lobby Bar is an ideal meeting place for business or leisure. Guests of the Crowne Plaza Hotel Zürich enjoy access to 2000 square meters of fitness and spa facilities. WiFi internet is available in all rooms. For events & meetings for up to 480 guests, 11 rooms with natural daylight are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Zurich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Zurich
Crowne Plaza zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing